We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST HOTEL EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #99 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Manchester was an amazing city, but not this hotel.
Don't stay here... I'm telling you..

Toilet, lights, a heater didn't work at all.
People working there were not kind, like they were terrible.
Fancy outside, dirty inside.

Hotel Britannia? no "Hotel Does't Work."

Room Tip: Find other hotels... seriously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed for one night after a Champions League game at Old Trafford so expected an inflated price. However what I got for my quite frankly exorbitant £174 beggars belief. The hotel facilities are awful! Rooms are old, worn and poorly equipped. The reception staff appeared unable to cope with the volume of guests and the check in process was tedious. My room, along with many others, was not available at the appointed check in time and the reception area was full of guests waiting for rooms. When I did get a key the room was a huge.disappointment, old furniture worn bedding and curtains and a very poor bathroom. I won't be returning and I recommend you save your money and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: I don't think any good rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nimrodwetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for the united vs real match and we are actually on a day package but decided to book in to a hotel and make our own way home tomo but not now !!! , no joke , we are actually gonna head home (to ireland) after the match because this hotel is a shambles , dirty mixed matched carpets all over the place , room is a discrace !!! , no windows , tv on the floor ! , lampshade torn and the wallpaper is hanging off the walls with mould !!!! , and staff look clueless and totally fed up , girl at reception looks like shes gonna cut someone with that frown !!! And the bar is a comical joke , no proper comfortable seats and the 3 beers ? No wine / soft drinks ??, needs a couple of million to be put into it or a GM that gives a ! ... How the hell could u hav a wedding here cause theres an advertisement for it ! :o

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thegafferireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Filthy, smelly, booking-in a shambles. It's all been said before, but I feel moved to write having read various reviews from people who have had an OK time there. I'm very pleased for you, but please don't insult all the visitors who have posted honest reviews regarding this embarrassing blot on Manchester. Clearly, there may be some clean room with functioning facilities. But just because you didn't have stained walls, dirty sheets and a useless, dangerous shower, it doesn't mean those of us who did are imagining it. Yes, I only paid £29 for my room. But that doesn't excuse the state of the rooms, stink in the corridors, or inability to provide the actual room booked. I can cope with "basic". But not this horror.
I'm a bit late with this review as I have returned to their website, because I am still waiting for my VAT receipt, which they failed to issue at the time due to the collapse of their admin computer. (Handwritten ones are acceptable, but they refused to do this, even though they are legally obliged to supply one. )

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Circumnavigator1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Horrible place that should be removed from hotel provider websites. Whole place smells of cannibas. Rooms had no windows and faulty air con so no sleep. Breakfast was shockingly poor and cold. Staff were surly and unhelpful. One even promised to send engineer to fix air con after first night but of course didnt. Waiter spilt a drink over my friends expensive never before worn dress. He said sorry and then walked away. The location surely is the only thing saving this place from being closed down. Wouldnt put a dog in it and im no animal lover.Avoid, avoid, avoid. Ruined a great weekend with friends

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cantonasbigbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I always try to give honest reveiws that will help other travellers, below are my personal opinions based on what I found and saw, I stayed there 2/3/13 to 3/3/13 overnight.

What can you say about this hotel? Location, excellent. Ideal for a short stay in central Manchester, if your not fussy were you stay, but that’s as good as it gets.

I must have chosen the wrong day to arrive. It appeared that half of japan’s teenagers were trying to book in. First impressions, tired in need of complete refurbishment. Only one lift working, one of the cleaners told me it had been out of order for months. 5th Floor, water leaking through a light fitting in the public area (adjacent to room 506) Duty Manager was aware but said little he could do over a weekend. These corridors looked like the house keepers hadn’t hovered for weeks, old posters and rubbish stuffed down the back of the locked back fire doors.
Fire/Smoke detectors missing on corridors, yet again adjacent to room 506 area. Loud noisy lift, you could hear it coming 5 minutes before it arrived.

My Room, what can you say, a windowless box with a roof window.. I like Britannia as they still offer smoking rooms, but to offer a windowless room as a smoking room is madness. First impressions of room, tired in need of refurbishment. Carpet dirty, broken bulb, (actually smashed in bed side light fitting) TV hadn’t seen a duster in weeks.
Bathroom, well where do I start with this. Sink/basin - water took an age to drain away, NO plug (the plug was in pieces on the side), Toilet woe – be –tide anyone who had a week bladder. It didn’t flush correctly, you need to use it first, flush, then use the paper (you get the drift) the bath/shower, well the shower piddled out so slow you would fall asleep using it . Bath, was old and marked, soap tray filthy, bath panel hanging off, 2 lights missing, one had old bulb in, other empty just fitting. Only one small roll of loo paper.

Bathroom tired and grubby. Couldn’t fault the bed linen, it was clean and smelt fresh. Room, heating air con system noisy, intermittent smelt of burning dust.
I telephoned reception about a couple of items, told they would get housekeeping to sort it, no one ever appeared.

Spoke to duty Manager Andrew about water coming out of light fitting, and filthy corridors, his response “You just can get the staff” and laughed in a none bothered manor, felt he had heard this thousands of times before and really didn’t give a dam.

Would I stay there again, NO NOT ON YOUR LIFE, The other Manchester Britannia’s are much better, but as a hotel group Britannia has suffered through lack of investment, and its time they sorted there act out. There are plenty of other hotels of similar price in Manchester that are better and have the right idea. This hotel appeared to have a policy of ignore the guest and hope for the best.

Glad I was only there for the one night, ok its very well placed and could be a good hotel, with money spent on it, and it appeared very busy. Didn’t sample the bar or restaurant so cant comment on there standards but over all I wouldn’t score this hotel more than a 2 and that would be for location.

Having read other reviews I would say its time the senior management of Britannia Hotels had a good look at there stock and practices. No wonder the company went bankrupt a few years ago.

Shame as they have some of the best located hotels in the country, in fabulous buildings but they are shabby, and not chic.

Room Tip: Look carefully, ignore the hotel provided pictures, and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lancs1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

the worst hotel ,no english staff dirty rooms just a bad 2 nights stay ,moved rooms as first one had no window glass in , second room was ok but still poor in decor and home comforts ,this hotel is very tired and is long over do a make over of its rooms , also found the hallways to the rooms ned a good hover as where dusty and strewn with litter ,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#92 of 120 in Manchester
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 120 in Manchester
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#70 of 120 in Manchester
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $44 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing