We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Business Trip in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Room was very good. Clean and spacious. Bathroom OK, but no soap or Shower Gel.
On the first morning had to wait 35 minutes for Englsih Breakfast. Everyone that came to the Dining room received theirs´first. Even offered to go in the kitchen and cook it myself !
Generally, I had the feeling that the Hotel is understaffed. Even calling reception from my room I waited 10 minutes without a reply. I assume the ONE girl on the desk was tending to check-ins and outs.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back. Colleagues changed rooms because of noise late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,515 - 1,521 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Arrived at the hotel less than a 10 minute wander from the train station, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist (Rebecca - who seemed to be on duty 24/7 and always had a smile on her face).

Positives of the hotel:
Central location, found it really easily not sure what all the other reviewers were on about. Obviously can't read a map!
Friendly receptionist.
Room was large and spacious, with a four piece bathroom suite. Our room was on the 5th floor we heard a little of the traffic below but it is the price you pay for central locations.

Negatives:
We ate in the resturant on our first evening, food wasn't the best not sure if that was due to it being a Sunday night.
Breakfast on our first two days was very good (although my husband did moan that he only got half a slice of black pudding). On our final day breakfast was terrible, toast that wasn't toasted (so technically bread!), bacon and mushrooms burnt, sausages pink in the middle and poached eggs so poached they were hard boiled egg. To disguise the burn pepper was put all over dish - somepeople don't like pepper. I waited about 5 minute to speak to somebody about my breakfast but nobodyw was around so I left the breakfast un-eaten. Additionally every morning I had to check at least three bowls before pouring cereal in, bad dishwashing!

Would I go back - if I got a really good rate for the central location, would I pay £17.50 for breakfast NO!

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppyontour_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel was so nice, there was some building work being done to the exterior of the hotel so we were automatically upgraded to a better suite and given a free breakfast.

The suit was lovely very relaxing, huge bath and separate huge shower, lovely robes and slippers provided so you could totally chill out after a day/night out.

The staff were informative, thoughtful and friendly. I loved it, am looking to stay with MacDonald hotels elsewhere now.

Manchester was great, as usual and is becoming one of my favorite places to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have triple glazing so noise really wasn't an issue, you are in the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliapplepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very friendly and compentent staff. No effort was too much. Hotel has a great location and was a lot less nousy as I frist thought it would be. Restaurant is very good also. Free internet and a very decent price. I woud go back any time.

Two minus points: - room was rather small and had painted over windows.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumdari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very stylish and comfortable city centre hotel. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. I think it's recently been refurbished and it shows - everything is very new and of a high standard. Beds were very comfy and had a great night's sleep; despite being in the city centre it was very quiet in the room.
Breakfast was very good, and the restaurant/bar area again very stylish and cool.
Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

All round lovely hotel with great staff. Nothing was to much trouble. Spacious, clean rooms with lovely bathrobes.
Didnt eat in the hotel but it looked really busy. Had a few drinks in the bar in the evening, very comfortable with big comfy sofas and a great atmosphere.
Would definatly recommened and will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed one night, we parked at Q , then walked up and down Portland street looking for the hotel It was only by chance we found it. (the princess hotel) The staff are helpful and friendly.
We stayed one night, the room was very clean and smart but very small, I woke in the night a few times the room felt airless and closed in. I will use this Hotel again but if its for more than one night I would have to have a bigger room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doll00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $85 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing