We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Stayed here for a conference, I have previously stayed for a city break with my wife. The hotel could not be better located for Manchester City Centre. Pulled the car up to the front door and concierge quickly arranged valet parking, £14 per night is standard for a city centre hotel.

From the outside the hotel looks quite dated but once inside you immediately feel you are in a great hotel. Very helpful and attentive reception staff quickly allocated our rooms. Room was very large and well laid out. Great Marriott King size bed. Fantastic window the full length of this large room. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but are more than ready for refurbishment. The usual Marriott makeover would easily make this hotel stunning.

Breakfast was of a very good standard and the service was also great. Breakfast chef asked if I would like my bacon crisping and could not be more helpful. Bar was nice and service was again good. Conference facilities were very good.

I had read of other tripadvisor comments on the lift situation. There are 3 lifts serving 13 floors. For some strange reason there is no guest staircase. On this particular visit, only one lift was working, this clearly caused guests problems. 1 lift serving 13 floors and with me attending a 250 people conference on the mezzanine floor with everyone trying to leave at the end of the day and having to use one lift was causing lots of distress to delegates and hotel guests.

Overall I had a very good experience.

  • Liked — staff, large room with great views in the heart of Manchester
  • Disliked — Endless wait for a lift.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anotherhotelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    636
    244
    85
    29
See reviews for
231
494
61
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We held our wedding reception at the Hotel and our guests stayed in the hotel and its thumbs up all round! The staff were excellent and friendly, rooms were very clean and fresh. We ate in the bar (me and the best man) the night before the wedding and the food was excellent. Food was produced on mass for the wedding day which was superb and everyone has commented to us since how nice the food was on the day. I would highly recomend this hotel for anyone vistiting Manchester as its right in the centre or anyone looking for a city centre wedding venue. We had a tight budget for the wedding and the hotel was able to work with us to acheive it. Paul

  • Liked — Very clean and friendly staff - city centre
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parlby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Stayed for one night as part of a conference, was fortunate to be given a suite, so this report may be a bit biased.

Being a suite, it was massive, plenty of usual amenities. bathroom a bit dated. Everything very clean, bed extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was good, nothing amazing.

The only downside is the lift. It takes forever to arrive, and there is only one stairs for staff, so guests not allowed to use.

Great central location. Smooth check in and check out. Popular with airlines, many air steward/stewardess about.

  • Liked — the comfortable bed
  • Disliked — the very slow lift!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StickyMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

From the moment you park the car outside the hotel to the moment you leave , all the staff were friendly and made you feel very welcome. They will park your car for you (£14 per day) and drive it back from the hotel car park when you are ready to leave. The breakfast is all that you could ask for. The double room booked was large (two kingside doubles) with a seating area and a view over the city. The hotel is central to all the main shops and only a few minutes walk to the MEN arena. Being such a high rise building you couldn't get lost walking around the city if you were new to the area. Check out the free chocolate brownie cakes in the foyer.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — High bar prices
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjamccro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We have just returned from Manchester to see the Ami Kahn fight (He got what he deserved?).
Arrival
As we walked into the reception to check in then any doubts that you may have had from looking at the outside washed away. The valet car parking worked a treat. The reception was busy with aircrew checking in but this caused no delays to us and was soon checked in by some very helpful and pleasant girls. As we had arrived early at the hotel one of our two rooms was not yet ready but there was no problem with checking in and leaving our cases in the available room so we could get out and explore ok we went for a beer .
The Room
The twin room was also a nice surprise, two large double beds, sofa and chairs, coffee table and nice size TV it could also be swivelled around to be seen from either the beds or the sofa. The room contained a hair drier that was not used as we only have a limited amount of hair, and a thing called an ironing board & iron that also remained unused, as we had left our wives behind how forgetful of us! On the down side there was only one packet of biscuits on the tea tray (this could not have been a problem as it was still there when we left) and the bathroom was looking a bit dated but well stocked and I must say extremely clean with lots of towels
On arriving back at the hotel late at night it was good to see the night bar well staffed and with friendly & helpful staff, good comfortable chairs.
Had a good nights sleep though I thought there may have been a lot of street noise as we where only on the forth floor but not at all.
Now to Breakfast
As a Head chef this is my field of excellence. The service was really first class a comment made by one of us was “ Are we really in England “ The menu selection was impressive warm bread hot food as much as you wanted I recommend you do try the mini black puddings, I could comment that the bacon had been cooked in the oven and not under the grill but with all that great food who wants to get picky and technical. In case you are not a cooked breakfast fan then do not despair there is also so much choice for you the fresh fruit and pastries looked great but really I did not have room to try them.
Departure
Check out was swift & efficient we chose to go and get our car from the car park our self’s and it was good to see just how secure the car park was well worth the money £14? I think, not bad for over night and secureparking in a city.
To conclude a good standard at a good price would defiantly go again.

  • Liked — lots of room
  • Disliked — slightly dated bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chef-with-Attitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton england
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Three of us stayed at this hotel for the boxing at the MEN arena on the 6th september.Brilliant reception staff very helpful and efficent,allowed early check in at 12 noon.Room was bigger than expected,decent view into city centre,and within 10 minute walk of the men arena.Breakfast was everything you could hope for,had a great time and plan to stay again.

  • Liked — accomdation
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

this hotel is really nice. as soon as you enter the door you feel like someone special.

we found the hotel really easy, straight down deans gate. we entered the hotel and someone imediately served us. we checked in while the bell boy took and parked our car. the rooms are huge!! especially for a standard room, we were really suprised. they have a lovely sitting area with two big double beds. unfortunately we were only on the second floor so didn't get much of a view. but that didn't bother us. the bar and room service prices are resonable.

the shops, restaurants, clubs, nec are all within 5 mins walk away.

we paid £50 each for one night and i felt that we got an absolute bargain! i would definately stay at this hotel again, the service was great, the hotel was lovely, and it was right in the centre. what more could you ask for???

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank antrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing