We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #48 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here on business. The hotel is excellent value for money with big, comfortable rooms, easily controllable air conditioning and friendly staff. There are nice touches like fresh milk available on request. And it was very quiet for such a central location.

We ate in the restaurant and whilst the food was good the service was unbelievably slow. There were only three tables eating so there was really no excuse for it to take three hours! there was an apology but only after we commented on how long the main course took - and it didn't speed up the puddings either.

I'd stay here again but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think it depends on the price you're paying with this hotel. If you're paying sub £100 for a night, then it's a very good option. Above that and it's just OK. The hotel is situated on the edge of Gay Village and surrounded by restaurants and fish/chip shops. A good location in Manchester and central to pretty much everywhere. The entrance is convoluted and messy, surely it would be better to send people through the v quiet bar area to check in?

The rooms are Ok. Quite modern, but a fairly obvious upgrade on the previous hotel. They've left in radiators whilst the heating is now via an Air Con unit, I can only presume the cost of removing the radiators was too high. The lighting is way too subdued and the bathroom was a wee tired. It was a very small bedroom, but just about suffice.

Other than that the stay was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Central location, nice decor in room, good temperature - but hardly slept a wink as it was so noisy. I had a room on the 4th floor on the side street - it wasn't just the noise from outside, but adjoining rooms and gurgling pipes at 3am.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice hotel. Spacious room. Very comfortable large beds. proximity to Train station and eating places. Walking distance from most public locations, including cash points. Staff are polite and very helpful. Will definitely go back again

Room Tip: Rooms on Fifth floor are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice hotel well placed in the city centre, check in was bright and cheerfull, reduced rate parking around the corner £13.50 for 24hrs. Room was spaciouse with a very comfortable bed, room was well appointed but it had a very cold bathroom (old stone building). Good breakfast next morning and overall very good for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrion-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is comfortable and stylish but its greatest asset has to be the reception staff. Very friendly and professional. Obviously very well trained. Would stay again. Didn't eat there so can't comment on restaurant.

Room Tip: The higher floors are probably quieter and have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Quite centrally located 10mins from oxford road, the christmas market or the Arndale centre this nice little hotel is very well located. Its modern decor welcomed us in from the cold manchester streets and the friendly staff got us up to our room without any real hassle. (The stairs to get to the lobby from the front door were unwelcome and could cause difficulty for access but in spite of this the first impression was one of it being worth paying a bit extra for). Its a shame then that after rushing out as soon as we arrived we didn't notice the problems with the otherwise well decorated room. When we got back in later on we ralised that the Shower leaked from the ceiling through holes in the paintwork when turned on and there were Spindles on the tap missing even the spinning chair was unstable this then spoiled an otherwise well designed room. I can't say there was much else wrong with our stay but it was a shame that these things weren't spotted and fixed earlier on. The staff seemed concerned at this and Im sure it will be fixed for future guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,716 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#25 of 120 in Manchester
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $90 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing