We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service for Afternoon Tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #46 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my friends had afternoon Tea here on the 2 for 1 offer today .

Lovely hotel and reception area.Wasn't acknowledge by anyone at Reception .Had to find our own way to the restaurant .Waited a few mins to be seated and seen .Had to walk in towards the bar to been seen after waiting for a few mins The restaurant was empty at this time and had cups and plates from pervious customers left lying around a few of the tables.

Service is really bad at this Hotel.The guy who serve us was very snappy and didn't even smiled once.If he didn't had to explain what was on the afternoon tea stand .I doubt he would of spoken to us at all.There was no hello or bye.Nobody once came to us and ask is everything ok .When we paid the bill nobody came for it and we just got and left without being acknowledge again .

The afternoon tea was lovely but with service like that and wasn't expected from a a 4 star hotel we won't be returning again and would not recommend to
Family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marie110578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
There are newer reviews for Townhouse Hotel Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to this hotel on recommendation having previously stayed at Jury's Inn. I was a little disappointed but maybe that was because my expectations were high. The hotel advertised free wifi but this did not work on the first night and was patchy on the second. One of my colleagues had to be moved late at night because of the noise from water pipes in the room. For these two reasons I would avoid getting a meal on the fifth (top) floor

The bed was very comfortable and the furniture was of a high quality and well maintained. The hotel was very centrally located being on the edge of Chinatown and only 5 minutes walk from both Piccadilly station and the main shopping centre. Breakfast was good quality but the hot breaksfast was cooked to order. On a business trip a buffet would have been much better from the point of view of variety, quantity and speed of service. Staff were unfailingly polite though not always able to provide solutions to problems. I hope these comments are constructive as with a little more attention to detail this hotel would be an excellent one.

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth (top) floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LambethNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The room, reception staff and general ambiance were all great. The room was somewhat noisy throughout the night but this is to be expected given the location. We waited a long time for our cooked breakfasts ( over 45 minutes) and received no apology or explanation. When we requested fresh tea and toast, they did not appear. We had to ask a second time. By the time they finally arrived, we were finished out cooked breakfasts. There did appear to be a shortage of staff but the lack of apology or even acknowledgement of the delays was somewhat baffling. A disappointing aspect of an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Well worth spending a little extra at this hotel for the high quality standard & impeccable service. Very relaxed, contemporary hotel that provides first-class service throughout. Restaurant was good value for very high standard of British menu. Bar prices are high but it's waiter service is second to none.
Request a "quiet room" if traffic noise disturbs you as you are in the heart of the city or city view if preferred.
Sunday deals with lunch. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumpybumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent location, very reasonable price, for this quality. Nothing fake, nothing overdone, just good service, nice atmosphere, great room, great breakfast (not cheap at 12pounds, but truly great quality).
Room a bit cold in February, had an optional space heater guests could use.
Other than that, true quality for a reasonable price. Its clear they try hard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doxider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday in February, as me and my wife were seeing the Lion King at the Palace, which is only round the corner.
Arrived at the hotel and had to pull up on the main road at the front to unload the bags. Hotel staff immediately came out to help me with the bags and directed me to the parking, in the Q Park, over the road. When i got back we were already signed in and the bags in the room and coats hung up.
The front desk asked if they could make any dinner reservations for us and to ask if we required anything.
I booked a suite, and as a previous reviewer said, booked it through a discount site for £150 with breakfast.
The room was huge. A lounge, bathroom bigger than most city centre hotel rooms, and a large bedroom with a very comfy bed. 2 flat screen tv's, hair dryer, nespresso coffee maker. and all the usual hotel amenities.
Bedroom was set back in the hotel, so there was no noise from the street.
The suites also can be linked to an adjoining bedroom if you require even more room for a family etc, or just a group of friends to share the lounge.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Cold menu and cereal was from a buffet, but the hot food was freshly cooked from a menu to order.
All in all a beautiful hotel, excellent rooms and staff, and perfect location.

Room Tip: Definitely book through a discount hotel site. I have rated value a 5 for this reason.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

we stayed here in april 2012 , got there and was really happy with the surroundings beautiful entrance and was offered any assistance if we needed anything. we got the executive room which was lovely. massive bed, twin sinks massive shower,bath complimentary water and big screen tv. we asked the desk to get us a taxi which they did and the food in the restaurant was lovely a bit pricey but nice treat if you want to relax in the hotel. we enjoyed our stay it is central the hotel and didn't take much more then 15 mins to walk to town centre. the Chinese across the road on the corner is a must for a visit the sizzling meals were very tasty.

Room Tip: get the executive room on offer websites got our for less then £100
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 120 in Manchester
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#47 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $96 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing