We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Like other reviewers, this hotel does need a a bit of renovating , but having said this we found the oldish decor not a major problem.. The hotel room 409 , was one of the largest I have stayed in , in manchester, and location wise it couldn't have been beaten for the shops. So many city hotels these days are small , with very little lighting , but this was not the case at the renaissance, the room was light and airy with plenty of mirrors for getting ready for a big night out. Staff very friendly and hotel bar very welcoming even at 2.30am , with a very friendly young bar an who certainly knew his drinks. So if a manager reads this , give a pat on the back to the young man on the bar the evening of the 21st June. Didn't sample breakfast as at 20 pounds for two , I would rather walk up to Kendal's and pay £3.99.... Nice stay..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you for your review.

We hope you had a great night out and we will investigate who served you in Blackfriars so we can nominate this associate for a Spirit to Serve Award.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    596
    230
    82
    29
See reviews for
211
467
58
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I found this Renaissance property to be a disappointment, apart from the staff which were (mostly) friendly.

This hotel is just old and not up to Renaissance standard. Moreover, the building itself is not really efficient to hold a hotel, eg by the depressing views from the room and steps leading down to the elevators (when going from lobby to your room), I did not see any walkway without steps although my companion told me there were.

Room: Nice size, poorly equiped. The fridge was missing (there was a cupboard saying refrigerator but it was empty!), no minibar. Bathroom with shapoo, conditioner soap only..no shower cap or that sort of things.

Then I needed to iron some shirts, have a look at the attached pics to see how the ironer/ironboard looked like, gross!

Just after checking in (I had travelled all day) I was in the shower, turned on the hot water…nothing! Not even luke warm! I immediately called reception and their reply was that there was an issue with hot water throughout the hotel. WHY didn't anyone tell me this at check-in moments ago?? Very poor service indeed. Their solution was that I could use the shower in a fitness center 5 minutes away from the hotel…SERIOUSLY??!! What is this, a motel? I was informed the issue with hot water would definitely be solved at 6 pm. Well, that didn't happen..lasted well into the evening.

I was planning to go into town but after a day of travelling I did not feel comfortable without a shower so I was forced to stay in. Not what one expects when staying at a Marriott property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XploreBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our sincere apologies for your dissapointing stay.

Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the entire team and that this is not our usual standard of service.

We do hope that if you have an opportunity to visit our great city again in the future that you will consider staying with us again and experience our newly refurbished rooms which is currently taking place.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well overpriced for what you get. The reception area leads you to a false belief as it is so modern. The rooms are completely out dated it was a huge disappointment for the money we paid. It was impossible to sleep as the room was so stuffy even with the air con on full blast and it was so bright the curtains may aswell not have been there!i had stayed in manchester two weeks before hand in the travel lodge just a one minute walk from this hotel I would advise to stay there and save the extra that you would pay for this hotel for spending money as it was not worth it at all. We were also shown to a room where someone was already in, we were trying to get in for ages late at night, we even got a new card as we thought it must have been that until a man in the room had to shout that there is somebody in the room. This mistake was rectified and we got an upgrade to the club floor, I can't even imagine what the room we were meant to have was going to be like. Location wise very good less then a five minute walk to printworks and a three minute walk to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin24yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced.

We started our bedroom, lobby and restaurant refurbishment on the 24th June and this will be finished early October 2013. As part of this project the air conditioning has also been worked on and is now fully functioning.

We will share your feedback with the entire team and we do hope that you will consider the hotel when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night while attending a concert in Manchester. The hotel was say to find and car parking was simple. We were upgraded to a suite which was a very nice touch and although the room was a little dated the room was immaculately clean and the bedding and toiletries were excellent quality.
We had a drink in the bar and he prices were very expensive but what o we expect from a hotel bar!
Excellent position for shopping too!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizattiledepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the upgrade and of course we hope it was a great concert.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The building could use rennovation but it was clean. My interactions with the staff were favorable until I decided to have eggs scrambled at breakfast in the resturant. There were eggs availlable that had been scrambled on the buffet but I have a personal preference about how I like my eggs scrabled. When I made my request for the cook to scramble two eggs for me, he gave me a ghastly look and made it clear that he didn't care too. Customer service is priceless to me but he could care less. It seemed as though he was there to please himswlf instead of fulfilling a simple request to scamble a couple eggs for a paying customer...

Helpful?
Thank demondnash
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our apologies for the challenge you experienced when ordering scrambled eggs.

We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef and we do hope that this will not discourage you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a hen party. We turned up several hours before we could book in but our rooms were all ready so booked in early. No fuss no problems. The rooms were large and clean with twin queen beds which were very comfy.
Breakfast was great. Everything you could want was there.
The staff were all polite and friendly.
I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope the Hen party was a great success.

Thank you for your kind words which we will be sharing with the entire team.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked a Deluxe room at the Renaissance Manchester Hotel. We were attending a concert at the Manchester Arena so I wanted to be within easy strolling distance, which it is most definitely. I then checked Trip Advisor and read reports of tired and worn decor, so was prepared but not put off. The underground parking, lobby and check in were all straightforward, staff quickly helped out when the room card was a bit troublesome. The room was pleasant, a decent size sitting area, two queen size beds and a slightly larger bathroom than found in typical city centre hotels. Yes the decor was a little worn and the bathroom tiles looked old and tired but, the bed linen was excellent quality, the towels large and soft and the power shower was serious business. We did not use the restaurant but the bar after the concert was lively, well staffed and served excellent G and T. Refurbishment is underway which will improve the looks, but this hotel already delivers on all the important things.

Room Tip: The higher floors will be quieter, as this is a city centre hotel and from very early morning the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We hope it was a great concert and thank you for your feedback which we will be sharing with the team.

We look forward to welcome you back when you next have an opportunity to stay in our great city.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing