We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mini City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I don't normally write reviews but I was very impressed by my stay at The Britannia Hotel. It was so beautiful in reception with an amazing chandelier as you walk in. The staff were so lovely and very helpful. Our radiator did not turn on and within 30 minutes they had fixed it. We stayed in the executive twin room for only £43 each for two nights! the room was big and cosy with lots of perks. It was loud outside as there was no double glazing but it was not cold. We could also here the people above walking around but that's what you expect for such an old building. Overall it was amazing and I cant wait to stay again.

Room Tip: £20 extra for an executive room is definitely worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,396 - 2,402 of 4,191 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in October. Had a room with no window. This was not a problem. Very large room comfortable bed. Ideal location for all transport in manchester city centre. Staff pleasant enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary-scottish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December 2013 as we were visiting the Christmas market. We were on a coach trip and had no great expectations. However we were pleasantly surprised. Booking in was quite wearing as a lot of coaches arrived at the same time but the reception staff were polite and efficient, The room was value for money although in need of decoration. The food was plentiful and of a good standard. Public areas were clean and comfortable. We were struck by the amount of seemingly random furniture about the place which we found quite amusing! For the amount we paid we have no complaints and would gladly stay there again. It is very central being not far from all main attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The moment you go in to hotel the staff welcome you , the hotel is so perfect whether your staying for leisure or business they are located in the heart of the city centre with national transport links within easy walking distance and lots of car parks very close .they have 3 good restaurants 1 bar in side of the hotel 2 just out side the hotel.. security on at night .theirs over 360 rooms en~suite MOST ROOMS HAVE,TV, hair-dryer,telephone,tea/coffee,facilities.some rooms have free WiFi,....ONLY ONE THING I CAN SAY IS BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN BOOKING SOME INTERNAL ROOMS DO NOT HAVE WINDOWS SO JUST CHECK WHEN BOOKING ..

Room Tip: we had a executive double room great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Cheap and chearful if you want an unforgettable experience. We booked an executive twin room we got a dump on the 5th floor window was broken so it wouldn't close, it was freezing, they did fix the window, we just got of to sleep after the noise from the disco down stairs at 4.30 we were woken with cigarette smoke even though we booked a non smoking room, we could hear our neighbours through the paper thin walls, every time someone walked past our door it was like they were coming in the room with the noise. Breakfast was awful sausages not cooked tea was cold. Other guests were sitting in the lobby of the hotel smoking weed which went unchecked. Nobody asked me how my stay was when we checked out hence the reason im posting this warning, they wont be In business as a hotel much longer , they are moving into the category of doss house... beware.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother at all unless your interested in a drug den for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank d17mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here with friends between xmas and new year on what we thought ( before the visit ) was a good value deal through Dealmonster
The good ;
Impressive public areas . Clean throughout . Staff efficient and friendly . Well located .
Now the bad :
Our room , supposedly an executive suit was very dated , cheap double put-up bed , old fashioned pictures direct from a car boot sale screwed slanted onto the walls . No hot water in the morning . An ancient tv that was impossible to see when in bed . Bad sound proofing and to top it all when woken yet again by another selfish idiot shouting in the corridor at 5am the people in the next room , obviously also woken decided to have a leg over so we had to put up with their headboard banging on the adjoining wall . Nice !
Previous reviews do not fully state how bad the breakfast is. It was the worst that i have ever experienced . Totally foul ,inedible and cold . All ingredients the cheapest to be found , some cooked in what tasted like vinegar .
Instead of being angry, we were laughing at the sheer naffness of the whole experience.
In summary dont expect much and dont pay much either .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got this on a Groupon deal of £45 B&B executive room with a complimentary bottle of house wine. As the saying goes "You get what you pay for". I have struggled to know what was "executive" about our room. It was adequate for a nights stay, was really clean but very dated. That can also be said for the rest of the hotel really. I was shocked to read that it had only opened its doors in 1982. I thought it was much older than that. I have to disagree with comments I have read about rude staff. Every member of staff we encountered were extremely polite and helpful. The cooked breakfast was disappointing. Poor quality and lukewarm. Should have gone for the continental option. I would stay again on a similar deal but if I was paying top dollar for somewhere it wouldn't be my first choice. Quite a lot of traffic noise but then what else can you expect in a city centre location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col123-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#92 of 120 in Manchester
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,187 reviews
4.4 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $55 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing