We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel....”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

A grand, old, big hotel in the centre of Manchester City. I always found, people do complain a lot about Britannia Hotels. Please friends, don't forget how much you paying for a room. I have stayed 3 times in this hotel and I always had a wonderful experience. Big room, clean bathroom, cosy bed, what else u need?

I would love to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    797
    968
    759
    1,238
See reviews for
390
1,441
339
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I had the unfortunate mispleasure of staying courtesy of FlyBe after a flight was cancelled. It has definitely had its day and is in need of a complete guy and renovation. Rooms are dirty and beds are awful. Next time I will pay for a decent hotel myself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiskygus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

bedford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This wonderful old building has such history, the recption area has trailing staircases and high ornate ceilings that you could envisage wealthy Victorians enjoying a well earnt break. The last time i stayed here was in the 1990's and it was still a lovely luxury hotel.

Sadly in the 21st century it needs a creative push, wallpaper hanging off walls, the long corridiors smell of damp and the stains on the carpet do not give a good impression. Small cheap tatty pictures adorn walls and it just makes me feel unhappy at what could be a splendid hotel again. My room was right opposite Yates and the main shopping area, didn't sleep a wink, window wouldnt shut, secondary glazing also jammed open. Room smelt of damp and was musty. Fights and shouting took place most of the night. Took me ages to work out how to use the shower. Room was clean but again decor left a lot to the imagination, a mix of painted walls and wallpaper where it had fallen off, even the lamp shade was broken. The hotel reception was staffed by one man whose english wasn't that great and shrug of the shoulders and don't know was the general reply. Breakfast was a bacon bap and coffee, only one person on duty. I had pre ordered a gluten free bun which was rock hard and 2 slithers (not rashers) of bacon were delievred. After the first bite i discovered the bun was green and mouldy and not defrosted properly either. Again, a shrug of the shoulders and so what attitude. Needless to say when it come to paying i agreed to pay for the cofee only. No managers were on duty.

No i would not stay here again. Unwelcoming and tired hotel in need of TLC. - Buck up Management and owners. This would make a wonderful development of flats... but sadly its days as a hotel are numbered!

Room Tip: Not one located at the front and preferablly in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ignorant staff dirty room and bath and carpets dirty and bedding smelly , got moved to another room, over priced and you don't even get breakfast not that I would eat it , glad it was only one night as going on holiday wouldn't be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a long and late drive from London to Manchester on Saturday night I was looking forward to checking in for a good night of sleep. As we walked to the hotel from the car park, we noticed there was a nightclub under the hotel. Fingers crossed our rooms weren't over the club.

No luck.

The receptionist even took delight in telling us that we could rest easy once the nightclub closed it's doors. At 2am.

The room was straight out of the 1980s and I don't think it has been updated since. Almost everything was filthy and worn out.

If you have the choice between this or staying anywhere else. Pick the 2nd option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penfold1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks fabulous from the outside but you cannot judge a book by its cover, as the inside is very dated! The rooms have all the facilities you need, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, tv but they all need replacing with a modern version. The bed was comfortable with clean white sheets. The bathroom, again was in need of a refurb but there was shower gel, shampoo and clean white towels so we couldn't complain. The breakfast was quite poor, there was plenty of it but cheap brands of food. On a more positive note, the staff were helpful. The location was ideal, very near to Piccadilly and all the shopping. There were plenty of eating places and bars. Canal Street is very close... a few minutes walk and a good atmosphere is to be had. Deansgate has plenty of bars too but is a taxi ride away. Manchester is ideal for shopping and the nightlife. I would stay again in this hotel for one night but wouldn't stay any longer ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building outside and as you enter inside there is a nice, white, past-british-glory staircase that goes up to the fifth floor.

However, the rooms are literally awful, most of them are dark, old and run-down and they stink.. After complaining they changed my room but not until the next day.. I thought I spent a night in prison.. Particularly inappropriate for a woman or a couple.

Wi-fi either worked perfectly, or didn't work at all.. Most of the times didn't work at all, and when it did it was interrupted after a while. Aaaargghhh...

Breakfast was Rock Bottom Quality.. Perhaps only the toasted bread was edible.. all the rest was literally dog food, not worth even 1 pound.

Most of the staff was bored to death, with a few bright exceptions. I would never come back willingly - needless to say.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#70 of 118 in Manchester
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing