We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money and go somewhere cheaper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well overpriced for what you get. The reception area leads you to a false belief as it is so modern. The rooms are completely out dated it was a huge disappointment for the money we paid. It was impossible to sleep as the room was so stuffy even with the air con on full blast and it was so bright the curtains may aswell not have been there!i had stayed in manchester two weeks before hand in the travel lodge just a one minute walk from this hotel I would advise to stay there and save the extra that you would pay for this hotel for spending money as it was not worth it at all. We were also shown to a room where someone was already in, we were trying to get in for ages late at night, we even got a new card as we thought it must have been that until a man in the room had to shout that there is somebody in the room. This mistake was rectified and we got an upgrade to the club floor, I can't even imagine what the room we were meant to have was going to be like. Location wise very good less then a five minute walk to printworks and a three minute walk to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublin24yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced.

We started our bedroom, lobby and restaurant refurbishment on the 24th June and this will be finished early October 2013. As part of this project the air conditioning has also been worked on and is now fully functioning.

We will share your feedback with the entire team and we do hope that you will consider the hotel when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 1 night while attending a concert in Manchester. The hotel was say to find and car parking was simple. We were upgraded to a suite which was a very nice touch and although the room was a little dated the room was immaculately clean and the bedding and toiletries were excellent quality.
We had a drink in the bar and he prices were very expensive but what o we expect from a hotel bar!
Excellent position for shopping too!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank lizattiledepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the upgrade and of course we hope it was a great concert.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The building could use rennovation but it was clean. My interactions with the staff were favorable until I decided to have eggs scrambled at breakfast in the resturant. There were eggs availlable that had been scrambled on the buffet but I have a personal preference about how I like my eggs scrabled. When I made my request for the cook to scramble two eggs for me, he gave me a ghastly look and made it clear that he didn't care too. Customer service is priceless to me but he could care less. It seemed as though he was there to please himswlf instead of fulfilling a simple request to scamble a couple eggs for a paying customer...

Thank demondnash
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our apologies for the challenge you experienced when ordering scrambled eggs.

We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef and we do hope that this will not discourage you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a hen party. We turned up several hours before we could book in but our rooms were all ready so booked in early. No fuss no problems. The rooms were large and clean with twin queen beds which were very comfy.
Breakfast was great. Everything you could want was there.
The staff were all polite and friendly.
I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope the Hen party was a great success.

Thank you for your kind words which we will be sharing with the entire team.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked a Deluxe room at the Renaissance Manchester Hotel. We were attending a concert at the Manchester Arena so I wanted to be within easy strolling distance, which it is most definitely. I then checked Trip Advisor and read reports of tired and worn decor, so was prepared but not put off. The underground parking, lobby and check in were all straightforward, staff quickly helped out when the room card was a bit troublesome. The room was pleasant, a decent size sitting area, two queen size beds and a slightly larger bathroom than found in typical city centre hotels. Yes the decor was a little worn and the bathroom tiles looked old and tired but, the bed linen was excellent quality, the towels large and soft and the power shower was serious business. We did not use the restaurant but the bar after the concert was lively, well staffed and served excellent G and T. Refurbishment is underway which will improve the looks, but this hotel already delivers on all the important things.

Room Tip: The higher floors will be quieter, as this is a city centre hotel and from very early morning the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We hope it was a great concert and thank you for your feedback which we will be sharing with the team.

We look forward to welcome you back when you next have an opportunity to stay in our great city.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

City Centre hotel -perfect for shopping and we went to the Muse concert at the Etihad stadium. Large room and very comfortable bed - we were on the 11th floor and it was gloriously quiet. Yes the hotel is dated and a refurbishment is planned, but the staff make up for anything that may be lacking. Very friendly and efficient. Ahmed the concierge is an absolute star. Nothing is too much trouble. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. I would go back and certainly would love to see how good it will be after its 'face lift'.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the river - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope the Muse concert was amazing.

Thank you also for your very kind words about Ahmed, we will make sure that he receives a copy of your feedback and we will nominate him for a Spirit to serve award.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here on a weekend when other places I might have used more recently were full or highly priced.

Had stayed here a number of years ago.

The on site parking is a boon for central Manchester as you can enter under the hotel. Yes it costs money but I have stayed in all the big hotels in Manchester and only 1 was ever free. Cheaper than parking in Car Parks. Its just a silly complaint make

Good welcome

Big room comfortable bed. Twins give you 2 doubles

Sure a bit dated and window opening an art in itself. Old TV seen better days but I guess didn’t come to watch it. In any event this is usually at the cheaper end of 4 stars in Manchester but still in an excellent location.

Fridge for your convenience.

Had a meal in the room which was excellent and decent value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We always enjoy welcoming back guests and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $105 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing