We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #97 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will never be back”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Horrible place that should be removed from hotel provider websites. Whole place smells of cannibas. Rooms had no windows and faulty air con so no sleep. Breakfast was shockingly poor and cold. Staff were surly and unhelpful. One even promised to send engineer to fix air con after first night but of course didnt. Waiter spilt a drink over my friends expensive never before worn dress. He said sorry and then walked away. The location surely is the only thing saving this place from being closed down. Wouldnt put a dog in it and im no animal lover.Avoid, avoid, avoid. Ruined a great weekend with friends

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cantonasbigbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    218
    380
    392
    1,138
See reviews for
216
758
133
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Betws Garmon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I always try to give honest reveiws that will help other travellers, below are my personal opinions based on what I found and saw, I stayed there 2/3/13 to 3/3/13 overnight.

What can you say about this hotel? Location, excellent. Ideal for a short stay in central Manchester, if your not fussy were you stay, but that’s as good as it gets.

I must have chosen the wrong day to arrive. It appeared that half of japan’s teenagers were trying to book in. First impressions, tired in need of complete refurbishment. Only one lift working, one of the cleaners told me it had been out of order for months. 5th Floor, water leaking through a light fitting in the public area (adjacent to room 506) Duty Manager was aware but said little he could do over a weekend. These corridors looked like the house keepers hadn’t hovered for weeks, old posters and rubbish stuffed down the back of the locked back fire doors.
Fire/Smoke detectors missing on corridors, yet again adjacent to room 506 area. Loud noisy lift, you could hear it coming 5 minutes before it arrived.

My Room, what can you say, a windowless box with a roof window.. I like Britannia as they still offer smoking rooms, but to offer a windowless room as a smoking room is madness. First impressions of room, tired in need of refurbishment. Carpet dirty, broken bulb, (actually smashed in bed side light fitting) TV hadn’t seen a duster in weeks.
Bathroom, well where do I start with this. Sink/basin - water took an age to drain away, NO plug (the plug was in pieces on the side), Toilet woe – be –tide anyone who had a week bladder. It didn’t flush correctly, you need to use it first, flush, then use the paper (you get the drift) the bath/shower, well the shower piddled out so slow you would fall asleep using it . Bath, was old and marked, soap tray filthy, bath panel hanging off, 2 lights missing, one had old bulb in, other empty just fitting. Only one small roll of loo paper.

Bathroom tired and grubby. Couldn’t fault the bed linen, it was clean and smelt fresh. Room, heating air con system noisy, intermittent smelt of burning dust.
I telephoned reception about a couple of items, told they would get housekeeping to sort it, no one ever appeared.

Spoke to duty Manager Andrew about water coming out of light fitting, and filthy corridors, his response “You just can get the staff” and laughed in a none bothered manor, felt he had heard this thousands of times before and really didn’t give a dam.

Would I stay there again, NO NOT ON YOUR LIFE, The other Manchester Britannia’s are much better, but as a hotel group Britannia has suffered through lack of investment, and its time they sorted there act out. There are plenty of other hotels of similar price in Manchester that are better and have the right idea. This hotel appeared to have a policy of ignore the guest and hope for the best.

Glad I was only there for the one night, ok its very well placed and could be a good hotel, with money spent on it, and it appeared very busy. Didn’t sample the bar or restaurant so cant comment on there standards but over all I wouldn’t score this hotel more than a 2 and that would be for location.

Having read other reviews I would say its time the senior management of Britannia Hotels had a good look at there stock and practices. No wonder the company went bankrupt a few years ago.

Shame as they have some of the best located hotels in the country, in fabulous buildings but they are shabby, and not chic.

Room Tip: Look carefully, ignore the hotel provided pictures, and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lancs1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Fakenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

the worst hotel ,no english staff dirty rooms just a bad 2 nights stay ,moved rooms as first one had no window glass in , second room was ok but still poor in decor and home comforts ,this hotel is very tired and is long over do a make over of its rooms , also found the hallways to the rooms ned a good hover as where dusty and strewn with litter ,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in. Evening meal was terrible. It was cold and tasteless. The staff had the nerve to ask me if everything was ok. I felt like saying to her why don't you taste the food yourself and see what rubbish you are putting out. The waiter kept taking our plate's too quickly. Rooms are disgusting. Very outdated. The only good thing about this hotel is its location. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterBubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed one night on a business trip. After turning down the first three rooms we were offered, due to the appalling standards (curtains hanging off, peeling wallpaper, broken heater, dust, marked walls, bathroom panels coming off, creepy crawlies in bathroom...) we finally accepted the fourth room, only because we were too exhausted to carry on to room number five! Decorators were touching up paintwork in communal areas (slapping paint over shabby walls with no preparation). The restaurant manager made an effort to serve us well at dinner- maybe he'd been warned about us! We were the only diners. We will never stay at this hotel again, even if it means loss of earnings for us!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiraz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

my partner and myself stopped for 2 nights and read reviews on trip advisor just and to say the least i was worried.getting to the entrance my thoughts were the same however if was fine think people have been over critical lets face it its not a 5* hotel . anyway room was functional but just what we hoped it would be but and it was clean which is the main thing. we only paid £55 per night for bed, breakfast and evening meal with wine per night food was sufficient and we would return to this hotel again

Room Tip: i would def pay the bit extra for a room with a window nxt time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I almost cancelled my stay at sachas hotel after reading the reviews on here,But I am so glad that I did'nt.Yes I will agree with some others comments that the windows needed a good clean and in places the decor did look abit tired but thats it.The staff were very helpful and friendly.Our room which was a non smoking and dog friendly room was very clean and well presented, the bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room for the dogs to have a play.The breakfast was well stocked each day and there was alot of variety to chose from.We did eat in the restaurant one evening but decided that the food was not to our taste.The spindles area looked very nice but we didnt get time to use it.I will return to Sachas hotel when I next visit Manchester again as my husband and myself were very please with our accommodation

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 117 in Manchester
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#90 of 117 in Manchester
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#86 of 117 in Manchester
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing