We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad admin/communication - will not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad admin/communication - will not stay again”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having booked the dinner, wine, bed & breakfast deal we went down to the restaurant at the time stated by reception when we checked in to be told we were 30 minutes too early and our name was not on the list. We then had to go back to our room to get our check-in slip and go back down whilst the restaurant manager checked with reception.

We then tried to claim our bottle of wine to be told our voucher needed a stamp on it so we had to go back up to reception, queue and get it stamped then go back down to the restaurant.

We paid £15 for late check-out to be woken first of all by house-keeping who were not aware we had late check-out then received 2 phone calls from reception who had no log of our £15 payment so it was totally pointless paying for this to relax as we were disturbed 3 times.

A complaint was sent to Britannia on 24th April about all of the above to which we received an acknowledgement stating we would receive a written reply within 28 days...I'm still waiting.

I must say the restaurant manager and staff were very helpful and did seem to care but the front of house staff clearly need more training and improvement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    222
    381
    392
    1,144
See reviews for
219
764
135
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athboy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for the Kings of Leon concert earlier in the week, On a good note the hotel is very central, only a short walk to MAN arena and to the train station and was very reasonable to stay in, the bad side was it was dated, funny smell, quite dusty ( my two friends spent the time sneezing with allergies!) I had booked a triple room months ago and when we went to check in we were told there was no triple room available for us and we were told we could stay in a hotel 5 minutes away or a double room and theyd put a bed in it for the 3rd person, no manager was available to us to discuss this matter!!! Could be a decent hotel if effort was made

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here as a 'cheap' option (£70+) for the Robbie Williams concert last week.
Let me start with the good points - good location, tidy, plenty of fresh towels (didnt use them!!!!)
Bad points - dated, funny smell, didnt dare venture in to the shower, no windows, unhelpful staff, bar shuts at 11pm and couldnt get a soft drink anywere else in the hotel.

If you are just after a place to put your head down for the night then its suitable, other than that stay clear. Such a shame with a bit of money and tlc it could be a great hotel as it is in a prime location and it is obvious that it once was grand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lied about the car park, key didn't work in door even after several changes, made us late for a one night out in Manchester.
Executive room was a cheap dirty, faulty double room supposed to be for two single men with separate beds!
Kettle leaked, sink plug would not come out, door broken, staff were so stressed they were at the point of running away.
Breakfast looked as if it had been sitting for several days.

I have slept in some holes but the experience offered by Britannia Hotels actually really dragged down what would have been a brilliant and easy night.

@David_R_Atkins

Room Tip: Look somewhere else, they gave us an under par room, not what we booked yet still charged for the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atto80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed 1 night 22 june, after reading the reviews i was expecting the worst but quiet suprised, check in was really slow 1 person on the desk with a que of around 50 people, stayed in room 428 triple room, bit dated but very clean and tidy no complaints, breakfast was buffet very nice, a saturday night in the centre manchester for £45, nothing to complain about probably would stay there again i guess we had one of the better rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed the night of the 21st June.

It took nearly 45 minutes to check in, the room had no window, no pictures on the wall, the skirting boards were thick with dust.. TV looked like it had 'melted' at the front and didn't work properly.. Chair back was broken. And shower was broken.. All this for a bargain £179 for 1 night...

AVOID!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

fawlty towers springs to mind 2 friends and myself checked in 21st june supposedly into an executive triple room only to discover that there was actually only 2 single beds as we were going to a concert we spoke to reception and they assured us that they would put another bed in the room we arrived back to the hotel 12.30am only to discover that we still had only 2 beds we were then told we could have bedding to sleep on the floor with ( I kid you not) there are too many complaints to list on here 27 in actual fact a copy of which was given to the hotel on departure on the 2nd day they eventually gave us another triple room (superior that's a laugh) we had no working toilet or shower in this room when we complained we were told there were no more rooms available and there was no one on duty that could repair our shower as I say I could go on and on I just want to warn people not to stay in this hotel it was a disgrace the worst I have ever stayed in it totally ruined our weekend

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#70 of 118 in Manchester
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#94 of 118 in Manchester
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#78 of 118 in Manchester
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing