We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delightful hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

i have stayed in this hotel quite a number of times now as I am often in Manchester on business.
The hotel is one of the best I have stayed in on business, the rooms are comfortable and there are several little things like the delicious shortbread, the bottle of water in the room, fresh milk on request and the Arran Aromatic toiletries in the superior rooms that make the stay extra special
The breakfasts deserve a special mention, it is so lovely now to have your breakfast served to you rather htan to have to fetch everything yourself.
The selection is good and the food is very good, though I restrict my self to having a cooked breakfast on Fridays ONLY.
Staff also merit a particular mention as they are great, friendly, helpful and altogether delightful.
Only downside is there is traffic noise and this tends to go on all night as on a busy street, however I have invested in a good pair of earplugs and hear nothing once they are in.
I always stay here if I can and would recommend it highly.ssTAssTAFF aONLYtfRIDAYS ON HE t his dat E g
oHAVE STAYED IN THU

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheenathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    566
    272
    116
    52
See reviews for
118
815
62
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

i have stayed twice at this hotel now and both times have been a treat. The hotel is in a great location and is stylish and well kept. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. But it is the exceptional service that stands out for me with this hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful in every way. As a lone diner they were very attentive and went out of their way to make me a meal that was not on the menu to assist with my special diet. I was not expecting this and was very grateful for their understanding and the care and attention they showed. I will always stay in this hotel now when i go to manchester. Simply fabulous!

Room Tip: higher floors are better simply due to the central location the lower ones can have a bit of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to Manchester for a short break and we booked into the Macdonald Townhouse - it was an inspired choice. The room was high quality, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were really friendly. Locared close to City Centre Shopping & Entertainment and within a few minutes walk of Chinatown and Canal Street - we'll definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo_In_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed her quite a few times with work and always find the hotel rooms warm and comfortable. The front desk staff are very friendly. There is the odd occasion when you have to wait 5-10 minutes for a table at breakfast, but the breakfast makes up for it as it is always lovely. I personally haven't eaten an evening meal in the restaurant, but friends have and the service is extremely slow, 2 hours and they only had 1 course.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Manchester for a friends birthday celebrations, we decided to stay at the Townhouse as we saw that it was ideally situated right next to the bars and restaurants of canal street (The location is excellent in many other ways too by the way: it's right next to chorlton street bus station, 5 minute walk to the main shopping areas, 10 minute walk from Piccadilly train station, 10 minute walk to the palace theatre and in easy reach of Trafford centre too by public transport - the x50 express bus service - Top tip by the way, if you're driving to manchester use the Q park on Portland street. Hotel has a deal with them and will validate your ticket on check out so that you get a 30% discount on the price). We were warmly greeted at the door, with an offer of help with bags, before receiving one of friendliest welcomings ever from the hotel receptionist; not only was she efficient and enthusiastic but she also had lots of helpful tips and advice on where to go, what was happening and where that evening. The room was enormous, huge comfy bed, massive windows, high ceilings with lots of nice little touches, such as an iPod docking station and complimentary wifi. The hotel itself is a fusion of Georgian splendour meets contemporary design. Although small, what is lacks in amenities ( no gym, swimming pool etc) it more than makes up for in personality, service and friendliness. All the staff were genuine, engaged and helpful from the porter, to the receptionist through to the waiters at breakfast and the bar staff (who were happy to make up cocktails away from the menu). Best breakfast ever! its served for one thing rather than the usual scrum and as a result it's all freshly prepared;also obvious that all the ingredients are carefully sourced too. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudds-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room (501) was large and the bed comfortable. Room was clean even if the shower has some issue with water (cut every 2 minutes).
The issue is the noise from outside. That is a problem in this room with no double window. Bar is very welcome and staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyoipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Townhouse on business on a Sunday night as I had a 7am meeting in our Manchester offices.
The hotel is in a great location, easily walkable from Piccadilly Station. Check in was easy and friendly, and my room on the 4th floor was great - good sized, comfortable and a fabulous bathroom.
I dined in the restaurant that night after a wander round Manchester and the food was very good; lovely seared salmon starter which I had with the Chablis and beautiful lamb dish for main with Rioja Crianza. Good food, good wine and attentive service.

As I had an early morning start I asked for an early breakfast when in the restaurant. The waiter and I completed the card and I paid the additional charge. The breakfast didn't arrive and as I was in a hurry I left without breakfast. The Hotel did apologise both at the time and by email.

However, I'm sure this was just an error as I'm usually very pleased with MacDonald Hotels and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing