We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star best hotel I've stayed in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #48 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 24, 2012

All I can say is this is an excellent hotel. Staff were exceptionally friendly. Room was simply immaculate. Wine excellent. Food decadent. Central location. Attention to detail fab. I don't give 5 star reviews often but this was the best weekend in Manchester that I have ever had and the hotel was amazing xxx

Room Tip: Stay here well worth it xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalmak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ticks all the boxes at the start. Lovely looking Victorian building close to the centre. Friendly welcome when you check in. Smart room, albeit decorated in typically predictable corporate style.

But then things fall away. A slow trickle of annoyance followed by a spectacular collapse.

The road outside is noisy all night, but that probably doesn't disturb as much as the air conditioning (which you need as the room was very warm).

However, that's nothing compared to the hopeless bar staff. Painfully slow, even when the bar is empty. A Northern Irish barman seemed overwhelmed when I ordered two drinks.

And that was nothing compared to the experience at breakfast. There is an ample number of staff working but there is no proper control over what happens. People have to wait to be seated despite plenty of empty tables. The food is good, with things cooked to order, but it's hit and miss whether anybody will take your order. There is a friendly Northern Irish girl who does do a good job. But say a silent prayer if the Northern Irish guy serves you.

A four night stay of increasing frustration. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed for one night dinner,bed and breakfast in a double double family room.Hotel was great and staff really friendly and professional .we stayed with our 10 year old daughter who loved the room and was treated like a little lady by the great staff in the restaurant.Food was superb and room was spotless with super comfy beds.We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning next time we are in Manchester.A real gem.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are best as city centre can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellymarsh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights while visiting Manchester for a concert. Checkin was swift and we were allocated room 412, an executive double, despite only expecting a classic standard so it was a nice surprise. Room was large and very tastefully decorated, with large lcd tv, ipod dock and the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in. Bathroom was beautiful with Arran Aromatics toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was very good and was top quality produce though i have to say i wouldnt have paid £17.50 if it had not been in the rate of our room. The staff in this hotel are very pleasant and helpful, giving us the best advise on how to get to our venue and arranging our taxi. One wee minor problem, on the morning of checkout our toilet made some noise, turns out was blocked and some waste had come back up but as we were checking out early was'nt too much of an issue, infact as we were leaving the chap on reception was on to the maintenance team to get it sorted. All in all this is a lovely hotel, made special by very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good location. Pleasant on arrival and comfortable room with good amenities. Was all very nice for a 1 night weekend stay. Then a car crash experience at breakfast soured whole visit. No problem having to wait 10 minutes for table as hotel obviously busy. That said, once seated and despite there appearing to be an abundance of staff the service sort of fell apart. Ordered breakfast and then pretty much left to own devices. Eggs Benedict (a "special" with a £2.50 supplement!!) must have become a personal challenge in the kitchen as we waited and waited and waited. Asked three times if breakfast ordered was on way....first time after 30 minutes wait and was told will check with kitchen but no response or food forthcoming. Second time after 40 minutes....again, no sign of Eggs Benedict and no response having asked.....just ignored. Third time after 50 minutes from sitting down having seen numerous tables around us who arrived later tucking in to their Full English choice!! Close to walking out but was hungry!! Eventually...after 55 minutes dish appeared with an apology for delay. Had to rush to catch train. In circumstances this was handled poorly and was unacceptable. Had been asked once on arrival re tea or coffee....no offer of refills despite obvious delays to our order. Got no offer of toast etc although seemed to appearing on every other table. As stated, soured what was otherwise an enjoyable stay and just think boutique hotels of this type have to match their image with quality service and despite lots of positive feedback on other reviews have to say it was amateurish bearing in mind rate being paid. We are frequent travellers not asking for the world and not prone to make complaints but feel in this instance they struggled to handle a basic part of their offer. It unfortunately makes me wary when looking at McDonald locations in future. PS - I refused to pay the £2.50 supplement and noted they didnt offer to not charge.....its the principal isnt it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redrab1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had a fantastic stay in the Macdonald TownhouseHotel  in Manchester. From attentive staff at the check-in to the stylish modern and clean rooms - everything was comfortable and hassle free. And the bar man even created a bit of an atmosphere rather than just handing out drinks.  I also loved the inner city location, made me come and go several times a day without having to plan out my day.  All of this lead to me having a rather pleasantly packed weekend.
I will stay again when back  in Manchester,
Anthony Brayshaw

Room Tip: Next time I want to be on one of the higher floors for a better view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here while visiting relatives and had THE best stay. The location is very central for shopping, the theatre and many restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant but unfortunately I could not eat here as my relatives had arranged somewhere else but the menu looked amazing! I did have a drink in the stylish and modern bar and was very impressed with the service. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed this stay and I will be back! I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $88 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing