We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, but shame about the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, but shame about the noise!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose this hotel for the location, which is excellent. When you enter the hotel it's like stepping back in time with a wonderful staircase and huge chandeliers; it's a grand old building so full of charm.
We booked a standard room on a B&B basis (June 28th 2014) and were delighted when we opened the door to room 428 to find we had been allocated a suite!!! How lovely, especially as it was our 39th wedding anniversary and we were going on a tour of corrie - our lucky day...
The suite was spotless, had a Jacuzzi bath (shame didn't have time to use it), power shower and tea & coffee etc. with lots of wardrobe space too.
Being a central location, it was noisy at night but that's only to be expected and after a few glasses of red wine sleep was inevitable!
Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice.
Staff were all very pleasant and professional and made us feel very welcome. We would return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    792
    966
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,428
338
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here for years, it never gets any better it just gets more and more expensive!

40 years ago this would have been a beautiful hotel! Now it's redundant, dangerous and dirty!

The staff can be very rude at times, you're not a customer you're just an annoyance!

This whole hotel chain is a waste of time, I can't stand them! I've finished with the Britannia from now on! I've had it,

Don't be fooled by nice pictures of glorious rooms, they probably do have a room that looks like the images however I can assure the one you book won't!

If you have a window you're lucky, if the TV works don't expect a remote! A pot of tea, what can I say apart from thank you to the previous guest for leaving me this along with a used tissue stuffed down the side of the bed!

Just a dirty horrid hotel, that is used by late night prostitutes and rent boys! I am very sorry to say, however I have seen this blatant obvious activity going on and it's a disgrace!

That's all I have to say about this! Stay away for your own health and safety!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jsmith89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our tour group checked in around 9 PM and checked out next day after breakfast. So it was basically a very short stay. But I found the room was comfortable, clean. Only the TV was kind of outdated.

Building is very old, The reception area and stairway is grand. Read some of the review below. But my experience was that bad.

Close to Tram centre. Had a morning walk around the hotel. Place seems to be in center of the city. Tried to take a tram ride till media city, but heard I wont be able to return back as the service will be closed by the time I would reach media city.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy_the_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

As you enter the hotel the view of the staircase, chandelier's etc are impressive & the staff are really helpful, unfortunately as soon as you leave reception things start going down hill.
I stayed there for 1 night due to a flight cancellation & was allocated an executive suite which had I been paying the price advertised in reception would have cost £150 per night.
As you will see in the photo's (unfortunately the one showing all of the state of the bathroom did not come out & I never thought to take one in the corridor showing the holes in the walls & white patches where pictures used to be showing years of smoking stains) the room was tiny with a couple of military style beds, no windows to speak of, curtains hanging off the rails and dirty carpets. There was also only 1 of the lifts working but no one had thought to place a notice on it to let anyone know. If the charge had been £40 per night for a 2* hotel then this is what I may have expected.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor must be in a converted loft as they do not have windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Booked this as a 'Welcome Reward' (a freebie) with a third party website, so only had to pay the tax. We were given a 'superior suite' which was spacious and comfortable, and overlooked Portland Street.This hotel in about as central as you can get in this fine city.As they say here:"Manchester is Sound".The young man on reception was very helpful and friendly; answering any questions in a professional manner.The breakfast experience was, although the standard 'Britannia Offering',was superior in terms of presentation; the breakfast chefs actually 'cooked' the bacon, as opposed to the insipid warmed up variety served in some of the other Britannia Hotels.
The only real 'downside' for us was being very politely 'chivvied' out of the Bar at ten'o'clock because we had our granddaughter with us, which could only happen in the UK. I can't see why this is necessary in the hotel bar. Yes, I could understand it in the 2 other bars which are open to the general public and which are, quite obviously, not suitable for children, but the hotel bar did not offer loud thumping music (if you could call it music). This action does tend to 'brand' this hotel as not very child friendly, and not really suitable as a 'holiday / vacation venue' if you want to share the hotel experience with the kids..

Room Tip: Like many Britannia Hotels, I always advise people to avoid the 'city rooms', as this term i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday June 28th.....room on the third floor was clean enough but tired......
A woman across the hall asked us if the noise from the nightclub had bothered us, but we'd only checked in a few hours before. She said she'd already been moved from the 5th floor the night before because of the noise......that night we got back to the hotel close to midnight but just couldn't sleep because the music was so loud.....eventually at 2am I went to reception to ask for more coffee because we couldn't sleep.....he was apologetic but I said that the hotel owners cared only about profits from the nightclub and had no regard for the paying guests....would not recommend, and looking at the reviews here, I don't know why we chose it in the first place, but never again.....

Room Tip: away from the nightclub.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perth45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here as part of an organised trip to Manchester for 2 nights staying Dinner, B&B. After reading the reviews of the hotel all our party were quite apprehensive about staying here, but to be honest it surprised us.
The Hotel itself is quite splendid when you walk through the doors with a fabulous staircase ascending the 5 floors.
The rooms are in need of a refurb, but are sufficient for a couple of nights stay.
Breakfast was good, Dinner not too bad, staff were more than helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor to get away from nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Steve_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing