We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Manchester”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited Macdonald townhouse for one night to go to a gig at Manchester Academy.

The hotel is clean, well decorated with spacious rooms! The bed was really comfortable and having a bath AND a shower cubicle was good as you never see this anymore. The service we received when checking in was great, the man on reception was very friendly and chatty!

I read on here that the hotel can get a bit noisy at night so i requested to be on a top floor away from the main road which they did for us. People have moaned about noise levels but what do you expect when you are staying in a city centre!!! Seems ridiculous that people are moaning about shouting and taxi's beeping etc! If you don't want noise then stay in the country!

If you turn to the right on the main road the arndale centre and shopping area is about 10 mintues up the road and oxford train station is about 5 minutes away.

The only one small moan I will have was the shower wasn't great as the water kept going on and off.

I would definitely stay here again!! Room 503 was great and spacious and away from all the hustle and bustle as your on the top floor!

Room Tip: Room 503 was good! On the top floor and on the corner so away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaimboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    563
    272
    115
    52
See reviews for
116
811
61
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have recently returned from a one night stay at this hotel and was not disappointed. Its in a great location ... about a 5 min walk from the station and 5 min walk from the Arndale so you are just on the outskirts of the hustle and bustle.

Room was lovely and clean and although the room was set as a double when I requested a twin the housekeeping team were very efficient and changed this within a matter of minutes.

We had a drink in the main bar/restaurant in the evening and it was really relaxing with a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was freshly prepared and served to the table and was great.

If returning to Manchester in the future I would choose to stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor which I would assume would be quieter than on other levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodertalje, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I staid for à weekend and had à really nice stay. We had an executive room with both shower (waterfall) and a bathtub, lovely. The bed was wonderful, one of the best I have slept in at a hotell. The breakfast is below average, almost everything was finished and they were very slow to fill up. The hotel is well located, about 10 minutes walk from shopping. Close to chinatown. We had dinner at the hotel and we had to wait very long for the food, but they served us a free starter which was good. I do recommened this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kajo189868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and it was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the accommodation was comfy, modern, clean and spacious - even in a standard double. It's in a really central location and the bar is brilliant. We'll definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked this for our 2nd Wedding anniversary, and got the executive room for £100 for the night. Short walk from the station, fantastic welcome by the reception staff - they even brought us a couple of glasses of Champagne to the room. Short walk to the main shopping areas and bars in the evening. We will definitely stay here again. Never noticed the noise others have mentioned, but that may be because we were partying more than sleeping!

If you do stay I recommend the Richmond Tea Rooms for breakfast,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was clean and room lovely. The bathroom was roomy and there was good tea and coffee facilities but it was incredibly noisy due to being on a crossroads! the buses running through the night really caused the most noise but taxi's beeping at 4am didn't help!!!
Breakfast was nice but it felt that the waitress didn't want to be there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on road front??
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on business which coincided with the Conservative Party Conference. I knew that I would have to pay over the odds as the city was busy and at full capacity. I trekked lots of luggage from the nearest open air NCP.... up the stairs to reception (no help offered even though reception staff quite clearly observed this). Checked in to room 216. The room was very small and strangely had an opaque, 'greyed' out sash window. Therefore no view and zero natural light. I decided on dinner in the hotel bar- the seared tuna nicoise was excellent. Back to the room for an early night as I'd got a busy day planned. It soon went down hill- with a bang! Literally. The noise from the club opposite/ behind the hotel from 11pm onwards was awful- particularly bad from 2.30 - 4am !! Shouting, vile language and general disturbance. I had just dropped off when at 6am the bottle bins were emptied. On checkout I was asked how my stay was. I explained my disappointment and asked for an explanation. The receptionist explained that they were aware of this problem with this room. Really?! Why charge almost £200 for a room only/ no gym/ no breakfast/ no parking for a room with ridiculous noise issues! And admit it! I was insulted that basically I'd been ripped off. Even a Premier Inn would offer a money back guarantee for a shocking nights sleep! Not acceptable. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing