We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but better in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but better in Manchester”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been to Manchester twice before, and have stayed in two nice hotels. I would have chosen one of the others, however this was booked for me. I was in Manchester for one night for work.

The hotel charges for wifi, which means I would normally not chose it, given so many hotels give it for free. The room was large. I had two double beds just for me.

The room looks like it was very nice once. The furniture was tired and had marks on it. It was clean however, but it just needs to be updated. The bathroom is similarly tired.

I had a good night's sleep however. I had breakfast the next day, it was nice.

Overall, my stay was good, however I think there are better options in Manchester for a similar price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review.

As of the 1st April we now offer unlimited complimentary Wi-Fi in all our public areas and we are pleased to say that we are finalising the details for our bedroom refurbishment which will be complete this year.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    636
    244
    85
    29
See reviews for
231
494
61
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night b&b all staff very friendly.rooms excellent size twin room 2largedouble beds seating area largebathroom.breakfast was excellent.only negative was lifts not working properly.would definately stayagain as excellent location

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bird1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced with our lifts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had to wait 10-15minutes for the lift just to go to the 1st floor as no sign of public stairs! Finally found stairwell on way out but doubt was meant for public use. Rooms totally dated, paint jobs a joke different shades on different levels, looks like a 5year old did it. Big old tv from back in the 80s with barely any channels when you finally figure out how to work it as its that old! Tatty old sofas in the corner, no minibar/fridge though there's a sign for it!?! Heating not working, pointless portable one brought up didnt make a tad bit of a difference. Worst part tap in the bathroom sink was leaking really bad, hadnt noticed until toiletry bag and make up bag where soaked! Not impressed! Upon returning from a night out in Manchester most of the items from the 24hr room service menu had run out! Seriously!?! All in all very dated resulting in a few things in room not working upto standard. If all you need is literally just a bed to lay in and absolutely nothing else perfect hotel otherwise go elsewhere! Maybe the V&A Marriott miles better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stay one night in the hotel. Overall, the hotel and service is great. Staff are friendly and helpful.. very consistent with many of the Marriott hotels.

However, there are three areas for improvement. Firstly, the lift isn't very efficient. There are limited lift/elevators available (only 2 out of 3 working). When it is working, it takes a long time to reach each level.
Secondly, for some strange reasons, there are a bunch of steps in front of the lift at ground level. It is not exactly handicap or luggage friendly
Thirdly, it will be great that internet will be provided.

Having said those three areas, I would likely still use this hotel again given the good service. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced with our lifts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Hotel Manchester City Centre Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife, and myself, stayed at the Renaissance Hotel, for the forth time, last weekend.
We were given a room, on the 12th floor, and it was fantastic!
The views were spectacular.
The room was huge, with a good size bathroom, and wardrobe space.
The reception staff were first class, very polite and helpful.
The bar staff were equally as friendly, and the breakfast was excellent.
The position of the hotel, makes it ideal for shopping, and enjoying the nightlife, without having to use taxis.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Brian G,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and the whole team are pleased you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for a night for a girls weekend away. Generally I liked the place- it's in a great location with a very reasonably priced carpark close by. The reception and bar area were bright and modern, and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are HUGE! We both had a double bed each and then there was a small sitting area with (as mentioned in other reviews), old tv in the corner. The bathrooms were clean and well presented. I tend to agree with the majority here, great location, we had a great price, but it is an older style hotel. Depends what your priorities are. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a Saturday night taking my daughter to see 1D at the MEN. Price of a room for 2 adults and 1 child with breakfast was £159 plus £16 for parking. A glass of house white was £10. Pretty certain the price of accommodation was elevated because of the concert. The lifts were a nightmare and there were no stairs (except in emergencies). Room was clean but of the same standard of a premier inn and bathroom and furniture need refurbishing which is underway. Breakfast was as you should expect and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Great central location but a disappointment due to the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy19_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing