We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expartations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
450 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Below expartations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very good location! And that's all, unfortunatelly... The room was small, tv did not work, the reception did not answer the phone, the window was extremely small and could not be opened, the bathroom was not too clean, there was no iron.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryszard_Ochodzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    775
    928
    727
    1,192
See reviews for
377
1,372
328
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The central location is the only redeemable feature of a hotel that would otherwise be described as a cross between Fawlty Towers and the Overlook Hotel from 'The Shining'. The hotel looked tired and dated throughout. Our room was barely habitable. Only the bedside lamp worked: both the main light and the TV were broken. The sheet didn't fit our bed properly, there was no mattress protector and our pillows had the density of bubble wrap. There were stains on every material in the room: carpet, curtains, bed etc. The shower had very little pressure. The paintwork was dirty and chipped. Finally, the breakfast was frankly inedible. £120 for a night in this hotel is daylight robbery. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLC1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.nice hotel.smoking room.The style of hotel is very outdated.good location and value for money only down fall was breakfast as the food was not presented well and there we were not told about the night club .Loud music at late hours of the night and was unable to sleep.but the duty manager offered a change of room but still said we would be able to hear the music.
but good value for money
foods not great
staff ok

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHRISTINEA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here one night for a recent conference. Staff are polite and helpful and the entrance to the hotel is pretty impressive with an amazing staircase. But the place is tired - reviews must depend a bit on the room you get. My double room had a door that looked as if someone had tried to jemmy it open. The carpet had several large stains and didn't feel very clean. Bathroom was good and toiletries etc are supplied - which isn't the case in many hotels of this price range. Bed linen good, towels not generous size, bed comfortable, television blurry. Tea and coffee making and because I was working, real bonus of free wifi. I would put in in the 'OK' for one night bracket. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on the 10th of october for one night with my boyfriend, we wanted something cheap and cheerful and were not expecting a lot for cheap. We paid £48 for the room which didnt have a window. This didnt bother us because who looks out of a window anyway?! It just brings more light in!
We entered the hotel and the staff greeted us with a warm welcome. Our room was on the top floor and the lift was handy in that case. This hotel is beautiful, could do with updates but still beautiful.
We entered our room and it was better then expected. Everything was clean and tidy. We did find a wet patch on ourfloor which we did avoid but no further complaints. The shower was even more powerful than the one i have at home! My only problem was the walls were very thin so you can hear every word being said next door!
The location was perfect, and is a perfect hotel for shoppers or if your going on a night out.
no problems with this hotel worth the visit and stay would definatly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicadex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Worst staff in a hotel ever. Suitable for a TV show named Hotel Hell. This hotel runs off nothing more than location and out dated style. Not only treated our staff like dirt but also witnessed people in reception go equally as crazy at the bad service only to have them snear back at them.

I STRONGLY RECOMMEND AVOIDING, HOLIDAY INN IS LIKE THE RITZ IN COMPARISON FOR SERVICE

Room Tip: do not choose one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the weekend for 2 nights. We paid £166 for our room which was upgraded on arrival, the price did not include breakfast.
The room had 3 beds in it, one on a second floor where the bathroom was. It was clean and comfortable and met our needs. The whole hotel is looking a little tired and could do with a facelift but the architecture is gorgeous, the staircase is stunning.
It was quite noisy at night, lots of hen and stag do's in but it was a good central location, the staff were friendly and helpful and I would happily stay there again.
If you are looking for cheap and cheerful and in a good location then the Britannia should suit you fine, as long as you are a heavy sleeper or take your ear plugs!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizbiz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing