We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience So Bad We Had To Laugh About It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As the title suggests our experience here was atrocious. Our room was so hot it was unbearable, there was no windows or air conditioning. My partner has asthma and we asked at reception if there was anything they could do but the porter was very unhelpful. Our experience here was so bad me and my partner had to laugh about it. It was my graduation and my parents were staying in the MacDonald Hotel nearby and our hotel room was that bad that I went to their hotel to get a shower and changed. Without a doubt the worst nights sleep I've had, stains on the floor and walls. My dog sleeps in better conditions than that, would never stay anywhere near the place or recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,635 - 2,641 of 4,200 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I booked a Double Executive room over the phone and one for another couple. We arrived at 11.30am and asked to leave our luggage - we were told we could actually check in which was great. We dumped our bags in the rooms and came back 6 hours later.

When we walked in we realised it smelt heavily of smoke and there was an ashtray. The rooms were also tiny. Our friends had discovered the same thing. I went to Reception to discuss being given a smoking room without being told or booking one and, whilst there was no apology, they did give both couples different rooms without question. The staff were actually very nice and I am convinced the rooms we were moved to were the ones we were supposed to be in all along.

However, the room are very dated and worn. The lobby, staircase and building in general are very nice but the rooms do not do them justice. And, to echo what others have said, it was UNBEARABLY hot! The windows only opened about 1cm due to the safety locks and there was just no air in there at all. It made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep.

Breakfast was nice, though. =)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on the 12th July...we upgraded to the executive suite which was lovely with 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath which was great......only problem was NO air conditioning!!!! There was a stand alone system however only worked on the warm setting...I'm sure usefully this is fine but with the hot weather it was a difficult nights sleep...the room must have been about 30 degrees!!!!.......no complaints however the air conditioning needs looking at here as speaking to people I don't think any rooms had any?? :/ .....I'd stay again but in winter!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at this hotel it is badly in need of a good makeover but the room we had was basic but clean, windows were very dirty and only one small window could be opened but only a fraction so room was really hot but they did give us a fan which helped, bed was comfortable and bathroom had bath good shower and plenty hot water. The food was average but plenty of it, staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is close to the railway station and shops restaurants and nightlife so very convenient. You get what you pay for with this hotel we had a 5 day 4 night tour which included breakfast and evening meal and 3 tours and paid £149 which was reasonable. If you are wanting quality do not stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 508 and were able to sleep without too much noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely place to stay not to expensive stayed here before but got an internal room with no window so upgraded to an executive room lovely big window the stair case here is amazing the staff were great and the breakfast was great well worth a visit .

Room Tip: Get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked this hotel for a short one night stay were the only thing I needed was a bed and a couple of hours sleep. I got a bed, nothing else....

The weather in Manchester has been really good this summer, and an old fashioned hotel like this whith no air condition what so ever gets too hot. This in addition to a room facing Portland Street, I was kept awake the whole night. The room temperature was about 27 degrees all night and a lot of noise from the street outside all night.

The hotel is old and needs renovation.

Room Tip: High up and not facing Portland Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stavanger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this hotel for a nights stay.
Had been told it was nice and good value for money.
The outside is filthy, and foyer the same, the carpet was thread bare. On the corridors leading to the rooms are in bad need of decoration.
The room we stayed in 553, was like going into a time warp, very dated and in desperate need of decorating. The carpet was filthy, it had no window or air con. Not even a fan . And in the summer months would be unbearable.
For the price we paid, we will not be returning again and would not recommended this hotel to anybody. If you are looking for quality, this is definitely not for you. ..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,188 reviews
4.4 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $55 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing