We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel in good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK hotel in good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night on route to a wedding in Cheshire. The location is good, all of the bars, resturants and shopping areas are in easy walking distance. I chose this hotel based on the web site but was very dissapointed. The hotel was tired looking once you got passed the hotel lobby. The executive double was not as expected, tired looking and basic and did not have all the amenities we were promised (wine, bathrobes and slippers) one of the reasons why we chose the hotel, so left feeling like we'd paid for something we did not get. Hotel reception acknowledged this but failed to provided them even when I telephone down to reception. Probably would not stay here agian as there are plenty other hotels to try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlovescats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    596
    231
    82
    29
See reviews for
211
467
58
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a short overnight stay at the Renaissance Manchester. We booked very late and as there were a lot of things on in Manchester that weekend, rooms were in very short supply and certainly weren't cheap. So having looked at the various booking websites I eventually decided to book on the Marriots own website and to chose the Renaissance hotel - what swung it for me was the location of the hotel and the rate offered included breakfast, robes, slippers and a complimentary bottle of wine.

Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. The lady (Yvonne) was particularly friendly and welcoming and took the time to chat and find out the reason for our visit and then proceeded to give us a very handy map and give us directions to where we wanted to go.

Our room was on the 13th floor, Club level. It was nicely decorated in a classical style and there were amazing views across the city. Unfortunately, the promised robes, slippers and wine were nowhere in the room but a quick phone call resulted in them being delivered to us.

It was an especially wet evening and as we headed out for the evening we asked the gentleman at reception if they had any spare umbrellas that we could borrow. He said they didn't......then the lovely Yvonne popped her head out of an office and said, I know where there,s one and she gave it to us. Such a small gesture but it meant so much to us and saved us from getting absolutely soaked.

When we returned to the hotel that night, we pulled back the curtains and marvelled at the wonderful lights of the city below us. The bed has to have been the most comfortable bed ever and the feather pillows and quilt meant that I felt I was sleeping on a cloud!

We ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room the next morning and when it arrived it was delicious, very good cereals and a super fry. The coffee was a little disappointing though...very very weak and not very nice. The shower had very good power and the bath towels were generous in size. The robes were a bit small, I always love big comfy bathrobes with lots of room, and the ones in the Renaissance were a snug fit.

Checkout was again friendly and efficient and the hotel took care of our bags while we spent a few hours shopping.

Overall, we had a lovely stay in the Renaissance, the location is second to none as it is within walking distance of most areas in the city centre and is just a very short stroll from the main shopping areas.

Room Tip: Views from the 13th floor over the canal are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a good value hotel right in the centre of Manchester. The service is amongst the most friendly I've experienced in a while. The building is aging and the rooms are obviously due a refurbishment soon, but they have everything you need and are spotlessly clean.

Early checkin was no problem and the room (314) was more like a junior suite, with a separate sitting area than any standard room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the standard rooms with a sitting area or pay the checkin upgrade to the club rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location very close to manchester arena and short walk to canal street. Close to all shops bars arndale shopping center 2 mins and piccadily gardens close by with its fountains also the print works are seconds away wich has some nice bars and restaraunts piccadily train station is a 10 minute walk or a taxi if u dont know the area

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinstock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here one night recently and found the Renaissance to be a convenient city centre hotel in need of a shot in the arm to justify its status. Service was friendly and willing but terribly slow . We had to wait nearly 40 minutes for a relatively simple snack lunch. Having said that, when it did arrive it was excellent! Our double room was outdated,characterless but comfortable enough. Overall our impression was of a hotel that is in need of a refurbishment and some attention to its customer service delivery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've stayed a few times at this hotel but this is the first time i've thought to write a review. We usually stay as a family (2 adults and 2 children) and on all occasions the rooms have been furnished with two double beds, a bathroom, a seating area and have been very clean. The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and is nice with hot and cold choices, orange, tea and coffee etc. My most recent stay was with a group of friends and breakfast was not included, however I did partake on the second day at a cost of £15.00 which I was happy to pay. The hotel is very well situated for Victoria Station, the MEN, restaurants on Deansgate and the shopping area of the Arndale Centre. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and always make it my first choice when travelling to Manchester. There is a car park underneath the hotel for those with cars. The other guests on this recent stay were also impressed with the size of the family rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzy-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've stayed at the Renaissance many times when on business in Manchester. Rooms are very spacious and staff are friendly. Breakfast is buffet style and normally very good. Room service good and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Good location to fit in a bit of shopping with large M&S, Harvey Nichols and Paperchase very close by. Can be walked from Piccadilly and a taxi rank opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy0536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing