We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOTHERS DAY MEAL”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #65 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My daughter took me for a mothers day meal at the restaurant in this hotel;
it was such a disapointment,the starter looked like it had been thrown onto the plate,the main was ok,the pudding was inedible, we were seated next to the staff desk even though the place was empty,so i was constantly aware of the staff behind me,almost touching ,we were under a speaker playing awful muzac , the staff kept interupting our conversation,flurting and trying to joke with my daughter,the wine was like water,at £6 per glass,the service was non existant we stood waiting for the table to be set when every other table was set,waited to be served drinks because the bar staff kept disappearing.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
Thank periwinklemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stopped here with a friend before flying from Manchester Airport. We had the Stay and Fly package which includes a week's car parking, taxi to the airport and a chauffeur to return your car to you at the airport on arrival.

The hotel was fantastic. Staff were so welcoming and friendly. Everyone you bumped into had a smile on their face and was eager to help you enjoy your stay. We had been booked into a double, but when they saw us, the woman on reception went out of her way to change it to a twin for us. The rooms were lovely, not the cup of tea for two twenty year olds, but we truly appreciated the lengths they had gone to in order to match the style of the building.

There were only a few faults that let it down. For example, there were places in our room where the paint was peeling away in massive flakes, which spoilt the decor.The food wasn't the greatest. On paper it sounds lovely but when it arrived it didn't match up to the description or the price tag. We ordered room service and my friend ordered chicken tikka with warm pitta and 'thin cut fries' with garlic mayo, I ordered the cheese platter and we shared a dessert. The cheese board was beautiful and so was the sticky toffee pudding, but my friend was given chicken tikka in a floured bread bun and bog standard oven chips with ketchup. For £7 or 8 pound she paid for it, it was a little disappointing and she left most of it. It would have been nice on the phone if they had said they hadn't got the pitta or whatever so she could choose something else, rather than just being given something else. However, it was edible so we didn't kick up a fuss.

If I was flying from Manchester again, I would definitely stay here again but I would try and suss out somewhere to eat in the nearby town rather than eat in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mca89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

well what can i say i was a quest at a wedding reception held at this hotel a week ago and the food was diabolical and the beer was very over price hence to say i wud never recommend holding a weding reception at this hotel unless you have money to burn.the only good thing i can say is that the bar staff were nice,polite and cheerful .the function room was tiny and the dance floor was the size of a ford fiesta so if your planning your wedding at this hotel go have a look make sure that this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigdee6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtropGrange, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

It was of course very disappointing for us to read your review, do accept our apologies. We would always encourage feedback at the time of a visit to the hotel as this would allow us to correct any shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Having stayed in most other hotels around the airport, i eventually had need to stay at the Etrop Grange. It looks great from the outside so was really looking forward to trying it at last, having got it for a reasonable £59. To be honest, I was a little disappointed and underwhelmed. It is nice enough inside, but just didnt seem to portray the image i had expected from the outside and other reviews. For the money I paid, it was good, but i wouldnt pay any more. It is is a great location for the airport (although I was not using it), The room was ok/good, metal framed bed was ok, nothing special and the room wasnt especially big. The bathroom was ok, toilet was crammed in and there was some mould round the shower. When it was done it was probably fantastic but felt that little bit tired and in need a some basic maintenance etc. The food in the bar was nice and the service was indeed very good. The drinks are very expensive (£4.60 for a pint of cider) and had to send the bitter back with bits floating in it, but it was changed with an apology and replaced. Overall, it was ok, i would stay there again as it is very close to my office, and a decent change from the chain and other hotels in the area, but im not sure I would pay any more than I did (usual rates are much higher from what i have seen)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchoolofScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtropGrange, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate constructive criticism. As you may be unaware, we do offer local business a corporate rate which I believe you will find favourable, if this interests you please contact the hotel directly to discuss your needs and requirements. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I got married at Etrop on 11th June. The day was amazing, great venue, food and service. Quite a lot of my family and friends also stayed over and they loved it as well.
Helen the wedding coordinator and Lucanio the toast master did a fantastic job. Highly recommend Etrop Grange for a wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEL1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Wonderful hotel, excellent staff, lovely food, lovely rooms with a nice big bed. Will definately stay here if i ever come to manchester again. Such a perfect hotel for a very small price!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyfromBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Myself & my fiancee stayed here for 1 night last weekend. The hotel was booked through an online site as a last minute deal and was described as a 4* georgian retreat and only 3 miles from old trafford. Needless to say we were put in room which was below par (ROOM 56) this room adjoined a conference room next door and there was a door which led from our bedroom to the conferece room which had no privacy lock. We woke up on Monday morning and heard business men next door chatting about their agenda and were really weary at the prospect of someone walking in on us. We had to take turns in the shower, standing guard incase anyone came into our room. In addition we went to old trafford cricket ground on the sunday to a concert and got charged £18 outgoing for the 8/9 mile journey and £25 return in the evening for a hotel which was advertised as close to old trafford. Was an experience, not to be repeated. Beware of room 56!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
5.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $74 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing