We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stop.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for short stop.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed on the top floor for about £30 for two of us. Everything was clean there, it was very plush looking once inside. Food service and food itself was very good, and all staff we came across were helpful. Can't comment on pool as never seen it. In an excellent location, opposite Piccadilly Square and few minutes walk from train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlineSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    792
    966
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,428
338
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

In desperate need of upgrade. Room very dated, tatty carpet, wallpaper, half double glazing missing. Dull lighting, not enough plugs, ancient tv. Stayed a Friday and Saturday night and the disco on ground floor very noisy throughout hotel. Did not try food at hotel so can't comment on that. Only good thing is location. Would not stay again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed here with my partner, despite some bad feedback on the place it was ok , very clean and was asked at rececion if we wanted an upgrade to room with window as we were only staying one night we didnt bother but the room was well what you pay for , main thing was that it was clean and had a comfy bed with late cheak out at no extra expense. the staff was friendly , the only thing i would say was misleading was that they said the had a night club , we only stayed one night and wanted a late drink but it wasnt open and the bar was bit dead , and the only other thing was that we had to pay 15 pound as there is no carpark .. but suppose they cant help that.. overall i would say it is good for price and v. good location for all the shops and nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked 2 twin non smoke rooms with late rooms. We arrived and they had no record of the booking and told us we had to go to another of their hotels as fully booked. Late Rooms were blamed -I know how the booking works and knew this to be a lie. People were still taking rooms while we waited. The manager's first words were to accuse me of shouting- I hadnt started at that point. They found us 2 rooms but turned out to be 2 single. They then got us 2 twins but turned out to be doubles and finally we got 2 twins but were smoking. In all of this not one apology. All the corridors stunk of smoke. Real shame as one room and the breakfast were not that bad. The other room was above a night club- and we were kept awake. The bar also had a bouncer who physically assaulted a non resident at 10.45pm!! for not leaving when the guy asked him to. All in all an unbelievable take on customer service.

Room Tip: view the room first-check night club-smoke-watch the parking also- we had to pay £19 from 8pm at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockybott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St. Annes
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a huge central hotel with a magnificent chandelier in the lobby. It is converted from a factory and has wide railed landings on each floor with marvellous staircases. It is a very popular hotel, hence the long queue at check in. Rooms vary from windowless (the cheapest) to rooms on two levels (the most expensive). They have a new Indian Restaurant called SPICE which serves excellent and reasonable food. They have also introduced room service for Continental Breakfast which they do not charge to be delivered. It is a good, honest and extremely spacious 3 star hotel which is reflected in the reasonable rates.

Room Tip: They do a excellent Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate but DO NOT expect superb food. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Firsty where will I start. We checked into the Hotel on Friday 22nd February 2013 for 1 night. On arrival at the hotel we were told we could not check in right away to come back later. We had been travelling from Glasgow for 4 1/2 hours so were not happy at all. Evenually we got checked into the hotel and were given room no 329. The hotel room was for 2 adults and 2 children and when we entered the room, there was only one double bed. We foned down to reception and were told they would get 2 extra beds up as soon as possible. The room was really shabby and the windows in the room never opened at all. The worst thing about this hotel my younger daughter ipad2 was stolen from the hotel room and the hotel says they cant take liability for theft on there premises. AVOID WITH ALL COSTS. Staff are not friendly or helpful and really disappointed with my recent visit to this hotel

Room Tip: I wouldnt stay there if you paid me ever if you paid me
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on- Trent
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am writing this review mainly for the hotels restaurant, Jennys in the basement of the hotel.
My friend and I have been to this restaurant every fortnight for the for many months for lunch and occasionally dinner. The food and service is excellent. We are always greeted with a big smile, never have to wait for a table. The lunches are buffet style hot food with an excellent choice of main, with soup to start and finally sweet. Ample food and very good quality for as little as £6.95 per person. The service is excellent and no waiting, and great if one as little time to dine. No booking required.

Dinner in an evening, again excellent choice, fantastic service and friendly pleasant staff with a lovely smile, again a 3 course meal and excellent quality for around £10 per person.
We also recommend christmas lunch served throughout December. The atmosphere is great. We go for lunch with all the trimmings and enjoy lovely music and dance at the same time, mainly for the older persons. Its great.
Next time you are shopping or on buisiness in Manchester and need luch or evening dinner, then we surely recommend this Restaurant on Portland street ajacent to the hotel entrance and belongs to the hotel.

We have also received excellent service in the hotel itself, and staff are always available to help.

Room Tip: Quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing