We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loking tired!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Attended a trade show at this location; staff very helpful & friendly but the hotel is looking a tad tired! Ok the restaurant area is ok, but elsewhere needs a bit of maintenance. A shame as this hotel is in a great location.
To be fair did not stay at the hotel over-night.

Room Tip: Not a great venue for conference / events due to the need to update the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice hotel in an excellent location. The staff that we met were very friendly and very helpful. There was one lady on the reception and you felt that she was looking after you personally. I didn't record her name but she is great. There was a function in the hotel on Saturday night and the staff made great efforts to ensure that we were as afar away from the noise as possible. I am a light sleeper and the slightest noise wakes me. There was no noise that I hear and I am grateful to the reception lady who was very conscientious about selecting the room. I would stay here again, in fact I would look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 508cpbyrne508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a stay in the Renaissance. Six of us stayed as couples while in Manchester for my 40th. This hotel should be a decent 3 Star, but never a 4 Star. The rooms are very average, with thread bare edges on the carpets, toilet roll holder hanging off the wall, bathroom window that wouldn't close, the breakfast wasn't hot and was served on school canteen style plates, and there were half a kebab and some chips on the floor in the elevator dropped by someone on the way in from a night out the night before.
Having said all that, the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. One night cost £150 for the two of us B&B and a further £16 for parking.
The location is excellent and very central and the rooms were quiet. The bed was very comfy too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Director_of_Activity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have stayed here before and love the location and rooms.Beginning to look a bit tired externally.
Breakfast is expensive though at £15,but you can eat in various locations close at hand.
I will be back here soon and look forward to it.
The staff are first class and cannot do enough for you.The rooms are very large when compared to modern hotels.Only down side is that you have to pay for WIFI.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good hotel for business. Not exciting or plush enough for a romantic break. Disappointing that in room Wi-Fi was not complementary. Very clean and tidy. Up to date decor. Breakfast wasn't fantastic (at £15 it should have been). I would recommend. Staff were excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jswp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here Friday 9th to Sunday 11th November. Upon seeing the outside of the hotel from a distance I was starting to have my doubts as it was next to the modern looking Premier Inn, but once inside my fears were put to rest. I booked the weekend deal from the Marriott web site and found the prices a lot better than other booking sites eg Hotels.com. Our room was on the 11th floor, nice and quiet and very spacious.The reception staff were very helpful ,offering information and directions to places of interest. The bar area was comfortable with nice chairs and setees and prices weren't too bad. I do agree that some of the hotel carpets were looking a little tired and that rooms needed an update but they were very clean. As for the breakfast there was good choice and it was piping hot and tasty. A good hotel to stay at for shopping and theatres. Will use
this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had room 1115 . nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had organised a hen party, which consisted of 17 of us staying in Manchester. I chose the Renaissance as it was based in the city centre and wanted something more than a travel lodge. The staff were very friendly and helped us with booking taxi's and assisting in finding places of interest. The only problem we had was the boiler breaking down. Unfortunately on a hen with 17 girls its not an ideal situation but we can appreciate that sometimes these things can go wrong. The hotel were very apologetic and compensated with free parking for the duration of our stay and a trolley full of goodies including two bottles of champagne! We all agreed that we would love to come back again! It was fantastic weekend thank you for making it a hen to remember!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $105 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing