We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just avoid at all costs, plenty better places to stay and park your car!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just avoid at all costs, plenty better places to stay and park your car!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Just awful, we had booked a night before and a night after our 2 week holiday, including the car parking option.
This hotel needs a really good clean, everywhere smelt of very stale smoke and lots of things are broken, windows, window locks, lamp shades, light-bulbs, etc, etc.
Food was terrible, very greasy and salty. The reception desk was just useless and staff were hopeless.
The car was parked on a grass bank for the 2 weeks. I was surprise and relieved to see it on my return.

On the airport coach transfer back to the hotel we were told by the driver that our rooms had been reallocated and we needed to stay in the Britannia Airport hotel. Just to be clear we had booked the 2 rooms in March and had guaranteed allocation status. The Airport hotel was a bit better hotel but it didn't have our car outside which just added to the hassle. Unfortunately the Country House hotel hadn't even bothers to pick-up the phone and tell the Airport hotel that we were being sent to them. After a long flight the last thing you need is to start filling out hotel booking forms, no hint of an apology from either hotel.

I checked on trip advisor the day before our holiday so my expectation were set quite low. I just regret not changing hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDoylesDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    636
    492
    355
    681
See reviews for
513
954
101
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here on Saturday 3rd July - 2 weddings and family gathering on so nowhere to park car - asked staff and told us to park anywhere on grounds - after bout half n hour got a space on a grassy area away from hotel - spoke to staff and assured car would be okay there. Returned Sunday 18th July and guess what car broken into along with a few others. Kids very upset by it all, glass everywhere. Thanks to couple who came back on same Egypt flight as us who stayed on and looked after girls until we got car hoovered and police came. Staff not interested, phoned to speak to duty manager on several occasions who would not return my call. Got letter apologising for the inconvenience caused and they were always looking to review their security - get a grip. Hotel will not accept liability. Paid for parking and not given the space to park our car. Eventually got home at 5 in morning when we should of been home by 2am. One of the other couples had to travel to Inverness with black plastic as a window and they were not even meant ot park there but the other Britannia Hotel car park was full so they were told to park their car here- it was not a pleasant experience and I certainly will never use Britannia Hotels again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We arrived to find it impossible to find a car parking space. We drove round and round and the only place left to park was on the grassed area right near the gate. There were cars there that looked like they had been broken into (black plactic over the window) and this didn't exactly fill me with confidence. We parked in the only bit of space left on the grass and headed to reception. I explained to the staff on the desk that there was nowhere to park and he told me to leave it anywhere there was space. He didn't speak very good english and seemed totally disinterested. We went to the room which was ok - never slept as the mattresses had big lumps in them. We got up early and my husband trailed the carpark again looking for a more suitable place to park but to no avail. We had to go away for two weeks with the worry of leaving our car in a place i considered to be insecure. On our return our car was ok thank god but definately wouldn't use this hotel again or recommend it to our friends

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Icemaiden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before travelling and expected the worst but once booked in (as we were in a coach party it took some time as only one terminal open, hence the lower score on "service") we were pleasantly surprised, the staff were very friendly, the room very good, we requested twin beds and got two double very clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff were excellent and the food very good. For a 3 star hotel all was hunky dory!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maznmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here as part of a coach trip so my expectations weren't that high, however this hotel came nowhere near hitting those low expectations! Some of our group were put in the main hotel on the higher levels and their rooms were fine; spacious and clean. The rest of us were put in the lower levels at the back of the hotel, which were shabby, smelly, small, dirty and desperate for a refurbishment. The bathroom had no towel rail, you had to straddle the toilet to use the wash hand basin, the tiles were hanging off the wall. The bed was fine but the linen had holes in. The wardrobe had no door on it. The curtains had brown stains on them. One of our group asked to be moved and she was, but to another equally shabby room. The hotel was very busy with two weddings and various coach trips, which is how they make their money clearly, however the staff couldn't cope with the work this generated. The bar in the restaurant was full of dirty glasses on the counter and the two young lads serving were too busy to clean them, yet the restaurant was only half full. We witnessed the most APPALLING argument between the restaurant supervisor and a customer who choose to sit in an area designated for other hotel guests. The supervisor ending up screaming in this guy's face that he will sit where he is told to sit, he ended up taking the customer's dinner from him and moving the group to another table. The food was ok but the smell when you first walk in the restaurant was reminiscent of school dinners, as was the presentation. I skipped breakfast so couldn't comment on that but the reviews from our group were mixed. The only positive about this hotel was the guy in the late bar was very friendly and helpful. I was glad to check out the next morning. Some other people's comments about The Hotel Inspector and How Clean is Your House are not without foundation!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our family room was a double and bunk beds, ok but bunk beds were not safe they moved from side to side, I was not willing to let my 3 yr old sleep under our 15 yr old!! They do not have maintenance staff available? Receptionist very good and gave us an extra room free of charge.
Breakfast was good but the utensils and plates provided for self service were RED hot, we were not able to have coffee with breakfast as they run out of cups and were told they were being washed. 15 mins later we gave up and asked reception for more coffee and milk to take to our room!! Overall stay at this hotel was ok but more attention to detail would make this hotel the place to stay!!
Parking is horrendous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltonBirthdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We were flying from Manchester Airport and booked a 1 night stay for 2 adults and 3 kids - with 2 weeks parking.
The car park is very busy with what looks like cars abandoned everywhere and anywhere. We were lucky enough to find a space just across from the entrance.

The reception area was quite impressive, but busy. There was a small queue when we arrived and only 1 person working at it. For some reason it took 20 minutes to check-in the 3 lots of guests that were in the queue before us! Our check-in was quick but a large queue had formed behind us because of the wait...and then a coach party arrived. At this point another member of staff arrived at recepiton, however this was solely to check-in the coach party, which annoyed the people in the queue behind us.
We were given a key card for our executive family room on the first floor. The decor in the upsairs hallway was a bit tired but not too bad. Our room had nice decor, was very clean with fresh smelling bedding. However, there was only a double bed and 2 large sized single beds, which were pushed together. We decided not to complain about this as we were only staying for 1 night. The boys slept across the beds and there was plenty of room. The window which was quite small, looked out onto the hotel roof. Although the beds were comfortable - it was difficult to sleep because the heat in the room was almost unbearable. The room would have benefitted fom air-condiioning or even a fan.

We decided not to use the hotels airport bus service as we had heard that it stops off at a few other hotels en-route to the airport, and we were worried that we would be late for our check-in. We booked a private taxi the night before which arrived promptly - but beware - it cost us £15 plus a tip, for the short journey to the airport!

On our return, the car park was really empty! Our car was as we left it.

We would definately use the hotel again for the same purpose.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslee1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 116 in Manchester
759 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#80 of 116 in Manchester
56 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing