We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & good value for money i thought” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Ranked #56 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location & good value for money i thought”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Booked via laterooms.com as a birthday treat as wanted a central hotel with a little extra and found this on offer for £67 per night for a twin room. We got a bottle of wine on arrivail for booking with laterooms.com & we greeted with a nice warm welcome by the hotel receptionist who weas more than happy to help us out with our enquirries.

The rooms were nice & clean reasonable size with single beds & a nice decent tv & shower/bath in the bathroom.
Already asked for a quite room as knew the hotel was on a busy road before booking & i would advise all to do same as it was a nice room & indeed quite so we were more than happy with the room.

We used the spa before breakfast & although it has a small pool the jaquzzi was nice & warm & a great way to start the day, shame about same sex sauna though. Luckily i guess we picked a good time to vist the spa as we had everything to our selves that morning so def a good way to start the day after the night before.

Breakfast was hot help your self buffet which was topped up regulary so always hot/warm food. A selection of juices & cerials were available & fruit as well & your full hot buffet so was good for what we needed.
We were happy with our booking as it had a good location, great for the transport if needed to get around & staff were more than help to help for directions etc if needed

All in all if i need a central hotel at a good price i know where to look now & will look again when booking in the city. We did get a good deal & i know the deals are not always on but for £33.50 each we were more than happy ( guess was out of season etc being in January).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevejb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    634
    443
    159
    143
See reviews for
165
568
124
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at the Thislte Manchester. The hotel is in an excellent central location. Very close to the shops arndale shopping centre :) and Piccadilly Gardens. You can walk from Piccadilly railway station in about 10 minutes which is great the bus station is across the road, a few pubs/ niteclubs nearby too.

Bit disappointed that the leisure centre closed early on a sunday at 2pm. The breakfast was ridiculously priced at 13.75 pound per person and included a 5pound charge to the room. We were so disappointed at that :(

On a positve side though Our room was exceptionally clean a bit small but the flat screen made up for it!! : )We found the staff so friendly and helpful :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel's in a good location. I didn't think the breakfast, lunch or dinner were very nice. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, Customer Relations Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the time you have taken to post comments regarding your stay back in February 2010. I am happy to hear that you found our team to be friendly but i was very sorry to read of your poor experience in our Restaurant. I can appreciate your disappointment in our failure to meet your expectations, however i am pleased to advise you that since your last visit, our hotel has undergone a full refurbishment across all areas including all of our bedrooms and public areas. I hope you will give us an opportunity to restore your faith in our Thistle Manchester hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was the second new year gala meal we have attended This year our room was on the sixth floor and excellent The entertainment food and service we recieved from booking the event to the reception the waiters bar staff all first class Thanks and well done to everyone at the thistle for a gret new year gala event and an enjoyable breakfast

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
480 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed one night at the Thislte Manchester - also known as The Portland - by Thistle, Manchester. The hotel is in a good central location. Very close to the shops and Piccadilly Gardens. You can walk from Piccadilly railway station in about 10 minutes.
We had a room on the sixth floor that overlooked the main road. Even though the road was busy we heard no traffic noise.
Our room was small. Amenities such as tea/coffee /hairdryer was located in a drawer as there wasn't a lot of room to put anything.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and the staff we encountered very helpful and pleasant.
Our gripes - the walls were too thin. We could hear a conversation that the people in the room next to us were having - and they were speaking in a normal voice. You could hear the TV in the room next to you and when the od drunk comes back at midnight you can't help but hear them in the corridor etc.
The bathroom was clean but the grout on the tiles was dirty and could have done with regrouting.
There was a large screen TV in the bedroom. We had a great deal - £39 for the night (room only). For that price we would stay again but would think twice about staying here if the price was much more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the xmas markets, the hotel is in a great location. The hotel has been recently refurbished and was very comfy and modern. Rooms were very cosy & comfy a bit on the small side but wasnt a problem at all, again bathroom was abit small but how long do you spend in the bathroom??
We stayed on BB basis and the breakfast was lovely, buffet of hot & cold and also separate menu which was beautiful.
would def stay at this hotel again much preferred this to the ramada which is down the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ami0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

great hotel, speedy check in, room on small side but comfy, breakfast superb. Paid extra £7.50 each on top of room rate making stay a bit pricey. Great location. Bar area tends to be noisy. lots of single groups like hen parties, etc. ask for room at rear, view non existent but quiet. On the whole a great stay. Combined with theatre trip to see Panto on Strike with Paddy McGuinness definitely worth seeing - hilarious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.0 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Property: Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Address: 3-5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England (Formerly Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester Portland Hotel, is a grand Victorian hotel in central Manchester, close to the city's main railway station, shopping centres, theatres, galleries and other attractions. A magnificent listed building overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Portland Hotel is in the very heart of Manchester, making it the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, and just a short drive from the legendary Old Trafford stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland By Thistle, Manchester Hotel Manchester
Manchester Thistle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing