We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mal Maison Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Velvet Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
REM Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Rembrandt's Annex(Manchester)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Ville Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,335)
Filter reviews
4,335 results
Traveler rating
291
828
1,031
818
1,367
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
828
1,031
818
1,367
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,023 - 3,028 of 4,335 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

To be honest, as it was only a one night stay, we chose the hotel on price after having checked out some reviews. We had a double room on the 4th floor. The hotel has quite an imposing staircase that runs up to the top of the building with associated columns etc. that were prevalent at the turn of the 19/20th century. We were offered, and took, full cooked breakfast for £7 each when we checked in. The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. Similarly, the en suite.
Breakfast was standard fare self service buffet served in a very spacious dining room located below reception. The waiter team ensured the tables were quickly relaid and tea/coffee brought to the table within minutes of being seated. This hotel is good value for money

Room Tip: The reception staff readily agreed to offer another room if we found the room assigned too noisy etc. Our room over looked a side street and may have been quieter
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenw825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel a lot over the last 6 months until their sharp practices finally made me decide I didn't want to give them my hard earned cash.

They agree rates over the phone and don't honor them, on the days that they would honor the rate i noticed the rooms cheaper on booking.com so started booking online instead.

The rooms are hit and miss. The single rooms on the ground floor are actually really nice, with the added benefit of not needing to use the lifts which are appalling. even when i stay on the top floor I use the stairs because it is beyond a joke in the mornings. The rooms on the top floor, I think they call them "turret rooms" are small and can be cold. Some of the other rooms don't have windows and have a "solitary confinement" feel.

There is an excellent indian restaurant on site.

Wifi doesn't work.

Sometimes you can't get mobile coverage.

Staff have a couldn't care less attitude and blame head office for everything.

always seem to have people complaining in reception.

Charge extra if you don't pay by cash even though the bookings are made and total cost confirmed by credit card online. I complained about this several times and actually felt sorry for the duty manager,

Frankly - its one to give a miss.

Room Tip: If you want a single room ask for one on the ground floor, have had several and I was actually really surprised...they were nice......
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAPreston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were looking for something cheap and convenient as a base for attending a 30th birthday in the city. I would have been outraged if I had paid fulk price for this hotel. When we arrived we were given a 'turret' room on the 6thfloor, which sounded romantic, untill realising the lift only went to the 5th! We followed the signs up a small staircase to what was ovbiously the old service staircase and service rooms from when hotel staff used to live onsight. But hoped for a good viewover the city... We looked straight at a brick wall. Our room clearly smelled of stale smoke, the shower leaked, the lights did not work so we had to have all the bedaide lights on, this could have been romantic if i wasnt trying to get ready for a night out. The ketrle did not work, there was no information about check out the next day and the bed linen didnt really fit the bed - though it appeares clean, inlike the area behind the bathroom door ( i think the cleaner must never look behind it). The tv remote did not always work and when i returned late from the party i could hear running water throigh the pipes next to my head. Not noticed during the day but by 1 am it was proving tiresome. The next morning at breakfast thwy did not rwplwnish food frequently enough for the number of guesta and we saw some guesta being told thay the sunday buffet had run out of hash browns and there was a ten mintiewait for bacon and suasages. As a veggie there was a sign sayin vegetarian but it was next to the toast and cereal. Really imaginative. I had what claimed to be coo pops - but I would put miney on them not actually being coco pops and rather a cheap coated imitation. This hotel has soo much potential with just a small investment to be a mix of modern and period features in a central location at an affordavle price, but is more closely related to the £2 drinks all night in the nightclub downstairs. What a shame if the Britannia chain let it fall further into disrepair.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here on valentines night just gone. Surprised her indoors with something glamourous as the Brittania hotels WERE renowned for.
Big mistake.

1. Booked a double, got a twin (yes, valentines night)
2. Car park they advise is nowhere near the closest
3. Bathroom flooded during shower (from underneath bath)
4. Wrong directions given by staff to the Ritz where we going to a gig
5. Beds hard and felt the springs
6. It resembles the hotel in 'The Shining"

Give it two stars purely because its cheap. Would have complained if I hadn't felt so rough th next morning.

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clicelillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here friday 15th of feb for 1 night dinner was terrible but the room location and breakfast was great room very big and warm and clean breakfast was great with plenty of choice staff freindly and pleasant would deffinately stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews