We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Nearby Hotels
$148
$134
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$111
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$142
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$146
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,814)
Filter reviews
1,814 results
Traveler rating
701
619
299
132
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
619
299
132
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelportland streetcentral locationstreet noisenespresso machineq parkbusy roadcooked breakfastcomfy bedgay villagesaturday nightexecutive roomlovely roomwould stay againbreakfast was excellentafternoon teareception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,578 - 1,583 of 1,814 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The rooms are nice, the food is good and the reception staff were helpful. We stayed in a suite and although the layout was a little odd the room was a generous size and the Krups coffee machine was a great touch.

The service in the restaurant was of a poor standard for both dinner and breakfast.

At dinner the one waiter (bearing in mind there were only three tables in) on service was more conscerned with carrying our drinks on a tray, the five yards to the table, than the fact it took 25 minutes to get four fresh drinks to our table. He also ordered one of the main meals incorrectly and didn't spot it until the food was ready to be brought out. This meant the rest of the food was held back which resulted in dry and overcooked steak. Although it was still quite good. Dirty plates were left on our table for well over half an hour. He disapeared for long periods at a time and the other tables had to go looking for him just to get their bill. Far to much concetration on the things that were not important and getting the basics wrong.

Breakfast was very busy I admit but service was again slow and not enough staff on duty to cope.

It's a shame because apart from the restaurant service the hotel was good and I would probably have gone back if not for this.

Room Tip: Only saw the suite room 411 and superior room 412. Both of a very good stadard and finish.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Pros:
The hotel is just of China Town and very near to local shops and the trendy Deans gate.
Rooms are spacious and clean, look very plush, supplied the standard tea/coffee and shower gel etc
Restaurant is nice, menu was varied, all food presented very well and delivered swiftly
In particular look out for a chap call Daniel, very helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. He also added his own he sense of humour that was refreshing.
Cons:
Not many but best you know, my room was near the road and although they have made every effort to dampen the sound with extra glazing etc, it was noticeable when your lying down.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATALYST9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have avoided MacDonald hotels for several years as they had become dire. I may have to revisit that opinion. This is a very nice, excellent value, hotel and very convenient for the centre of Manchester. I stayed here many years ago and i think it was then called The Princess. I was only there for one night and the weather was foul (you are astonished I know) so I had dinner there with my daughter who was on her way past. We both had a very nice meal served by exceptionally amiable staff. There were too few people on duty and there were some delays in the service but they handled it superbly and avoided the irritation i would normally have felt. There is one minor criticism and that is that the lights in the bathroom are ridiculously dim (you would be better off with a candle) and as I wet shave it was difficult. I overheard two other gentlemen mentioning it at breakfast the next morning so it is obviously not just me. Other than that a good value hotel in central Manchester with good enough food, very pleasant staff and an excellent fresh cooked breakfast. I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not believe it makes any difference.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

my husband and i stayed last weekend, we would definately stay there again and would recommend to anyone too, the staff are very polite and helpful, the rooms were clean, comfortable and modern and the food was incredible. very pleased with our stay!!

Room Tip: choose a room high up, at weekends it can get a bit noisey with people leaving the centre
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtumble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The townhouse is a big chain's take on a design hotel. It ticks a lot of the boxes; converted building with high ceilings, neutral pallet with accent colours; flat screen tvs; funky bathroon lighting but somehow it doesn't quiet come off. The whole idea of the design hotel with quirky touches and individual ideas gets blunted by the coporate process.

Having said that the town house is a very good hotel. Prices are reasonable, free wifi is very useful, location on the edge of china town is excellent; staff friendly and helpful. For a business stay it ticks all the boxes, but if I wanted to treat someone to something special I would look for soemthing more individual.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishman_abr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews