We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Bradford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I recently stayed In the Macdonald Townhouse and I was very impressed! The rooms were lovely and very comfortable.The staff were very helpful. The only con was that our room key wouldnt work which meant we got lcoked out for a while then they let us in but we had to sit and wait 45mins for someone to come sort it for us which meant we couldnt head our for a while.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    566
    272
    116
    52
See reviews for
118
815
62
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A nice hotel, which has benefited from a major refurbishment.

The good points:-
- Lovely modern bar, great for a drink
- Nicely furnished rooms, with large bathrooms and a huge walk-in power shower
- Excellent staff - we were greeted by Anthony, the duty receptionist, who obviously cares about his job and made an extra effort to sort out a minor problem with the room (the light didn't work)

The bad points:-
- The barman on duty in the afternoon was new - I had to show him how to pour a pint, and then he wasn't allowed to use the till so we had to wait a long time for someone to come who was authorised to take our money
- we stayed on 10 December, and when we got back to the hotel later in the evening and wanted a drink in the bar, we couldn't get in - it was completely packed with works Christmas parties and all areas in the bar had been reserved for this. However, I did complain, and a table was made available for us
- The sign on the hotel is for the Princess Hotel, we spent ages walking up and down Portland Street looking for the Townhouse. We were informed by staff that they have had difficulty changing the sign because of Manchester's Planning Department. If this is the case, this should be pointed out in the directions to the hotel
- The light in our room wasn't working on arrival, we reported that the bulb had blown, and staff were quick to get on to this......except when we got back to our room late that evening, they had removed the blown bulb, but not put the new one in....so it still didn't work! and it was very dark.

All in all, the hotel is good, but there are still some niggling issues which need to be sorted- especially at £110 per night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for visiting the city centre, 10 minutes to the Arndale and 3 minutes to the bars on Canal Street. Reception staff were helpful and attentive and the hotel is exceptionally clean. It has a modern and delightful bar area, but drinks are expensive. You can get subsidised parking on the closeby Q Park car park which costs approx £11 for 24-hours. There are plenty great places to eat within walking distance, we chose Villaggio on Canal Street where we had a fantastic meal. Our hotel room felt luxurious, beautifully decorated with modern furnishings. The bed was huge and the room was very spacious. The bathroom had an oversized bath tub and a seperate monsoon style shower. My only complaint would be that the lighting in the bathroom was a little dark, due to the mood lighting. Lovely for a relaxing bathe but not so good for applying your makeup. We had a room overlooking the main road but we couldn't hear any traffic noise and the hotel was also very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland,UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I visit Manchester regularly as my Partner is a Manu Supporter and have tried many different hotels ranging from the Radisson Edwardian to the Britannia.

Decided to stay for 2 days over the New year period. The hotel is well situated and the staff are pleasant enough but the rooms themselves are average.

The room we had was small and very dimly lit, trying to put make-up on was a nightmare god knows what I went out looking like!!

Although the rooms are modern I can't understand why they would skimp on lighting. By the second day and with a hangover from the previous days festivities we could not wait to get out of the room as it was so oppressive.

Its fine for a one night stay but if your looking for longer I would choose somewhere else. Oh and the taps turn funny - not that it matters

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunderland_UKLainey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my partner for new year. The location is great with parking 2mins away in the Q Park Piazza car park. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the arndale centre but there is plenty going on where the hotel is situated. If you want a nice meal try Ashoka just round the corner. The bar is expensive and the rooms are expensive too, but you do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having read the reviews I was a bit apprehensive but no need! The hotel has had a complete refurbishment and was great. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful and even down to the fact that because our room was not ready at 2pm they gave us a complimentary drink at the bar while we waited (only about 15 minutes) Breakfast was great as well. Will be staying again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here on a really good deal, we got upgraded to a excutive room, great location near Piccadilly , we ate in the hotel bistro the 101 Brasserie and it was great value food. The welcome was great from a really friendly guy. We can not fault the hotel, staff or location. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing