We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room but disappointing unfriendly service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westlynne Hotel/Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
london
1 review
“Clean room but disappointing unfriendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I needed to stay in this vicinity, so this hotel was the obvious choice. I stayed a few days, on two of the nights it was very noisy in the corridors, the walls are very thin.

I found the staff unfriendly as if I was doing thenm a favour by staying there. When it came to paying, they tried to over charge me on my bar bill. I asked for an invoice, and ended up with a tally on a scrap of paper.



Overall, its ok but dont expect much.

Room Tip: Not room 10 or 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
26
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for a night in September, we just wanted somewhere reasonable. A bit further out than we imagined and awkward to find, but got there eventually. Under £50 for the room, it was on the top floor (not a problem, I'm not that decrepid), the room itself was in need of some TLC, large gaps in the laminate flooring, very noisy fan in the bathroom. Other guests were very noisy aroung midnight coming and going and talking very loudly and quite a bit of traffic noise, even though it was late. One good point was the all you can eat breakfast for a fiver. Doubt we'd go back but only because I've no reason to go to Manchester again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

stayed here recently as we were going to an event at the Men , it is in a good location if you are wanting to go into Manchester and a taxi cost us £5.50. we were on the second floor and the only criticism i would give is that it was quite noisy from the traffic as its on the main road and our room was on the front. The room was nice and definitely good value for what we paid, the hotel receptionist was really informative regards to where to go for something to eat etc. we also added breakfast on for an extra £4.95 this was great as you could help yourself to as much or as little as you wanted.

Room Tip: would ask for a room at the back of the hotel which would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked this as handy to tram station into Manchester. Unfortunately as our room was right next to reception it did get noisy from 6.30am. We heard the receptionist and I assume another worker chatting (although it was mainly the other hotel worker) and its a good job I wasn't a friend or family member of hers wanting to keep things private as it was not a confidential conversation. Her talking never stopped in between her hoovering and was very annoying. At approx 640am she started hoovering parts of the hotel. Don't really think this was necessary at this hour. There was a hole in the quilt cover but otherwise the room was OK. Don't think we would stay here again though. Only positive is it was conveniently located.

Room Tip: Don't get room 10 or 11 unless you are interested in strangers business
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here when we visited for a night out. Our room was basic but had everything we needed and was very clean. It only cost £6 in a taxi to the centre and £8 from Piccadily. The hotel was really quiet and we weren't disturbed at all. The staff were all friendly and lovely and phoned us taxis etc. Breakfast was fantastic and topped off a fab weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is not plush, but then it doesn't try to be. It is what it is designed to be - a good basic hotel that serves breakfast.. It is clean and pretty quiet. They have free Wi-fi and good TV. Tradesmen who are working in the area seem to have sussed out this place and use it regularly. This is a place where you can get a good nights sleep and then get on with your work the next day.
There is no restaurant in the hotel, but the area is full of take away options and the hotel will loan you plates and cutlery. There is also an excellent Italian restaurant, San Rocco, only a few minutes walk away.
They have apartments available for short term lets as well as the regular hotel rooms. if you want a good basic hotel, this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I needed to stay in the general area of this hotel in order to attend a course. Based on the hotel's website and other reviews this hotel seemed to provide a fairly pleasant degree of comfort but that was not the case upon arrival. The person on reception appeared drunk and just pointed out that our room was on the top floor with no offer to take the luggage and no explanation of the hotel or the surrounding area. This lack of interest also seemed to apply to the owner who was also unwelcoming. However some members of staff such as the breakfast lady and a young girl on reception were pleasant and polite throughout. The room was certainly not value for money and on reflection we would have stayed further up the road in the Premier Inn if we had had advance warning. The bedroom faced onto the main road which was busy at all hours and for which the windows offered little sound-proofing. The bed was thoroughly uncomfortable and felt like you were sleeping directly onto the springs. The over-blanket had cigarette burns and the sheets were stained. But the worst aspect of the stay were the paper thin walls. You could hear every door being opened and unlocked and we were disturbed on both nights by drunken people returning to their rooms. On one night someone was banging on a door for half an hour at 3am. There is nothing you can do about this as the reception didn't seem to have an overnight function. The positives about the hotel are the ability to park away from the road, to get a drink in the fairly modern bar area and the good value breakfast spread which was very tasty. However, overall the hotel offers very poor value for money and a terrible quality of sleep. I would advise all couples and families to avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whittler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Heaton Park) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Swinton) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.2 mi away
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
#90 of 118 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlynne Hotel/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlynne Hotel/Apartments

Property: Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Address: 16 Middleton Road, Manchester M8 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlynne Hotel/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlynne Hotel is situated 2.5miles from the city center with easy access for the motorway network. The hotel has FREE on site car parking and is conveniently a five minute walk from the metrolink station. This provides easy access to the Manchester Evening News Arena, Old Trafford Football Ground, the Lowry Center, City Of Manchester Stadium and Manchester Cycling Veledrome as well as Museums of Science, Art and Transport. The hotel also offers 1 & 2 bedroom luxury short-stay apartments that are fully furnished and serviced daily. Two bedroom apartments have two bathrooms, and two double beds with a further two bed settee in the lounge area. Maximum people per two bed apartment is four people (unless prior arrangement with management).* Hotel offers fully licensed bar, and free WI-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Westlynne Hotel/Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing