We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xmas market trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“xmas market trip”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

this was sour first visit to Manchester and the xmas markets very pleasant stay at the Brittania Hotel the staff were very helpful especially in the jenny's restaurant one of the chefs went out of his way to help me when I needed some thing to eat due to a restricted diet the room was clean and plenty of space I would recommend this trip although it was short and a coach tour we will return again well done

Room Tip: always ask for twin beds and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    782
    937
    736
    1,201
See reviews for
382
1,388
329
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very tired and really in need of re-furbishment. I was on the fifth floor and only one of the lifts was working, resulting in a long wait for the lift. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was mediocre. No fresh fruit or yogurts. Bread already toasted and cold. No real alternative to the standard bacon, sausage, beans and egg This hotel is located in the centre and close to amenities and restaurants and China town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Worst night's sleep of my life. I was stuck in one of the top floor rooms, about a 10 minute walk from the check in desk. Bearing in mind that the hotel is massive and had only one working lift, and my key card took three attempts to open my door, it took me about 30 minutes to get into my room. The toilet had a little surprise left in it from the previous occupants, the room had been heated beyond human comfort levels but soon cooled down to freezing once I switched it off. The mattress on the bed was about one inch thick although that still left plenty of depth for plenty of unexplained lumps and bumps. I woke up feeling like I had been kicked in the lower back all night and was in pain all the next day. I cannot ever imagine a set of circumstances in which I would ever spend another night in this hotel. Great location but run into the ground by the owners.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdh512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Went for Christmas markets? Public room good. bedroom a little tired. Food average. Deal that we had was very good. Would go back again for the same deal. Good location for shopping. We stayed mid week so not as busy.lifts can get overloaded and only two of them? bar areas good.


Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank locations69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

As you walk into the hotel the first thing that you see is the beautiful chandelier and sweeping staircase , quite spectacular . Booking in clerk was efficient .
our room was on the 1st floor at the side/back of the hotel , it was clean and warm and everything worked , The decor was a little tired. The bed was extremely creaky I.e. whenever my partner moved I was well aware of it .
returned to hotel after a night out in Manchester , and got our free bottle of wine from the bar which was a bonus .
Unfortunately our room turned out to be directly above the bottle recycling unit and this was in use throughout the whole night , which was not conducive to a restful nights sleep.
Breakfast next morning was ok , nothing special , overheard one of the dining room staff telling a guest that they had over 400 covers for breakfast and this was reflected in the quality of the food.
All that said we only paid £49 for us both so we got what we paid for .

Room Tip: Am sure that rooms higher up are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a dreadful place!! firstly it takes you 20 minutes to check in. There is no where to stop outside and no one to help with baggage. On arriving at your room you open the door and press the light switch and nothing happens. It is dark at 2pm why? There are no windows! Well one small one about 7 feet high on a level with the ceiling. The globe in the only lamp that gives light when you switch on is broken. You attempt to unpack and the front of the drawer in the bedside cupboard falls off. It is late November and there is no heating, the radiator is jammed and doesn't work. On complaining they bring and electric radiator. There is one electric plug. You are stuck between charging your cell phone, having light, having heat or having TV!!! the TV is an ancient affair that buzzes all the time and is sitting on a little box just off the ground. Don't mention breakfast! Awful. whoever gave this hotel a three star rating!? The lifts are slow and dubious. It is probably the worst place I have ever stayed in..

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I didn't stay in this hotel but opted to have the set three course meal with a friend for £10 or there abouts.
Firstly there were no wine glasses on the table and the waiters who could not speak English very well did not offer a drink menu so we decided to drink water instead, a loss for them.
The starter was ok, Pumpkin soup, I think! The main was a choice between Shepherd's Pie, Pasta with Cheese or meat (Chicken, Turkey? hard to tell) we went for the meat and it was ok but obviously from the carvery the day before, we were there on a Monday night.
I then called the waiter over to ask if there was coffee or tea included which there was, I wanted two teas but ended up with two coffee's and had to ask for Tea.
The restaurant manager looked like he was having a hard time but overall I would never go back or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing