We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #99 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed in room 260, complimentary red wine and 2 glasses on arrival nice touch, kettle didnt work on arrival replaced it imediately , room was very soacious think it was a suite, with lounge area, room was clean but was very dated, however for the price paid i cant grumble. Room may have been dated but was by know means dirty ignore the other reviews, staff were freindly and helpful. breakfast was ok breaded mushrooms and roast potatoes for brekkie, no jams or other preserves no pastries of any description, coffee like tar , Very good location and quite a funky buliding, the best location for centre of manchester, overal ok for the money and you get what you pay for!!!!! Yes the rooms are dated but they are not dirty!!!!! Some people want the ritz for the price of a loaf of bread get real people!

Room Tip: rooms seemed to be different standard, i was more than happy being given a suite ,, was bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 2,281 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed with friends and family for a 1 night break. Booked a family room which was ok but just put up beds. Lighting in the room was inadequate and dark. The bathroom was not the best and grubby in places. The shower was best described as intermittent either freezing or scolding during the same shower. Food was a bit of a free for all with little organisation, very little room to sit though a large area was cordoned off and not used at all. The food itself was not to bad at all. We did intend using the pool but after a quick look decided against it, very small and not very appealing. Decor is not the best throughout the hotel. I have stopped at many of the old Britannia hotels and know what to expect but do feel that this is not one of the best.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haydenc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Booking a cheap room was a gamble - and one that didnt pay off. The check in set the tone for the visit with what seemed to be untrained and uninterested staff. The room smelt of smoke, had writing on the wall and was screaming out for a refit or a clean. The lifts were painful and the whole hotel had a rather worrying aroma. The bedding seemed clean but the bed seemed smaller than a double. It was £45 - so feel a little troubled writing this review - but next time I will skip the saving and enjoy my stay more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d19gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed in room 479. Economy double at £29. I arrived at 6.20pm running late for a concert and my room wasn't ready. The staff then charged me £2 to use my credit card which I never noticed on booking.com when I reserved the room. Staff were rude and unfriendly. The lift was a death trap. I had no window in my room. It was clean and tidy enough but I agree the room and corridors smelt of something 'strange' but definitely of cigarettes. Received no sleep at all due to noisy guests talking all night in nearby rooms, banging doors, TV's on full blast and music playing. Shower was in controllable; either scalding or ice cold. Spot light above shower was open with cables on display. You get what you pay for but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisOwen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the "hotel" for 2 nights and it was a experience i will never forget.

After reading the reviews online on the train up i was expecting the worst, i was not disappointed!

Our room was similar to a prison cell, except in prison you get a window and working showers, ours had neither! We had a 2' skylight with some lovely stains round it, and the shower was pathetic, we had to use a cup as a makeshift washing device.

How on earth this place got 3* i will never know!

The supposed stair well which doubled as the fire escape was full of old beds, mirrors and bags of rubbish.

We were staying there as part of a stag party so we didn't spend much time in the rooms. I feel really sorry for couples or families who arrive expecting a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdamP678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed in room 556 was very damp smelling wallpaper coming off walls and also stained with water marks, carpet very badly stained could not use shower as mixer tap did not work. Did not get beds made or towels changed. Were told that dinner would be at 6.45 arrived to find no food available and when they did bring it everything was cold and vegetables raw, coffee cold. In moring could not eat breakfast it was also cold. Would not visit this hotel again if it was free

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

first time i stayed at this hotel and thought the bad reviews would put me off staying at this hotel. usually stay at the other britannia hotel on portland street but the sachas hotel experience was better then i thought

the room was clean and comfortable and my bathroom was new but the water didnt run faster enough to have a decent shower but the bath was so comfortable and relaxing

the fire alarm went off in the early hours in the morning for a few seconds but at least we didnt have to go outside

the staff were very friendly and helpful and the night security staff were good to check your name and room number before letting you in the hotel past 11pm. i thought that was good making sure that no one else enters the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossuk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#92 of 120 in Manchester
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 120 in Manchester
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#70 of 120 in Manchester
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $44 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing