We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is a little tired but the rooms are huge. The staff are very friendly, I had an issue with my shower and they came ands fixed it immediately. Breakfast is good, but the breakfast room is a little small. It's very close to a shopping area. Air conditioning was super in the heat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanchia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvinience you experienced with the shower and great to hear that it was resolved quickly for you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    618
    243
    82
    29
See reviews for
223
488
60
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here recently and although the hotel is slightly tired it was a great stay. The secure car parking was great and the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the location is fantastic if you want to go shopping! I'll definitely be back for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback.

We will be sharing your comments with the entire team and we completely agree; we have a fantastic location!

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay here. My friend and I had adjoining rooms on the 11th floor. Strangely, mine was reasonably cool with the air conditioning on while his remained like a sauna. The receptionist deducted 10% off the bill for this, so - a nice surprise.
Surprisingly too, there were really old fashioned TVs baking away in cabinets in the bedrooms. Presumably they'll be replaced when The Renaissance undergoes its renaissance in October.
Really enjoyed the breakfasts.... plentiful fruit, bread rolls and the usual full English. Fresh smoothie tasters brought to the table were a nice touch too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieHue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly share your comments about breakfast with our Restaurant Team.

We will indeed be replacing all the TV's as part of the ongoing bedroom refurbishment and we anticipate this to be complete by early October 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Hotel in central manchester on Saturday 6th july, 1 night to see a show at the Opera House. The rooms were good, with a superking sized bed. Air conditioning, and a seating area were very welcome, as was the refrigerator for cooling water. The breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices. The foyer and public rooms, were of a high standard and its was very central, only 15min stroll to Opera House and less to loads of eating places. BUT wifi was charged at £6 per hour, which was disappointing in such a lovely, classy hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spookyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seljord, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've stayed here twice and it was equally great both times. The rooms are very big with two huge beds and a sitting area aswell. Hotel breakfast is varied including the traditional english breakfast with quality food. The location is perfect imo. Deansgte just outside the front door, The Printworks and Arndale Centre whitin 5 mins walking distance and the Piccadilly is not far either. When I went last time (Dec 2010) the hotel had a collaboration with the Virgin Active gym and pool that the guests of the hotel could go for free. Don't know if this still apply though. Anyways I really recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinfb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback.

It is always great to hear from returning guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to our great city.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a one night stay for £79 and the room was very large with 2 double beds and a sitting area. It looks a little tatty and could do with some updating. The hotel is in a great location; close to shops and pubs, clubs and restaurants. On the whole a lovely stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lak4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we completely agree that we have a fantastic location here in the city centre.

We hope we can welcome you back when you next have a chance to visit our great city.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is generally a little dated. The lobby is fine but my room was a bit too 1980s for my taste, it was large but needs a new bathroom and a general freshen up. The buffet breakfast is OK, and so is the free wifi in the lobby. If you get a good rate its still a good place to stay in central location, lots of bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for reviewing your stay with us.

We are pleased to let you know that we have started our bedroom refurbishment and this will be complete early October 2013.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing