We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #49 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the first time and i fell in love with it. the location is perfect its in the center there is china town across from it , McDonald is at the corner and station is 7 mins away.


the staff are friendly and are prompt at responding to your request, sleep is amazing , the view from the hotels window is just amazing if you love the city.

There is nothing i can say that this hotel short fell in !

thanks for the nice stay

Room Tip: avoid 5th floor rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRS_SOLIMAN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,429 - 1,435 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the 22nd December for one night. We were very impressed with the size of our room. The bed was extremely comfy and the bathroom was huge and very modern. We had an i pod dock in the room which was useful. The staff were very friendly at all times. The breakfast was excellent abd certainly helped us with our hangovers the next day. Overall a very enjoyable experience which I would definately recommend.

Room Tip: As above we stayed in an Executive double which was excellent, very quiet (third floor room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalky003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited for our wedding anniversary for two nights in a cold and crisp December.

We stayed in classic room which was available from 10.30am on the Friday morning when we were greeted by Harvey on reception. He was warm welcoming and said all the right things. He even noted it was our wedding anniversary on the Sunday and arranged for a card to be sent to the room and had a banner put up saying 'Happy Anniversary'. How thoughtful was that. Well done that man.

Location is very central just on the edge of the Chinese quarter. It is fairly noisy at night but my advice would be to book a high floor. We were on the 4th and this was just high enough for it not to be too bad. The room was okay, not sensational. We have stayed at the new Windsor Macdonald Hotel and that one is of a much higher standard presumably as it is a new build whereas this is more of a converted old hotel, I think. Little things we noticed was that the wardrobe was unbelievably not wide enough to take a coat hanger so you had to put your clothes in at an angle! Also I am 6 feet 3 and I couldn't fit underneath the shower without stooping!

In terms of service at breakfast was somewhat slow but they were prepared to tailor the order you wanted without a fuss.

Other nice touches were mini mince pies and hot chocolate in the reception area and a cream tea with a variety of teas you could choose from served in a fancy teapot.

Finally be warned with the car park. You are given a car park ticket from the hotel to get a 30% discount at the Q car park when you come to leave. This ticket is supposedly put in the ticket machine first before you put in your ticket however despite trying three of the, ours didn't work! We were ten faced with having to track down the car park attendant who is driving around Manchester in a van. We waited 35 minutes and then had a man challenging every thing we told him. In the end he had to speak to a man in Holland for assistance ..incredible!

If I had to choose one hotel out of Windsor or Manchester it would probably be Windsor.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LordKixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here once before and had a poor stay due to noise. This time completely different experience. The staff were great, breakfast was one of the best anywhere. The only issue with the hotel is noise from outside. This time we were in a room higher up and has no problems at all. Would definitely stay again but request higher floor.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is surprisingly nice and manages some intimacy for a corporate hotel. I was not impressed with the windows being painted shut however in an unbearably stuffy but otherwise lovely room. The food was of a surprisingly high standard but I object strongly to £11 for a TINY main meal portion of a greek salad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here on business. The hotel is excellent value for money with big, comfortable rooms, easily controllable air conditioning and friendly staff. There are nice touches like fresh milk available on request. And it was very quiet for such a central location.

We ate in the restaurant and whilst the food was good the service was unbelievably slow. There were only three tables eating so there was really no excuse for it to take three hours! there was an apology but only after we commented on how long the main course took - and it didn't speed up the puddings either.

I'd stay here again but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think it depends on the price you're paying with this hotel. If you're paying sub £100 for a night, then it's a very good option. Above that and it's just OK. The hotel is situated on the edge of Gay Village and surrounded by restaurants and fish/chip shops. A good location in Manchester and central to pretty much everywhere. The entrance is convoluted and messy, surely it would be better to send people through the v quiet bar area to check in?

The rooms are Ok. Quite modern, but a fairly obvious upgrade on the previous hotel. They've left in radiators whilst the heating is now via an Air Con unit, I can only presume the cost of removing the radiators was too high. The lighting is way too subdued and the bathroom was a wee tired. It was a very small bedroom, but just about suffice.

Other than that the stay was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,879 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 121 in Manchester
1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#41 of 121 in Manchester
1,692 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $95 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing