We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - shame about the bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #27 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Really nice hotel in a great location. Large double rooms and very stylish. Only negative was the bathroom. Outdated and not in keeping with rest of hotel. Needs a shower screen desperately as shower curtain didn't prevent water going all over the bathroom floor. Water was also Luke warm at 10.30am. If this was fixed then it would be an amazing place to stay. Great value for money and wonderful service.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 278AndyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear 278AndyCarter,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback regarding your experience. We have shared your comments with our engineering team so that they can investigate the issue you had with the lukewarm water.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we can welcome you back

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night. It was handy for the Phones 4U Arena. We had a double room with 2 double beds so we had plenty of room. We had breakfast in the morning. there was plenty of choice and all was enjoyable. Choice of continental or full English.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilarym30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Hilarym30,

Thank you for chossing to stay with us during your recent trip to Manchester and we do hope that you and your sister enjoyed your experience at the arena.

It is great to read that you both enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Room lovely and big, plenty of room for wheelchair to move about, Bar staff are fabulous, really friendly and helpful - even carried drinks to the table when my husband who uses a manual wheelchair went to the bar.
Only gripe was that we booked the one accessible room and having stayed in it, cannot work out what makes it accessible. Didn't have any problems though. Hotel did email before we stayed to say that there was no wheel in shower, but there were no grab rails either in the bathroom, so it was effectively a standard bathroom with no accessible features.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giffkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Giffkins,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear how great you found our bar staff, we will make sure we pass on your comments.

We are also delighted to let you know that with the refurbishment now finished, we have added a fully accessible room with a roll in shower in addition to the room in which you stayed.

We will certainly look at the suitability of our other room to see if we can make any improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance for your next visit,

Kindest regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was really impressed. We stayed in room 413 and were impressed by the amount of space. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and the shower was amazing, really powerful. Breakfast was included in the room price and was a good buffet of hot food, cereals, juice and bakery items. We thought the staff were brilliant and on check out my boyfriend made a point of commending them to the reception desk guy.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinytobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear tinytobes,

Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your recommendation.

We have shared your review with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back whn you next have an opportunity to visit our great city.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited here some years ago and chose to return with friends. The hotel has been renovated since our last stay and the rooms are large, attractive and bright with very comfortable large beds. We arrived early and were shown to our room immediately. Breakfast was plentiful and of a very good quality and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear VMLee,

Thank you so much for rediscovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you when you are next in our great city

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here to head to a couple Manchester City games. The hotel offered a convenient location to walk to many of the places around Manchester. It is right on one of the main streets with plenty of food and pubs within close walking distance. Walking to Manchester City grounds is also doable just give your self a little bit of time. The room was comfortable and very roomy. The staff was kind and helpful to get a few directions around town. Overall for the price I really enjoyed the hotel and would look to stay here again if I visit Manchester.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkoerner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Jkoerner22,

Thank you for choosing us as your base during your last visit to Manchester and we hope you enjoyed the game.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed exploring our neighbourhood and your overall stay.

We look forward to your return visit

Your Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the Valentines weekend - two nights. Rooms are very spacious, big enough for two double beds - nice touch. Besides that, bathroom is rather dated and there is no fridge! Windows seem shabby which let in a daft, and if you want to warm up you'll have to turn on the noisy down flow heater. That being said, the room was pretty nice, 4 stars

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Jack T,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your Valentine celebrations.

We are pleased to learn that you found the room nice and spacious and we will of course share your feedback regarding the bathrooms, window cleanliness and heating with the relevant teams.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $106 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing