We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two different weeks, 2 completely different rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #46 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks whilst training. Week one room was poor, week 2 much better. Staff friendly (especially breakfast team). Free wifi was good but tv was freeview and very limited. Not bad but nothing to rush back for. Functional.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLENX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Macdonald townhouse hotel Sunday - Tuesday (mid November) & it has been fantastic. The overall look was very cosy & inviting & the reception staff are friendly & helpful.

It is a 20 min walk from Shudehill bus station or a 5/10 min taxi ride (depending on traffic). On arrival we were greeted & issued key cards straight away - nice & quick. We did not order any breakfast or room service, nor did we drink from the bar. This was nothing to do with the hotel, we just found other places to eat close by.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Arndale Shopping Centre & many bars/restaurants, the MEN arena (now phones4u arena) is also pretty close by.

We had just a standard room (515) but it was lovely. Big comfy bed, tv, hairdryer, iron & board, iPod Dock, seating area & spacious bathroom. Felt right at home & good value for money.

We had no issue with noise - what are you going to expect staying in central Manchester? Some road noise has to be expected. The room was a little cold at times with it being November, however there are heated rails in the bathroom & it gets warm right through. Plus we had warm pjs...

Had a fantastic few days & when we return to Manchester we will be sure to check in at the Macdonald townhouse again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayleighmulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I think this hotel is perfect to visit Manchester for business or pleasure. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is very close to Piccadilly, China Town and two of the most important universities in Manchester. The only thing I miss is better coffee included in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmen2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I would happily have given this hotel a 4 star rating but for one major problem - our bedroom was absolutely unbearably cold and the heating system would only blow out cold air. We reported the problem on the way out to dinner and were told it would be looked at before out return. It clearly wasn't - the room was just as cold as before and there was no note to suggest that anyone had even been to look. By then it was too late to do anything further as it was almost 1am and too late to await an engineer. The temperature was so low that we had to sleep with clothes on! It is a shame because the hotel would have been excellent value for money apart from this major problem. It is well located and the room was good. There is some traffic noise, but on a Monday night it wasn't too intrusive and it's the price you pay for a very central location.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper the upper floors or the rear of the building will be quieter. Lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked two nights in September.
We booked a Suite.
Very nice.
Lounge enormous bathroom and bedroom.
Excellent value.
Must be the best quality room in the city for the price.
Hotel itself is ok.
We found it a little quiet.
Breakfast very good.
Staff ok.
Only complaint really was room service which was non existent which you wouldn't expect.
But on the whole a good trip.

Room Tip: Get a Suite they are very good. Not sure the stay would have been as good otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very smart place in ideal, central location for exploring Manchester.
Menu for dinner is very short but VERY good. The food on both nights was excellent. The breakfasts are also excellent. As is the service.
The room was the right size for us and had a bath AND a walk in shower.
The staff are friendly and helpful - in an appropriate manner.
When we return to Manchester [which we will do next year] we will stay here again. It has a really nice vibe.

Room Tip: no comment Our room on 2nd floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fattmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Manchester. Can't fault the location at all.

Yes, it can be a bit noisy outside but you're in the middle of Manchester on a busy road, so what do you expect? I stayed in room 105 (on the first floor) and the noise is really not that bad. The windows are double glazed which reduces outside noise by quite a bit.

The bed is excellent and I had a great sleep. Bathroom was okay - a few little marks on the floor but that's always going to happen to black tiles. There wasn't much space for a bath and I think a shower unit would have been more space efficient.

I didn't deal with the staff much as I was out and about most of the time, but they were pleasant and efficient on check in and check out. I'd stay here again as it's a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#39 of 120 in Manchester
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $87 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing