We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Legoland !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location for Legoland !”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 2 nights. Prime location, good service, concierge helpful, male receptionist with glasses not following renaissance arrival standards (looked like he is forced to work). AC in room not working but fans available to use. This means hotel has this problem as solution is readily available (not complaining). Old building, going to be refurbed soon. Not a lot of effort made on menu to attract hotel guests dine inhouse. Plenty of dining options available around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bachkerehna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We will be sharing your feedback with the management team so that they may look into each point raised.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    637
    244
    85
    29
See reviews for
231
496
61
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on sunday 26th may, the warmest welcome, room was perfect and spotless, and the breakfast out of this world, choice of continental or cooked, or both if you liked. would highly recommend this hotel, for that perfect any occasion, was treated like we mattered which is rare in the hotel industry these days, well done to all staff, from cleaners to chefs, to receptionists, to managers, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: riverside is very quite, sorry i clicked excellent for swimming pool and it wont let me delete, im n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we have shared your review with the entire team here at the hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night on May 26th 2013, we booked a double room with breakfast through booking.com costing us £83 which I thought was a good price compared to other Manchester hotels. We come to Manchester to simply go shopping and enjoy a night away and the Renaissance has a perfect location for this with the Arndale centre just up the road. Also great if you are seeing a show at the MEN- just 5 mins away.


On arrival the lady on reception was very kind and welcoming asking if we'd stayed before, why we are in Manchester & if we'd prefer a certain view from our room. We stayed in room 1111 on the 11th floor, nice clean room and very spacious but definitely needs a bit of tlc. I understand the hotel is going through refurbishment of rooms & it would be interesting to see the rooms once completed- they just need modernising. One negative point was the heat of the room, it was a warm sunny day but the air con did nothing just blew hot air out- the room was constantly boiling & we met another couple in the lift that said the same about theirs. However room was very comfortable and quiet so got a great nights sleep!

The breakfast was amazing! Full english, fruits, cereals, pastries, muffins, juices & toast. When we were seated we were offered tea, coffee & a fruit smoothie. Great price for room and a breakfast like this.

The one major problem we encountered was finding the hotel car park-we drove round and round and ended up staying in the NCP one next door to hotel costing £18 for 24hrs. We were only told once we checked in that you have to get a parking pass from hotel reception first & that they'd direct you to the car park, no good learning this once you've arrived.

Overall the hotel was nice and appropriate for one night, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Would stay again but would wait until refurbishment is completed as rooms look tired.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced with both the airconditioning and locating our car park.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The staff are always very friendly and attentive. The rooms with 2 doubles are an excellent size. Whilst I come up for business I have brut my family up with me and had no problem fitting the 4 of us in.
Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east at the northern end can see the Wheel. Better to be higher up as Deansgate can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed with friends and had 2 rooms on 7th floor.huge rooms for a city centre hotel and kept spotlessly clean.ok so the windows are in need of refurbishing and the large bathroom had been partly regrouted but the shower was a joy and although the tv was old fashioned the picture was fine ,the bed superb and we had a fridge.breakfast was excellent in both quality and presentation.It was a pleasure to see such a surprisingly young team on for breakfast and they looked after us very well .For leisure travellers like us it was also a bonus to have breakfast available till 11 am and the breakfast room itself was one of the nicest we have been in.Superb location on Deansgate and pretty easy to find .Reception staff very friendly and efficient.will definitely use hotel again especially taking account of the breakfast value making the hotel good value compared to the nearby budget hotels we have previously used.

Room Tip: Ask for an end of corridor room if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritchieFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend and after reading the reviews didn't know what to expect. Was greated by friendly staff in the pleasant reception. The valet parking is a great touch. Our room was spacious and well presented. The hotel is right in the centre and was a great base for shopping and nightlife. Overall really impressed and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayney-hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for the review.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I really hope that renewal started last month and expected to be over end of the year would bring solid improvement to the hotel.
Rooms are pretty big (I had one with river view - view really disappointing.
Furniture is pretty old and bathroom, even if with amenities, is very very old as well (somehow sad).
Rooms have wifi but you have to pay for that - as well as cable connection.
No Gym - even though it looks like that in the website - actually the gym is outside the hotel in a close location, but especially not in summertime, the distance could annoy (for weather conditions and temperature)
Breakfast is really rich - lots of food to eat or drink and choice is pretty wide.
Unfortunately, not so special the room service. Food choice is so small and food is not that good; service is even worst: I had to call the room service 3 times to get full complete order initially asked - unbelievable!!!
Last but not least - special focus on ELEVATORS. They're the worst and slowest elevator ever!
I had room at 10th floor - consider that in the morning (pre and post breakfast) it took me an average of 10 minutes to get to my floor - despite 3 elevators all working!
They're absolutely slow, absolutely meaningless the criteria they are working with (elevator at 11th, me at 10th - went to call the elevator and instead of getting the closest one, I had to wait the elevator coming from ground floor - with all the additional stops!)

If you want to stay in Manchester city center - look for another location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with both Room Service and the lifts. We have shared your review with our Restaurant Manager and our Chief Engineer is looking into the issues with the lifts.

It is true that we charge for WiFi in the bedrooms however we offer this complimentary in all public areas.

We do take on board all feedback and we do hope that following the refurbishment of the bedrooms, lobby and restaurant you may choose the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel should you be visiting Manchester again.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing