We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my family when i was a child and didnt like spending my time here. Was very happy when we left this hotel, because it was a creepy experience. I almost didnt get any sleep at nights because our room looked like something from a ghost movie and i heard some weird noices all the time. There was also a creepy looking door in the room which didnt help. Didnt like the style of this hotel and it was dust on the walls.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,060)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Manchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,533 - 2,539 of 4,060 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights through Tesco Clubcard Rewards for a trip to see the Rocky Horror Show at the Palace Theatre. We didn't realise we would get a 'Horror Show' before we even got to the theatre. it should have cost £368 for an executive double. We were expecting something special for this price. Oh how wrong we were. The hotel looks fabulous from the outside and even inside the decor is very grand with a sweeping staircase and chandeliers. We collected our keycard (which had to be nserted upside down to work) to room 446 on the 4th floor. What a shock when we opened the door. #Where to start.....The wallpaper was peeling off the ceiling, there were no wardrobe doors, the carpet was filthy, There was no ceiling light, just lamps, one of which had been glued back together by a '4 year old'. The bathroom had peeling paint and a cig burn on the sink surround. The room smelt of smoke even though it was a 'non-smoking room'. There was no full length mirror which I found out later were on the sliding wardrobe doors in other rooms. The bed had a single mattress protector on a double bed and the sheets hardly covered the bed. i was soooo disappointed and angry but didn't complain as we were too angry to confront reception. We went out for the night in Manchester and decided to wait until we had tried breakfast the next morning before complaining. Breakfast was very relaxed and served from 7.30 - 10.30. There was lots of choice and nothing to complain about here. The staff were very friendly and served us with tea or coffee. We went to meet friends on Saturday and walked to their hotel 'Le Ville'. Now I know this is a very modern hotel but the rooms were stunning and clean. The complete opposite of ours. Come on Britannia a bit of late spring cleaning wouldn't go amiss on the downright shabby rooms. We appreciate that they are old but a bit of pride should be taken in the presentaion of your rooms, especially considering the cost and what the rest of the hotel looks like. Rooms can be old and clean as I have experienced many times in Old Engish Hotels all over the country

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciderliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After reading the reviews on this site I was dreading staying here. We arrived, checked in and were told we'd been given an upgrade and the room was fab. Clean, huge, four poster bed - jacuzzi - fantastic, it was quite noisy when we got back from seeing Bon jovi at the etihad but you have to expect that in a city centre hotel. We were really impressed and I can't understand why this place gets so many negative reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belly1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here on the 22nd of June 2013. From the outside the hotel looked lovely. Checking was quick and the staff were lovely. Went to drop our stuff in the room on the third floor an executive double which we paid £149.00 for the one night. The room was large and clean but very dated but wasn't too bothered it was only for the night. Returned to hotel at 1 am after a fantastic day at the ethiad watching robbie Williams and just wanted to sleep this did not happen there is a night club right underneath the hotel the noise was terrible. Had breakfast the next morning which was average nothing special and would not pay 10..00 for it. Would never stay in this hotel again unless it was updated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiganerLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well Apart from the lovely exterior and the fact I saw Robbie Williams in concert everything else was awful!! we stayed one night in an executive double well if that was executive i'd hate to see a normal room. Decor from the ration days, a retro TV which you couldn't even watch as the signal was so bad, a door stop in the bathroom that was a rusty nail and if all that wasn't bad enough they also charge £3 for room service delivery. I approached the receptionist and asked if she'd make a mistake but she informed me no i'm very sorry that is the standard of our executive rooms well sorry you should be!! I also complained the day after my stay and have yet to receive a reply so obviously as well as no customer service they aren't interested in customer feedback stay away or you'll be disappointed

Room Tip: there aren't any
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurwoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 night during the Rugby league magic weekend in May and after reading the reviews where a little worried ...no need ..room was dated but huge and clean and very comfortable 4 poster bed ..staff very friendly and engaging ...impressed with the security at the door due to the place being so large and busy is needed ...breakfast was plentiful good choice evening buffet not the best but could use the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel ..bonus all for £77 for 2 nights will use again for next year

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherryandwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and here stayed here on May 30th 2013 for one night. The hotel is very grand from the outside and is 3-4 minutes walk from the city centre.

The decor and upholstery has seen better days but as we only stayed the one night it was adequate.

We got the room through a budget website for £60 B&B so for the two of us we felt that was a great price. The room was basic but had everything we needed: TV, drink making facilities, iron, shower, bath etc. We also paid £10 extra for window / skylight to let some extra light and air into the room as it was a beautiful day.

We had a quiet and peaceful night's sleep and then went down for breakfast in the morning, from which the selection was plentiful.

All in all, a great place to stay if you're on a budget, wanting to stay in the City Centre and not planning to stay the hotel for great lengths of time.

I've knocked two points off though, one being for the decor which definitely needs to be refreshed and secondly for the fact that there was no residents bar after midnight - we were with friends and could buy a drink at the bar but could not sit there and enjoy them, we had to take them to our room.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying £10 extra for the skylight / window as I believe the rooms could get quite st...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z4nder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#73 of 120 in Manchester
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $58 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing