We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is very traditional with lovely chandaliers etc but rooms have damp patches and need updating. We are on the 5th floor and the noise from the clubs below are deafening we have complained about the noise and they said it stops at 2am. If you want a good nights sleep DONT STAY IN THIS HOTEL we didnt get any peace at all

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twilliams2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    786
    950
    744
    1,216
See reviews for
386
1,407
331
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
341 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Was expecting the worst having reading the reviews but pleasantly surprised. Ok it's faded glamour and rooms need a refurb but great value for money. Just back after a 2 night coach break for breakfast and dinner for the grand sum of £89. Staff were very friendly, I always think you are treated the way you treat others! I was in a single room, very spacious and nice clean sheets and fluffy towels. Towels changed each day and toiletries replenished. Good hot shower and bathroom extremely clean. Breakfast good, looking at a previous review I didn't realise , eggs, bacon, black pudding etc came in tins. The ones I had certainly didn't.Dinner also had plenty of fresh veg. Our party or 5 were celebrating a 50 th birthday and the manager sent over 2 bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket. Such a thoughtful touch. There is, however, a downside, and this is they allow smoking on some floors and this does travel through to bedrooms but when I asked housekeeping if they could freshen the room, this was done. Really should be total smoke free. Hotel is in a great location. Would stay again if I could be guaranteed no smoking. By the way, we also had a 99p bar, how bad can that be.

Room Tip: Think back of hotel may be quieter. Some rooms have quite a walk so ask at reception if you have wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Having read some awful reviews of this hotel, we really had to think if it was worth taking a chance, as it was only for one night and we got a very good price, we went for it. How pleased we were that we did.
The entrance is dominated by a beautiful staircase and all public areas were clean and tastefully decorated. Check in was fast and efficient if not very friendly.
We had only booked a room but got a suite! King size bed, nicely decorated warm room, very clean as was the good sized bathroom. We were at the front of the hotel but apart from the odd emergency vehicle, we could hardly hear any traffic noise. I realise it is a very big hotel and not all rooms may be as good as the one we had but I really don't know what some people expect from an old hotel.
Breakfast was a buffet, cereal, fruit and the usual full English, plenty of tea and coffee.
Two thing that could be improved on, wifi was hit and miss, more miss than hit and as other people have commented, the televisions are small portable and only have 5 channels. In our case we couldn't see it from the bed as it was on a low stool in the raised area of the room and the stair rail was in the way. This was not a major problem as we were not there to watch television.
We would definitely stay again, we might not be as lucky next time but as it is so close to the bus and train station and city centre and has more character than modern hotels, it is worth taking a chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

What a place, it's like stepping back into the 1960's. The rooms are dated, 1 plug in the room, bathroom shoddy and the shower drips on you. Breakfast well.... Tinned everything.... The entrance of the hotel leads you to believe that it could be a nice family friendly hotel and it probably is friendly but there is no interaction with staff as they are all Europeans speaking in their own language, I don't have a problem with that but in most hotels you generally get acknowledgement when you walk past someone! Next door came in at 2am and had a shower, which sounded as if it was in my room.... Very noisy. Wasn't cheap either 77 pounds per night! Overpriced overrated.... Dreadful. Never again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'd often write a review about the hotel but for this one i will start by writing about people leaving reviews. People want a cheap hotel and then complain that its old or noisy, dirty or with poor service well to be honest if you want a top spec hotel with excellent facilities stay in a different hotel costing 5 times as much.

The hotel, I've stayed here twice now and its relatively well priced for a city centre hotel, yes its not quiet in the rooms from road noise and single paned glazing, old rooms with 1980's TV's which to be honest should just be removed to make space. However this hotel serves one purpose its location and 5 minute walk into the centre. The hotel rooms are clean, bed linen is clean bathroom is clean and breakfast is good. Its a lovely old hotel and with investment would be brilliant. Don't be put off.
(single room this time i felt like Harry Potter as i was under the stairs).

Room Tip: NCP parking is located to the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Armo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we booked 2 rooms with internet vouchers for an overnight stay in an "executive room". Not the best of decor, wallpaper peeling off, curtains disgusting, carpet thread bare in places, bathroom adequate, overall i think a good makeover n deep clean. The main areas are ok and looked very Christmasy. The breakfast buffet was lovely, plenty of choice and well cooked. The hotel is in a really good position and with the voucher was good value but I wouldnt pay the full price.

Room Tip: room was quiet at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jepLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Friend and I travelled in a coach party and allocated a 5th floor back two bed bedroom which smelt musty on arrival and was dark and dingy. Coffee and milk supply sparse and limited amount of plug sockets so recommend you bring a 4 point extension lead for phones and I pads etc. staff were friendly and food reasonable considering we only paid £89 for a two night stay. Lovely Victorian building with lots of character ideally situated in centre of Manchester.

Room Tip: Friend and I travelled on a coach party for Xmas markets. Allocated a 5th floor two single bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing