We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #49 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location. Chinatown is just across the road. We had a really nice Thai meal. The whole of central Manchester is walking distance from the hotel. Staff were friendly and service was good. Breakfast was very expensive, so ate elsewhere, there are lots of options.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johndeirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Johndeirdre1,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Friendly staff and good service are a good result.

Perhaps, on a future visit to us or any Macdonald Hotel, you may treat yourself to breakfast and experience a real treat. Free range eggs and outdoor reared pork are two hallmarks of a very conscientious and responsible food programme within our hotel group. We find that many find it to be worth the price and we hope that you may as well.

Please come see us again soon and let the team look after you again.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,353 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and have always found this hotel to be well appointed with spacious rooms and a good layout.
It is on the corner of Portland and Princess street so just a 5 minute walk to the town centre and city hall, the Gay district and canal are around the back of the hotel and China town is opposite.
The hotel has a ground floor bar, lobby and restaurant, all of which are very nice.
The breakfast was very good if a bit expensive at £ 17.50.
The noise from the road is a problem (The rooms have secondary double glazing but its not very effective and the night life goes on till 3 in the morning outside, so if you want a bit of peace at night request a quieter room around the back of the hotel.
Parking is easy at a Q-park across from the hotel and the hotel will issue you with a 30% off voucher to use on your departure.
The staff on all three times I have stayed here were very helpful and all had a smile and a greeting.
Overall a very good hotel in Manchester and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear dewickm,

Thank you for giving such great feedback.

The fact that you have returned to us time and time again is a testament to the team. I appreciate that you choose to do so.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Please ask for me on your return as I would like to say thank you directly and I would welcome any other comments which you may have.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staying in Manchester on business we wanted to stay in a good quality hotel but away from the large chain operations. The Macdonald Town House is a converted cloth warehouse and turned into a very well appointed 85 room small hotel. The decor is fresh and modern and our spacious executive room was very comfortable and with all essentials provided. So why the lower than perfect marks? This is down to detail and care. Our shower door leaked so the floor mat was soaking post-shower, the breakfast was chaotic, understaffed and though the staff were willing, simply couldn't cope. Our breakfast eggs were overcooked/hard and the buffet needed topping up. Nothing major and all experienced in other hotels around the world from time to time - but in a 'boutique' quite expensive hotel (more then the Raddison Edwardian in Manchester on the night we stayed) a distraction from what should have been a better experience. That said we were offered a discount upon mentioning the issues but again it isn't about money so much as over promising and under delivering.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank DerrickJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear DerrickJS,

Thank you for your comments.

I do apologise for any shortfalls in service which you may have experienced. My colleague with whom you spoke was grateful for your time in expressing your concerns to him directly. Your points were taken on board with thanks and actioned accordingly to ensure that we maintain the high standards for which we are well known.

Perhaps, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and demonstrate our commitment to service and you will become a fan of our special hotel like so many of our regular guests.

I welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly should you wish to do so. Any further comments you may have could prove valuable as we continually work to maintain the high standards that we mutually expect.

Kind regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

An excellent city centre hotel I have stayed in a few times now.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and even on the lower floors there is very little traffic noise, and free (and fast) wifi is always a welcome extra.
The service and staff are excellent, upon arrival the computer system was having issues, but check in was as smooth as possible and no delays.

Food and drink is superb - only criticism, as with far too many "business" hotels is that breakfast doesn't start until 7 - but there is room service.

Not the cheapest, but there is a difference in quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonJ68_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear SimonJ68_UK,

Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to stay with us. We take the return of a guest as the greatest of compliments. It is affirmation that we are getting it right.

Please let us know of your next visit and feel free to contact me directly. We can always look at the timing of your morning and get you something a bit earlier. We want you to start your day properly and we certainly don't want anyone to go hungry.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one night on business. The location is very good and the hotel itself gives a good impression. It is smart but friendly. The room was spacious and modern, the bed was comfortable, but the main downside is that the glazing is old, which means that there is a lot of noise from the busy road outside. The sound of passing traffic was very noticeable and disturbed my sleep. Breakfast was very good - a good buffet selection plus decent cooked. Not a bad stay by any means, but ruined a little by the noise.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank rajec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear rajec,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and praise. A good impression in a friendly place will hope to see you return soon.

I am pleased to hear that you had a nice visit. As a listed building we were quite fortunate to install secondary glazing to dampen the sounds of the city. I take your feedback on board and I do apologise if you were disturbed.

Kind regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Macdonald Townhouse is a really nice hotel located in the heart of Manchester right next door to Chinatown, if you want a hotel based in the city centre then you won’t go far wrong staying here. The service was excellent, the reception staff couldn’t do enough for us and the whole hotel really does have an atmosphere that nothing is too much trouble.

We had included breakfast in our booking which consisted of a full continental buffet and a large selection of cooked items on the menu, it is quite expensive but again the service and quality was outstanding.

There is one problem with the hotel which is the street noise, I appreciate it is in the centre of the city but the noise from the surrounding streets was horrendous. We stayed in room 315 which is on the back of the hotel overlooking a narrow lane, we assumed that because we were not on the main road it would be a bit quieter but we were wrong. The problem lies with the old wooden single glazed windows which give no protection from the noise, luckily we were only staying for the weekend but I really wouldn’t want to stay there for the week.

If you are considering staying there then ensure you reserve a room on one of the top floors as they may give some protection against the noise, failing that be sure to take earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azertyuiop_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear azertyuiop_9,

Thank you for all of your wonderful feedback. It is a delight to know that our guests appreciate the effort of the team and their desire to provide the best of environments for our guests.

I do apologise if your were disturbed by external noise. It is always a shame that any experience is marred by something over which we have no direct control. As a listed building we are quite fortunate to have secondary glazing installed to dampen the sounds of the city.

Please let us know on your return and we will be sure to provide you a room in a different part of the hotel if that helps your experience.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were in town for a concert at the Etihad Stadium, so only stayed one night. The hotel is an easy walk from Piccadilly train station and very central in town. Only a five minute walk to Piccadilly Gardens for bus and tram service (tram goes direct to the stadium).

From the moment we walked through the door of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, outstanding service. The ground floor is a spacious bar/cafe area, reception was friendly, cool cucumber water available, a quick check in and an information sheet about transport to the concert.

Our room on the first floor was spacious and clean, with a king bed and nice linens. Curtains make the room dark enough to sleep during the day. The TV had satellite channels but the signal was a bit fuzzy so the picture jumps a bit. There was a safe in the room but no mini-fridge. Chairs and table are convenient, spacious wardrobe (with a light inside!) and an iron and board in the cupboard as well as spare pillows. The bathroom was clean and spacious, good size bath, separate shower cubicle, good water pressure, nice soaps and shower gels and large towels.

Being on the corner of Portland Street and Princes Street and on the first floor, there was some street noise as the clubs kicked out but Sunday morning was quiet and good for a sleep in.

We had a relaxing time after the concert, only basic sandwiches available after 11pm, no hot food, but was enough to keep hunger at bay. Good security at the door at night.

Breakfast was excellent, great service again, soy milk available on request, vegetarian options for cooked breakfast, the usual suspects for cereal and fruit at the buffet as well as different fruit juices and pastries, bread and cheeses.

Very much enjoyed our stay and would happily visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors may have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear NomadicKiwi,

Thank you for all of your kind comments. The team can take great pride in knowing that they have delivered an experience that will hopefully lead to the greatest of compliments from you; a return visit.

I apologise if you experienced any challenges with the televisions reception. A recent area channel realignment has led us to install a new booster which has solved the problem. It is through valued feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to work to continually improve ourselves. Thank you.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 121 in Manchester
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#27 of 121 in Manchester
1,861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $91 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing