We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this lovely hotel last week and could not fault it.This was our second time.The staff in all areas were very polite and chatty,nothing was too much and they are very helpful.Yes the hotel is a little dated but it is having some modernisation in the near future which looks to be really lush!
The rooms are big and absolutely spotless,which i am really picky about,great housekeeping!
Breakfast is served until 11am and is absolutely delicious,something for everyone,cereal,full english,toast,fresh fruit,even muffins,fattening but very nice!!
Huge carpark below hotel which is convenient.
All in all we will definately be back to this hotel.Thanks to all staff for our great stay.

Room Tip: We chose a river view room,great all round view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruciefans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for providing us with feedback.

We are so pleased that all our associates looked after you and will be sharing your feedback with all of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The overall impression I got of the hotel was how friendly and helpful all the staff are. I must mention in particular Gosia who served us our evening meal on the first night (we had a deal for two nights with dinner on the first night) and then remembered on the second morning at breakfast that we had been going to a wedding the day before. This personal touch felt very special in a hotel of this size.

We had a spacious, well-equipped and comfortable room. We were impressed by the quality of the food both at dinner and breakfast. The only thing I would say is don't go down to breakfast at 10am on a Sunday morning - the queue was enormous!

The hotel is in a good location - only 5 minutes walk from The National Football Museum (!) and, of course, all the shops. I would definitely recommend this hotel - but hope they get the lifts working efficiently for our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are so pleased to read your feedback about Gosia and we will certainly be sharing this with her and also nominate her for a Spirit to Serve Award.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced with our lifts and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

From the outside this hotel looks like a big old building but inside the staff are really friendly met by a doorman.
My room was huge with two double beds, sofa, desk etc. It was very traditional style with lots of wood and gold and fancy. They are undergoing a full refurbishment of all rooms and mine was one of the old rooms which was still lovely. Only faults were my fan heating in my room was on but never seemed to heat it up. Also breakfast is till 11am but we went at 10 and hot was cleared away but cooked to order.
Literally 10 minutes can from Piccadilly station and literally 2 minutes walk from the arndale shopping centre. Right opposite was a fab restaurant called hot buffet, all u can eat Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Mexican Indian.
Great hotel would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and please accept our sincere apologies for the non functioning AC in your room.

As a team we are very excited that the hotel has a bedroom, lobby & Restaurant & Bar refurbishment planned starting in June & completed by end of October 2013.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Large hotel, looks ugly from the outside and the entrance is not what you expect for such a hotel. When the taxi driver dropped me off I thought we were at some sort of back entry. Unfortunately not, this was it...
But the good news is: it place is going to be refurbished. Not to soon if you ask me.
The rooms are very spacious with a separated small salon. The beds are good and big, not as in many other UK hotels.
The fact that internet is charged separately in the rooms is ridiculous; the price they ask for it is even more: £5/h. Internet in the lobby is free of charge, but I prefer working in my room ...
The waiters during breakfast were very relaxed, for such a hotel I expect a better and more classy service. Breakfast itself was ok.
The location is splendid, in the middle of the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Represenative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

We will be sharing your feedback with the entire team and look into how we can improve our breakfast service.

As you mention we are having a bedroom, lobby, restaurant & bar refurbishment and we are very excited about this and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

my family and i stayed here to watch a concert at the men arena 20th april 2013 which was perfect walking distance also arrived early so they kindly put are luggage in a lock up for us staff were very friendly and helpful, we were very disappointed with our first room as we were given a single room with a king size bed for 2 adults and 2 children and was told we were lucky as they had one family room left this had been booked via internet since January. reception and corridors are fresh and modern the rooms are very tired needing updating nothing nice about the bathroom very basic very old tv which you had to get in all positions to turn it over from the bed the sensor not working very well only 2 cups in the room for a family of 4 and i'm sorry if i'm going on a bit but hardly slept we were on floor seven over looking traffic lights and taxi rank it was a Saturday night so very noisy as people out clubbing but i'm sure if the windows were updated it would not of been half as bad also only two lifts which was a nightmare at breakfast time I think I visited every floor. all I can say is thank goodness the breakfast was nice and the doorman helped us to the car park with our bags

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here on the 16th April on my arrival the reception was nice and a warm welcoming smile and when you seen staff you always got a smile and how are you. The room I was in had two which looked like king size beds couch chair table and chair with large TV in a cabinet with folding doors drawers and enclosed fridge. There was everything you need and more bathroom was the only thing that looked a small bit dated but really clean, I had breakfast included I wasn't disappointed everything from breads,fruits, cereals, and it was help yourself hot food selection everything you need for your full English served hot tea or coffee. great place if you can get a deal.

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms are the same we had rooms on 3rd 4th 5th and 6th and no one had a compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1985born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we will share your feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My girlfriend booked this as a surprise because we hadn't been out for a while.
A regular to Manchester, I have stayed in a couple of other hotels and Renaissance was as good as those.
Relatively good value as we booked with a 3-4 weeks notice (£80 for 1 night).
Didn't have breakfast but it certainly smelled nice!
We got a family room with 2 double beds which meant the room was nice and spacious.
Staff were all friendly and helpful, only negative was the lifts broke while we were there so we walked 18 flights of stairs after a meal and a few drinks!
Overall good hotel in Manchester for a short stay, just needs some slight modernisation and redecorating.
By the way, parking is £16 for 24hrs in their car park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience with our lifts. The lift engineer was on site and working on resolving the issue but unfortunately it took longer than anticipated.

As a team we are very excited that the hotel has a bedroom, lobby & Restaurant & Bar refurbishment planned starting in June and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $104 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing