We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here in November and the hotel is much improved since my last stay. The rooms have been updated, however, the bathrooms still need a bit of tlc!. The bar & restaurant are very nice and the staff incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Jayne H,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are so pleased that you like the improvements we have made. We are very proud of our "new look" hotel.

Thank you again fr your review and we look forward to your next visit

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the time we set foot in the hotel, the staff, mulled wine and mince pies, were superb. Rooms beautifully decorated, although the lights were not bright enough to read in bed! We came as a group and the breakfasts were great but the multiple choice three course dinner was OK.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Sarahyeovil,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope you enjoyed exploring the Christmas markets - the scents of mulled wine and waffles have been in the air for a few weeks now and will be missed when they leave us.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Hotel in Manchester briefly. However, I must state that their hospitality and cleanliness is impressive. It is also well situated, ensuring convenient movement to key points/areas in Manchester. The mini suites are spacious and really comfy. Good place if you are vacating and still want to stay close to the town's heartbeat.
However, they need to upgrade the WIFI service - could be better. Need I also mention, the steak is amazing. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onwudiwe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Onwudiwe U,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we willof course share your recommendation for the steak with our chefs.

Thank you again for your feedback

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very impressed with the hotel lobby and the service we received at check in (the cookies were also delicious!) we were given our room key for 7th floor and went up to the room. We had abit of trouble with the key card and the door but after afew goes it worked.
The room was very big and had huge windows- shame the view wasn't the best, but wasn't really bothered by that! Nice bathroom, not as impressive as the room, but nice and clean.
huge bed, unfortunately for us we didn't like the pillows at all- they were very flat, but you cant suit everyone, we all have different likes.
breakfast was Amazing! luckily it wasn't very busy, as the breakfast area wasn't very big, but it did go on until 11am. We went down at around 9.30 and we got a seat. There was so much choice, it tasted great and was fresh. small amounts of food topped up regularly. Full english, cereals, pastries, yoghurts, even cheese and meats. This was included in the price and was defiantly one of the best breakfasts ive ever had.
Staying here was a treat &I would stay here again, hopefully in the not too distant future! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith_chalmers_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear judith_chalmers_,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your lovely comments.

We will share your feedback with the entire team and look forward to your return visit.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed for two nights on a holiday with my U3A group (to visit the Christmas markets and other places of interest). The location was wonderfully convenient for everything that we wanted to do. I had single occupancy of a very spacious room with two double beds and the ensuite was excellent with a shower that was very easy to control. My only disappointment was the absence of free wifi in the room (although it can be used free of charge for a limited period of time in the foyer)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Rachel K,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope you enjoyed exploring the Christmas Markets.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back when you next have a chance to visit our great city.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Not been to the renaissance hotel since we got married in 2002, re-visited for a day shopping and night out in Manchester. Managed to get a room on the refurbished 7th floor. Lovely spacious room, nice decor but as others have said windows could do with a clean. Staff very friendly and helpful will definitely be coming back when we go to our next concert. For the extra money it's well worth it compared to travel lodge and premier inn.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank familytraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear familytraveller247,

Thank you for rediscovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your recommendation. We are sure you will have noted a difference in decor since your last stay in 2002.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next concert

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We travel to Manchester and stay for the weekend at the same time every year. In previous years we've stayed at the Radisson Blue, Midland and Hilton. We were going to book the Radisson but as we'd left it quite late to book it was full, as were the other two. We decided to book the Renaissance because of its location, and we're so glad we did - what an absolutely fantastic hotel. The staff were great and check in was quick, they also let us in our room early. The room itself was huge with a seating area and the most comfortable beds ever and the decor was lovely. So what if the bathroom wasn't granite or marble it really didn't matter. The shower was great and it was spotlessly clean. I really can't rave enough about this hotel and we will definitely be staying here every year from now on. It's great value for money, the location is unbeatable (less than 5 mins walk to the Arndale). If we were being pedantic, maybe the lifts could operate a bit more quickly. I can understand the reviewer Theocsbrian's concerns regarding the wi fi charges, but you make a massive saving on the cost of the room compared to the Radisson and other similar hotels and dancegirlmom, Twinings tea is much more expensive than PG tips, I though a Platinum Elite member would be aware of that !

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor and there was a massive apartment block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Jo C,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your very kind review. We completely agree with you; we have a fab location and some of the biggest hotel bedrooms in the city.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $110 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing