We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Took a 4 day trip to Manchester after our stay in London this past July and we barely walked into the lobby and were greeted promptly! Check in was fast and smooth and was given an excellent 5K running route when asked!! The property is in a great city center location, walking distance to everything we needed! Shopping, train stop, and 10 min walking to the main train station! Plenty of places to eat and drink!
Ahmed (Ahmad) gave me great suggestions on what to see, where to go. The front desk staff also gave me excellent advice regarding points of interest. Our room was very clean, bathroom was clean, and the beds were very comfy!!! but we hardly spent time in the room, we were in Man City!
The only problem I had here in this hotel was the air conditioning. When we turned it down to a low temperature, after a while it started leaking into the bathroom...I assume it was condensation because of the warm weather...the hotel staff promptly sent maintenance once I advised them of the problem and it was resolved while we were out and about!!

I will definitely go back to Man and stay at the Renaissance! On the morning we left, we asked where we could buy postage for all our cards and the front desk told us not to worry about it that would place appropriate postage and mail them out!! Very nice! and they did mail them out because my neighbor received his postcard!!

Room Tip: I asked for and got a high floor room from where I could see the city lights at night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetstreamsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jetstreamsurfer,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you for your great feedback.

We are so excited to learn that you had a great stay and an even better time exploring our glorious city.

We have shared your feedback with the entire team and we will nominate Ahmed for a Spirit to serve award.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    609
    242
    82
    29
See reviews for
221
480
60
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Awful hotel. Reception had obviously been updated but the rest of the hotel was old and dated. Our room was clean enough but the bathroom was old and worn out.
Fridge was empty (you had to ask for it to be stocked up, it was also very dated)
Received room service as no water in the room, ordered orange juice, received this with a clamped on top, no bottle opener provided.
Staff friendly and helpful on arrival. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Nick 1999,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are sad to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are currently going through a complete bedroom refurbishment which is due to be complete early October 2013 and we will be starting a lobby and restaurant refurbishment shortly.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced when ordering Room Service, we have of course shared your comments with the entire team.

We are sorry to learn that you would not consider staying with us again but should you change your mind, you can be assured of a warm welcome back.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetney
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice to see mouthwash in the bathroom - about time oral hygiene became a top consideration in UK hotels.
Bar had an offer on for Guinness but ran out! Ordered a strawberry cocktail and they had run out of strawberries. You don't expect this from a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaye n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Kaye n,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not able to enjoy the Guinness promotion or one of our fab starwberry cocktails, we have shared your feedback with our Bar Manager.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Only stayed here for one night and barely in the place. Reception and lobby areas seemed really smart. Nice welcome at reception and swift check in. Lifts were painfully slow, we ended up on the ground floor 3 times before actually getting to the floor we needed - seemed a few people in the lift had been there as well going up and down but not the floor they wanted. The room was very large with a good bed and the bathroom was clean although both felt like I had stepped back a few decades! We got the hotel for free using reward points but the tariff stated £175 per night - I would absolutely never pay this to stay here. The room was old and tired and I would not be willing to pay more than about £50 per night tops

Room Tip: take your time travelling machine with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Lee M,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for reviewing your recent stay with us.

It is laways great to hear from Marriott Rewards Members and we are sorry that the lifts where running slowly and can assure you that our lift operator company have been out to rectify this.

You are right when you mention that the bedrooms are outdated and we do hope that you had the opportunity to view the display in our lobby of the refurbishment plans. We started our bedroom refurbishment in June and all the bedrooms will be complete early October 2013 with new TV's and a more Manchester feel to the rooms.

We do hope that when you next have an opportunity to stay in Manchester you will consider us for accommodation.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ideal location. Big bed. Had maintenance work going on complained moved us to refurbished rooms top floor. Fabulous. One to request ask for 13th floor room. The bed was soooo comfy slept in nearly missed breakfast which is served till 11 am. Was ice cold water in reception to help yourself too. Nice touch. All in all great location. Great bed. Meal was okay. Breakfast good. Would I stay again. Yes I would.

Room Tip: Floor 13 newly refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olwen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Olwen H,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review following your stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced and we are pleased to learn that you were moved to one of our newly refurbished bedrooms - we do hope you like them as much as we do!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next have an opportunity to visit our great city

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Renaissance is like a second home for me and my partner, we stay in Manchester approx once a month and this is our preferred hotel. There's always a warm welcome, often with small cakes on reception which is a lovely touch. The location is ideal at the top of Deansgate and handy for the Arndale, Manchester Arena and the Printworks.
The rooms are large, they are currently going through refurbishment and we were lucky enough to stay on the 13th floor this week which has been done and has a large screen tv, seating area, fridge, coffee making facilities and a couple of packets of biscuits, all very nice!
There is a large choice at breakfast with everything from the full English, pastries and muffins, cereals, healthy fruit and so much more.
What really makes this hotel stand out is the staff, I must mention Ahmed who has always helped us above and beyond.
I can't say enough about this hotel, will be back very soon.

Room Tip: The thirteenth floor has been refurbished, or just ask for a high room, the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rraineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for continuing to discover the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

It is always amazing receiving feedback from our regular guests and we are really happy to read that you liked our new look bedrooms.

Thank you so much also for the very kind words about the staff and we will make sure that Ahmed is nominated for a Spirit to Serve Award.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludlow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is the best one to stay at if you're having a relaxing weekend away or going to a concert. It's in the middle of the main shopping and restaurant area of Deansgate so the location is perfect.

The hotel itself was beginning to show it's age but that is now being rectified with refurbishment taking place.We stayed on the 27th July 2013 and were given a 13th floor I might add this is a floor where the rooms have been refurbished with new colour schemes, bathroom and furniture.

The staff are also the friendliest always obliging and nothing is to much trouble, special mention should go to Ahmed top fella.

Would recommend this hotel above all others in Manchester as it beats them for price and convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiewm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you so much for recommending us.

We are really proud of the refurbished rooms and great to hear that you enjoyed it and we will certainly be sharing your feedback regarding our friendly staff and ensure that Ahmed is put forward for a Spirit to Serve award.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing