We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a little dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, but a little dated!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for a night for a girls weekend away. Generally I liked the place- it's in a great location with a very reasonably priced carpark close by. The reception and bar area were bright and modern, and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are HUGE! We both had a double bed each and then there was a small sitting area with (as mentioned in other reviews), old tv in the corner. The bathrooms were clean and well presented. I tend to agree with the majority here, great location, we had a great price, but it is an older style hotel. Depends what your priorities are. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    618
    243
    82
    29
See reviews for
223
488
60
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a Saturday night taking my daughter to see 1D at the MEN. Price of a room for 2 adults and 1 child with breakfast was £159 plus £16 for parking. A glass of house white was £10. Pretty certain the price of accommodation was elevated because of the concert. The lifts were a nightmare and there were no stairs (except in emergencies). Room was clean but of the same standard of a premier inn and bathroom and furniture need refurbishing which is underway. Breakfast was as you should expect and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Great central location but a disappointment due to the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy19_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special here, outdated rooms in need of an update, you can show your children what a vintage tube television looks like. No room safe, no room fridge, no gym (they offer access to Virgin Active gym down the street), just basic accomodations.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank v111pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went there on a "sex and the city" hen night. Including cocktail! When we first arrived I wasn't too impressed with the welcome I.e. not much! But after that everything was superb. The rooms were very clean if looking slightly shabby and the bed- the most comfortable that I've ever slept in! The food, waitresses, reception and bar staff were fantastic.
I would like to stay there again - maybe christmas shopping! It's a lot of money for me but well worth it!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel to Manchester several times per year on business and like to be centrally based.
Well the Renaissance is in an excellent location for ease of access to the city, you walk out the doors and pow your within a stones throw of every thing you'll need from shops to banks, restaurants to transport links.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are clean a spacious.
You get free wifi on a daily basis if you request it from the reception, which is great too.
Breakfast was included with my room and I must say was very nice too, the option to have it in the room is available also (but with me liking my grub I prefer to munch away unlimited in the dining area.)
Only slight negatives:
1. Sock left in room on floor from previous guest (promptly removed after a call to reception
2. On ordering a drink at the bar I was advised to sit and it would be brought over, 5 minutes later (it was not busy) I was still awaiting my drink so I went back to the bar to be told again to sit and they would bring it over, I finally received my drink after a total of 10 minutes and all I could see the barman doing was yapping to a colleague. I advised the duty manager who addressed the issue promptly and apologized.
All in All a great hotel, good value for money, a great team (minus the barman).

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinxtheJoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

No service with your bags, bathrooms were dated about 20 years ago, BUT nice super single sized bed , coupled with its location , those were its redeeming factors.
Take note that no free wifi so can only adjourn to lobby area and get half an hour free internet. So arcade in its management mentality. The room cast about 100 sterling per night, so it was not that cheap either. Doubt that I will return .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sing2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We was staying due to having an event at the o2 in Manchester. First approach by staff to take the car into the parking lott, brilliant very polite and welcoming. Lady at the reception also very polite :). Rooms were clean the tv position was abit odd however not a major issue for us as we was only there one night. Nice buscuits supplied too for the brews :)). However...to name and shame when checking out STEPHANIE [--] (navigator) made us feel awful! My partner had lost his card and this seemed a big deal for her, roleing her eyes as rather than been able to just swipe the card she had to key in the details shown on previous booking documents. This came across as a big deal for her and she was very rude and unhelpful with a shocking attitude! She needs customer service lessons for sure. Anyways its an ok stay just if you get her serving you be warned!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing