We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in places and apalling in others”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #67 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good in places and apalling in others”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

When we arrived we were given instructions on how to get to our room, but no information on breakfast times, checking out time or anything else. It was most odd and was left to us to enquire later when we had settled in.
The first room we were given had a sink that wouldn't drain and a window that was incredibly badly fitting so the room was freezing. When we complained we were moved to a far nicer room immediately.
Both mornings the cleaning staff and the management seemed to have meetings in the corridor outside our room which was adorned with a "do not disturb" sign. This spoiled our sleep, but gave us the inside edge on what domestic arrangements were going to be for the coming evening's events. This was not appreciated.
Half our towels were removed during the first morning's breakfast and not replaced and our mugs were left dirty in the bathroom sink.
Although we got apologies for the mugs it seems that houskeeping needs to pull its socks up here as it is a nice hotel.
Would be dubious about returning here.

Room Tip: Get a map! If you don't like the room you are given, ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slugbreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    374
    198
    156
    111
See reviews for
154
562
77
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a function nearby.
I was struck by the excellent customer service and friendliness of all the staff that a encountered.
The room was very comfy as was the bed although they are very high and quite hard work to get on to. They were just ordinary sized double beds which was fine for me but would have been too small to share. This is not just the fault of this hotel but lot's now who should realise that not many people share an ordinary double bed at home.
Drinks were pricey as they usually are in hotels.
The breakfast was really good and there was a large selection to choose for. the service here was very good and welcoming. I would recommend. very near to the airport.

Room Tip: It is a bit like a rabbit warren so if mobility is an issue ask for one nearer reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Etrop because of the parking and direct transfers to the airport. The hotel itself is in a very good location very near T2. .The hotel staff were really lovely when we arrived we were shown to our room which was of excellent quality we had dinner in the restaurant and it was VERY good indeed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goa-Presh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and myself, stayed at the Etrop Grange, for one night, before flying out, on our holidays. This is the forth time, we have stayed, at this lovely hotel.
This time, we had a four poster bed, in the room.
The room was well decorated, and had a large ensuite bathroom.
We ate at the hotel restaurant, and were delighted with the food, and the service.
We will definately be using the Etrop Grange again.
Well done!!

Room Tip: We had room 15, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Etrop on a recommendation and because of the parking and direct transfers to the airport. The hotel itself is in a good location very near T2. The interior is dated and shabby in places but the room was clean and had the faculities that would be expected in a 3* hotel.

The hotel staff were really lovely however they didnt tell us that we needed to call the secure car park when we arrived back in the UK to get them to bring our car to the airport which resulted in a 20 minute wait in the cold followed by a further trip to collect the car. The young man on reception was extremely helpful and understanding and helped to get our car back but anyone staying should make sure they understand the process of getting your car back as it was not explained to us.

We did try to ask the man who took us to the airport of the process but he was exceptionally rude - he didnt speak one word to us during the transfer. I could have understood if our transfer was at 2am but it was 8.30am - when he dropped us off I asked if he would be the one picking us up he just said "nothing to do with me" and drove off.

Overall the hotel was adequate to our needs but they need to make sure they explain their proceedures better and have a nicer transfer driver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Etrop grange was a perfect start to our holiday to Mexico. Ideal to stay there to catch an early mornng flight, few mins away from the air port. Reasonably priced. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was of excellent quality, and then visited the trafford centre. We didnt have a plan for evening meal, and went down to the hotel restaurant which was very busy but we were on holiday and had all night. Because we were waiting for a table the manager got us a drink and some olives on the house andd was very apologetic and friendly.
When we had the meal the food was top class restaurant food!
Overall very impressed with this recent stay on the 12th November 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdrury83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel provides a combination of comfortable and quiet rooms, a nice restaurant and free parking for your car when you fly off from Manchester Airport - just 5 minutes away by the free shuttle. It is not expensive, especially if you take the room and dinner deal - and there is a very pleasant menu with plenty of choice. No hidden charges oir extras. Very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing