We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“room change”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked a twin room 3 weeks in advance and paid in full, when we arrived at the hotel, they could only offer us 2 single rooms,as they had overbooked, they offered us a bottle of wine and vouchers for breakfast. I did say they should have contacted me,as they had my e-mail and phone number. I have since put my complaint in, and they did acknowledge that they should have contacted us re overbooking,then we could have made alternative arrangements.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    786
    950
    744
    1,216
See reviews for
386
1,407
331
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights as a cheeky getaway. The hotel is beautiful, my girlfriends jaw dropped as we walked through the doors and saw the grand chandelier hanging adjacent to reception. We expected what we payed for the hotel. Your paying to stay in an age old hotel - which added equity to the meaning classic. It reminded me of those hotels you see on most old films. Very warm and homely.
We stayed for breakfast - a great buffet style all fresh and replenished.
The power shower in the room was fantastic, however I do reccomend a bigger bath!
We wilk definitely stay again as its very good value. Next time we will pay a bit more and stay in one of the suites.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely big hotel,very grand and on the face of it good.Right away the front of house staff gave me a bad feeling,they were quite impersonal bordering on rude.I think some of the staff are a bit tired just like the hotel.both need to give themselves a shake.In saying that the staff at breakfast were great as was the breakfast.
I was in my room for about ten minutes before i realised there was something strange-there was no window! Slightly claustrophobic feel as it was a very small room too.I also noticed an odd smell then saw that I was in a smoking room.(is it just me or is allowing smoking in hotels strange?) I don't smoke so I asked if i could be moved to a non smoking room with a window and was told i'd have to pay more,my hands were tied so I did.Second room was pretty filthy,room was as small as the first,paying for my upgrade seemed comical.The window I had paid for was hilariously dirty,looked like it had actually never been washed,anyway at least I knew If it was day or night now!
On reading other reviews of the hotel It seems that there might be some decent rooms but it just so happens I dind't have a great stay entirely.City centre location is nice but to have a bad experience in a well placed hotel just isn't worth it for me. Would happily pay more money next time for another city centre hotel.When I'm working I often like to spend the day In my hotel room and just relax as I work nights, I don't like to feel like I can't do this like I did here.
The Britannia needs an overhaul cosmetically,the chandelier chain is thick with years of dust,the place needs a deep clean, and If the staff feel they are too good for the clientele they should get another job.
This hotel could be amazing,but It's not.
I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a (clean) window and without an ashtray or go elsewhere and not have to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed here 11th November - 13th November with a friend, booked a smoking room with no window but assured that the room had air conditioning; when we got to the room we soon realized that not only did the tv and one of the lights not work but the aircon didn't work either, we tried to persevere but the room soon gets hot when there isn't any ventilation at all. As night fell the room became unbearable, I phoned reception and advised that the aircon wasn't working, they told me that I needed to pay for an upgrade if I wanted a room with a window.

I advised that I didn't care about a window but they've put us in a room with no ventilation whatsoever, eventually security came up and told reception that we should be moved to a new room because he'd never been in a room so hot. So we were transferred to a triple room with a window, second room we'd been in the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, part of the little bannister in the room was broken, the kettle didn't work unless you held it down until it boiled and the whole place just looks really run down.

Cleanliness of the hotel; skidmark in the toilet in the first room we were in, everything seemed fine in the second room.

Went out on Tuesday in the afternoon and came back to discover that someone had been in my room and stolen my iPod; made sure I hadn't just misplaced it somewhere silly by going through that room with a fine tooth comb but it definitely wasn't there and I definitely left it on the bed before I left. I went to reception to report it who advised that they'd get the manager to investigate it once she comes in. It was at this point where I realized that unless you physically close the door, the door doesn't shut and lock properly meaning anyone could have just walked in. Didn't check before as I have worked in hotels and stayed in many more and in every one of them they've always shut and locked on their own.

Manager couldn't be much help though she was sympathetic and professional throughout but it was either the staff or another guest. They said they'd check the logs of who swiped into my room in the hours I was gone however those results were not given to me. She offered me the phone to call the police but at the end of the day what's the point? It isn't getting me my iPod back and I had a train to catch.

As you walk in you are presented with beauty but past that just gets gradually worse. Would not stay again and would not advise anyone else to stay here either. Definitely should have checked this site before stopping there as others have reported things missing also. I expect this when in a foreign country but not in England in one of our greatest cities. Shameful.

Room Tip: This hotel has smoking rooms however they seem to be next to non smoking rooms and while I am a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModestlyAmazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

When the homeless chap on the steps as you go in tries to sell you a big issue go for it. You will need some reading material in the queue to check in! Even though it was reasonably priced it didn't represent value for money

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Luckily for me I stayed here before I read the other reviews but the headline doesn't tell the whole story as I'd probably have rated this between poor & average but when I consider the cost of the room for the location (which is smack bang in the centre of town!) then there is a bit of "you get what you pay for" to be considered.
On the negative side the room decor was somewhat tired and in need of a serious makeover but on the positive side the bathroom, bed linen etc were all spotless.
As for a bit of traditional character the main atrium and staircase up to the rooms is stunning!

If I have a bigger budget next time I might try somewhere else BUT if it's a "tight budget" again I wouldn't worry about re-booking here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having booked two rooms for one night bed breakfast and 3 course dinner for four people at only £65 per room, that's £32.50 each, we were very pleased with the large comfortable rooms, in a very impressive large old building, with a very grand staircase, leading up to rooms ,with super bathroom, good beds, comfortable and clean ,also with tea and coffee included, dinner and breakfast of the best quality ..

Room Tip: most rooms will not have a view as in centre of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing