We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Recommend This One”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't Recommend This One”
Reviewed April 18, 2008

I was surprised this had such a high rating. (Number 26 of 113 Manchester hotels?!!) That tells me that a lot of people are really stretching the truth or there are a lot of bad hotels in Manchester. My husband and I stayed there for one night as we were leaving Manchester airport the next day. It is in a really seedy neighborhood with no amenities whatsoever. There is free wireless (which we could not get to work) but no in room phone or lobby phone. The beds were terribly lumpy and the walls were paper thin. I have to say the room was mostly clean, but we will not return and would not have stayed more than one night. I really did not feel I got my 55 pounds ($110) worth at this hotel.

  • Liked — The nice hotel a couple of miles away - had a great restaurant.
  • Disliked — Poor location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tamaranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
30
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2008

don't stay bad
standards

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank magpie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2007

i would recomend this hotel to anyone.

the room are very clean and comfortable. very easy to find of the moterway and also easy to get to the city center.

will use this hotel next time i am in Manchester.

  • Liked — how clean it was
  • Disliked — nothing i can think of
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

When visiting the westlynne hotel, I booked to stay in one of the appartments which were very large and modern. The appartment we stayed in had a kitchen area, louge area, two bedrooms with one ensuite and a bathroom.
I found the staff very polite and were very willing to help and make our stay enjoyable.
Wonderfull full English breakfast, which was all included in the price! ( not like the travel lodges that we have stayed in the past ).

Irons & hairdryers were available at reception as well as shampoos, conditions, toothpaste and even shoe polish!
My sister stayed in the hotel which was just as lovely, with a nice size bedroom, clean and comfortable, good value for money I would say...
The hotel is convenient for visiting Manchester city center we only paid £5 returning in a taxi, but got there via metroloink which is only a short walk from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AmerieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

This is the 2nd time i have stayed at the westlynne hotel in crumpsall, it is a great family run B&B style hotel. Me and my friend go to manchester to watch united and it is very hard and expensive to find a twin room for the night so we ended up staying here again.

We were given the basement room as it was the only twin available. I had been allocated another room but as i had no credit card to guarantee the booking it was released. However the basement room was fine, very spacious with the usual TV and bathroom just outside the door. We were only charged £40 for this room and we had no problems what so ever

The beds are very comfy and breakfast is included (full english if you want it)

The only problem this time was the Local tram line undergoing maintenance so we had to get a replacement bus (get the 400 not the x busses as they do not go near the hotel)

All in all a perfect stay and we will be returning here for our next visit to Manchester!

  • Liked — The Price, The Breakfast, The comfy beds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a great B&B.
Rooms are big and clean. Found the staff very friendly.

Rang them direct to book a double room and paid 50 quid.

A good base if your are catching a show at the MEN arena.
There is a train station down the road from the hotel, which will take you straight to the MEN. A taxi to the arena from the hotel cost us approx 10 quid.

The breakfast in the morning was fantastic.
There is also heaps of free on-site parking.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StreetSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Stayed here one night. Was given a 3 bedded room but asked to change to a double which they gave us. Rooms are clean and staff are very helpful. Front of hotel is pretty noisy from the busy main road but didnt stop us sleeping.
Breakfast was great ......a full english served to your table.
No hair dryers/shampoos or bath products in bathroom but for the price very good value

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleanliness of hotel
  • Disliked — Very small portable TV's with bad reception
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustbesuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#72 of 118 in Manchester
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 118 in Manchester
370 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#61 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
#89 of 118 in Manchester
322 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlynne Hotel/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlynne Hotel/Apartments

Property: Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Address: 16 Middleton Road, Manchester M8 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlynne Hotel/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlynne Hotel is situated 2.5miles from the city center with easy access for the motorway network. The hotel has FREE on site car parking and is conveniently a five minute walk from the metrolink station. This provides easy access to the Manchester Evening News Arena, Old Trafford Football Ground, the Lowry Center, City Of Manchester Stadium and Manchester Cycling Veledrome as well as Museums of Science, Art and Transport. The hotel also offers 1 & 2 bedroom luxury short-stay apartments that are fully furnished and serviced daily. Two bedroom apartments have two bathrooms, and two double beds with a further two bed settee in the lounge area. Maximum people per two bed apartment is four people (unless prior arrangement with management).* Hotel offers fully licensed bar, and free WI-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westlynne Hotel/Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing