We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Cheap and chearful if you want an unforgettable experience. We booked an executive twin room we got a dump on the 5th floor window was broken so it wouldn't close, it was freezing, they did fix the window, we just got of to sleep after the noise from the disco down stairs at 4.30 we were woken with cigarette smoke even though we booked a non smoking room, we could hear our neighbours through the paper thin walls, every time someone walked past our door it was like they were coming in the room with the noise. Breakfast was awful sausages not cooked tea was cold. Other guests were sitting in the lobby of the hotel smoking weed which went unchecked. Nobody asked me how my stay was when we checked out hence the reason im posting this warning, they wont be In business as a hotel much longer , they are moving into the category of doss house... beware.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother at all unless your interested in a drug den for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank d17mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    783
    940
    739
    1,203
See reviews for
384
1,393
330
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here with friends between xmas and new year on what we thought ( before the visit ) was a good value deal through Dealmonster
The good ;
Impressive public areas . Clean throughout . Staff efficient and friendly . Well located .
Now the bad :
Our room , supposedly an executive suit was very dated , cheap double put-up bed , old fashioned pictures direct from a car boot sale screwed slanted onto the walls . No hot water in the morning . An ancient tv that was impossible to see when in bed . Bad sound proofing and to top it all when woken yet again by another selfish idiot shouting in the corridor at 5am the people in the next room , obviously also woken decided to have a leg over so we had to put up with their headboard banging on the adjoining wall . Nice !
Previous reviews do not fully state how bad the breakfast is. It was the worst that i have ever experienced . Totally foul ,inedible and cold . All ingredients the cheapest to be found , some cooked in what tasted like vinegar .
Instead of being angry, we were laughing at the sheer naffness of the whole experience.
In summary dont expect much and dont pay much either .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got this on a Groupon deal of £45 B&B executive room with a complimentary bottle of house wine. As the saying goes "You get what you pay for". I have struggled to know what was "executive" about our room. It was adequate for a nights stay, was really clean but very dated. That can also be said for the rest of the hotel really. I was shocked to read that it had only opened its doors in 1982. I thought it was much older than that. I have to disagree with comments I have read about rude staff. Every member of staff we encountered were extremely polite and helpful. The cooked breakfast was disappointing. Poor quality and lukewarm. Should have gone for the continental option. I would stay again on a similar deal but if I was paying top dollar for somewhere it wouldn't be my first choice. Quite a lot of traffic noise but then what else can you expect in a city centre location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col123-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Its a case of well what do you expect from a cheap hotel, we opted for the excutive twin room and all i will say is, if thats best room available then what were standard rooms like.....

In its day when it opened i imagine it was impressive but that was 30 years ago, i dont think the hotel has had a refurb or updated the decor since. Furniture is generally old, the beds are the same and creeky when you move in them. The bedding looks tired and windows are single glazed with broken locks in our case. Being on a busy road without double glazing was hard to get a decent sleep ( luckily i had some ear plugs on me )

Didnt book breakfast here so cant comment on that, we simply wanted a roof over our heads for our stay in Manchester and thats what we got and didnt expect anything else for the price paid and thats what i think you should have in mind if stay here

Room Tip: Dont book for a special occassion, it wont be a special stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Room was ok but thats being polite given the price. Bathroom no ventilation so mirrors steamed up after shower so fiancée couldn't use mirror for makeup. Damp in bathroom also toilet wouldn't flush, room without window which is fine but no air conditioning or ventilation so was extremely hot and uncomfortable we phoned reception to complain and sent a maintenance man up who flicked the light switches and said the air con isn't working, I'm no sparky but I could of told him that as a result a portable fan was there complete solution. ( not impressed) no mention for would you like to swap to another room?????? Why wasn't this offered. Beaware for this service or lack of.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here a few times before we were delighted to get a last minute booking when visiting our daughter at university.
Unfortunately our disappointment began at the check in desk, they had got my first name wrong (not just spelling, but completely the wrong name) and were close to telling us we were not booked in, no apology or explanation, the receptionist, even after looking at the booking confirmation with the correct name on said that I must have entered it wrong!
Then came the room.....sad and tired is perhaps the best description of the decor.....oil splattered wallpaper and rotting door bottoms would perhaps be more realistic. Along with the makeup stained carpet this didn't put a good light on the room. The assumption that two adults would be fine with a hand towel and one small bath towel was also bewildering. However these were quickly supplemented when asking at reception. The bed making was also a little substandard, just a sheet over a mattress protector underneath the covers.
From a technology point of view, wifi was easy to access and pretty fast, however, a 19" CRT TV? No free view, and on the floor so you can't see it from the bed? Not good.
The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep, however temperature control was via a single, broken window.
Breakfast was good, if somewhat limited in selection, no bread other than white toast and a somewhat limited variety of fruit.
Check out was simple....drop the cards in a box, no customer feedback or staff interaction.
At the £55 we paid for the double room it was a disappointment.....what it would feel paying the £169 expected for full price doesn't bear thinking about.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room from a restaurant 10 mins walk away, using my phone's web browser. I got confirmation of the booking from Britannia. I turned up at reception soon afterwards to be told that the price "must be a mistake" and I needed to pay a whole lot more, think it could have been £100 higher. I dug my heels in and eventually got something like a "how silly of us, sir, our mistake!"

This all sounds lighthearted. But for several minutes they were deadly serious that they wanted this extra payment. They were probably banking in the fact that thinner-skinned tourists would just pay up.

I'm just wondering in the light of other reviews on this site, whether the blame for this crookedness lies with individual staff, or the hotel management, or with Britannia Hotels corporately?

It's a shame, because this is hotel has a fantastic period ground floor and staircase, and could be a real boon to Manchester if it was in better hands.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CottonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing