We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #43 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night!
I arrived with a big heavy suit case straight away as I walked through the door was excellent service a lovely chap by the door asked to help carry my suit case :)
I went up to my room
Was an ok room not special at all really old fashioned how ever a massive comfy bed and tv up close cheered me up
I accidentally dropped a glass on the floor and someone was up straight away to tidy up the mess for me :) thank you
Then my partner came later on and the desk rang my room before they let him upstairs, I find that very good care as other hotels I've been to just let him wonder up
The bar was ok not much atmosphere the cocktail I ordered was not on the menu and they had no problems making me it
All round good day/night

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SigourneyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    543
    264
    111
    51
See reviews for
111
788
58
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night and was really pleased. It is well placed for the village and Chinatown. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and they have a large bathroom including a nice bath.

We were on the fourth floor and didn't notice any noise from outside so slept well.

My only complaint was that there was one employee who had really bad BO and it lingered everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have stayed here twice recently and have been more than happy over all.

It is a good location in a busy city, so as has been pointed out you do get some noise from the street outside - but what do you expect?

Perhaps the windows could be upgraded but it's my only peeve.....

Hotel is clean and well presented - both rooms were comfortable and the staff are very good - attentive, polite and friendly.

Breakfast is nice - choice of continental and cerials laid out buffet style and a cooked selection made to order - indeed when I asked for just scrambled eggs on toast, to be honest, they brought me too much (a rarity in this day and age!).

Room Tip: Probably higher floors and not the corner if you are really that bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location for the village and Chinatown. The rooms are clean and modern with a large bathroom complete with a bath and rain shower and mirrors everywhere! Requested the 4th floor and had no issues with noise other than the odd inconsiderate guest returning in the early hours, would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner and I spent a wonderful wkend at this luxurious hotel recently. It is well located in the city centre for all amenities-especially the shops and bars! Even though the hotel has no on site parking we were given a discount in a secure attended car park less than 5mins walk away. The room was fantastic-very clean, modern & well equipped. What made it extra special was the quality of the food, (we were informed the Chefs name was Damien) the friendliness & attention to detail of all the staff-especially Glenn & Michael. Will definately be returning to this Hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on Princess St are quieter as Portland St is a very busy Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northyorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel by accident, we thought we had booked the other Macdonald hotel, but when we arrived there we were told by a rather snooty reception man that we had made an error and shown the door!! Anyway, finally arrived at the right one and were immediately disappointed, the bar is just behind the reception and the noise was really offputting, it was very busy with what seemed to be Christmas parties. We asked if there was anywhere else to have a drink and were shown to a small bland room just off reception and told we could have drinks brought in there. Never mind there was a whole town outside the door.

The room we were allocated was quite small on the 5th floor but it was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. There was no internet connection however as the hotel advertise, although we asked at least 4 times, nothing was done. The towles were smelly and I had to ask the housekeeper for clean ones.
We decided to pay for breakfast, what a disappointment! The staff were lax and really slow, and could not have cared less about the customer service. There seemed to be no order to anything. The food was just ok, definately not worth paying for. Would not go back and would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleysixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here twice now, first time in 2011, then returned November 2012. On both visits was upgraded to a larger side room providing spacious quiet accommodation. Only stayed room only basis so cannot comment on breakfast, etc. Located on Portland St. so easy access to all amenities but note that area can be noisy hence the benefit of a Princess St. room. Reception service could improve as on both occasions had quite a wait to get checked in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing