We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not leave your car here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not leave your car here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We arrived to find it impossible to find a car parking space. We drove round and round and the only place left to park was on the grassed area right near the gate. There were cars there that looked like they had been broken into (black plactic over the window) and this didn't exactly fill me with confidence. We parked in the only bit of space left on the grass and headed to reception. I explained to the staff on the desk that there was nowhere to park and he told me to leave it anywhere there was space. He didn't speak very good english and seemed totally disinterested. We went to the room which was ok - never slept as the mattresses had big lumps in them. We got up early and my husband trailed the carpark again looking for a more suitable place to park but to no avail. We had to go away for two weeks with the worry of leaving our car in a place i considered to be insecure. On our return our car was ok thank god but definately wouldn't use this hotel again or recommend it to our friends

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Icemaiden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    638
    492
    355
    681
See reviews for
513
956
101
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before travelling and expected the worst but once booked in (as we were in a coach party it took some time as only one terminal open, hence the lower score on "service") we were pleasantly surprised, the staff were very friendly, the room very good, we requested twin beds and got two double very clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff were excellent and the food very good. For a 3 star hotel all was hunky dory!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maznmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here as part of a coach trip so my expectations weren't that high, however this hotel came nowhere near hitting those low expectations! Some of our group were put in the main hotel on the higher levels and their rooms were fine; spacious and clean. The rest of us were put in the lower levels at the back of the hotel, which were shabby, smelly, small, dirty and desperate for a refurbishment. The bathroom had no towel rail, you had to straddle the toilet to use the wash hand basin, the tiles were hanging off the wall. The bed was fine but the linen had holes in. The wardrobe had no door on it. The curtains had brown stains on them. One of our group asked to be moved and she was, but to another equally shabby room. The hotel was very busy with two weddings and various coach trips, which is how they make their money clearly, however the staff couldn't cope with the work this generated. The bar in the restaurant was full of dirty glasses on the counter and the two young lads serving were too busy to clean them, yet the restaurant was only half full. We witnessed the most APPALLING argument between the restaurant supervisor and a customer who choose to sit in an area designated for other hotel guests. The supervisor ending up screaming in this guy's face that he will sit where he is told to sit, he ended up taking the customer's dinner from him and moving the group to another table. The food was ok but the smell when you first walk in the restaurant was reminiscent of school dinners, as was the presentation. I skipped breakfast so couldn't comment on that but the reviews from our group were mixed. The only positive about this hotel was the guy in the late bar was very friendly and helpful. I was glad to check out the next morning. Some other people's comments about The Hotel Inspector and How Clean is Your House are not without foundation!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our family room was a double and bunk beds, ok but bunk beds were not safe they moved from side to side, I was not willing to let my 3 yr old sleep under our 15 yr old!! They do not have maintenance staff available? Receptionist very good and gave us an extra room free of charge.
Breakfast was good but the utensils and plates provided for self service were RED hot, we were not able to have coffee with breakfast as they run out of cups and were told they were being washed. 15 mins later we gave up and asked reception for more coffee and milk to take to our room!! Overall stay at this hotel was ok but more attention to detail would make this hotel the place to stay!!
Parking is horrendous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltonBirthdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We were flying from Manchester Airport and booked a 1 night stay for 2 adults and 3 kids - with 2 weeks parking.
The car park is very busy with what looks like cars abandoned everywhere and anywhere. We were lucky enough to find a space just across from the entrance.

The reception area was quite impressive, but busy. There was a small queue when we arrived and only 1 person working at it. For some reason it took 20 minutes to check-in the 3 lots of guests that were in the queue before us! Our check-in was quick but a large queue had formed behind us because of the wait...and then a coach party arrived. At this point another member of staff arrived at recepiton, however this was solely to check-in the coach party, which annoyed the people in the queue behind us.
We were given a key card for our executive family room on the first floor. The decor in the upsairs hallway was a bit tired but not too bad. Our room had nice decor, was very clean with fresh smelling bedding. However, there was only a double bed and 2 large sized single beds, which were pushed together. We decided not to complain about this as we were only staying for 1 night. The boys slept across the beds and there was plenty of room. The window which was quite small, looked out onto the hotel roof. Although the beds were comfortable - it was difficult to sleep because the heat in the room was almost unbearable. The room would have benefitted fom air-condiioning or even a fan.

We decided not to use the hotels airport bus service as we had heard that it stops off at a few other hotels en-route to the airport, and we were worried that we would be late for our check-in. We booked a private taxi the night before which arrived promptly - but beware - it cost us £15 plus a tip, for the short journey to the airport!

On our return, the car park was really empty! Our car was as we left it.

We would definately use the hotel again for the same purpose.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslee1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands uk
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Dont leave your car here ours got broken into and items stolen.
Staff wouldnt help us, 3 cars from the same flight got smashed into.
Staff wouldnt help us they wouldnt let us use phone the duty manager wouldnt speak to us,receptionist wouldnt speak just handed us hotel headed paper and pointed to address.
PHONED TODAY STILL GETTIN NO help!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmiejohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

We had previously stayed at the Britannia hotel in Hale the night before, (which I have also written a review about….another story) but had to drive the next morning to the country house hotel as I was leaving my car there for a week as this is where the parking facilities were.
When arriving back from our hol it was about midnight ish. We had got the bus from the airport back to the county hotel to pick my car up. It was dark we were knackered. Headed to the car, and when I opened the door realised my interior light wasn’t working. My first thoughts were ''on no the battery, did i leave something on?'' Looked on the passenger seat and saw lots of glistening realised this was glass!! I was horrified .....i'd been broken into!!! The passenger window had been covered with a black bin bag. There was glass everywhere and all over the carpark car which noone had thought to clean up. I marched into the hotel thinking god you think your cars save when you PAY to leave it somewhere for a week!! But later on reading the small print your not! They have one person walk around the whole carpark once a day apparently and say they have cctv but it didn’t apparently cover the part where my car was parked.
The man on reception didnt speak very good english and had no idea what i was talking about nor was very helpful! It took a while before he looked in this book and saw that it had been logged and found the night before. No one had notified the police. I had to even ask him to put us through to them as he didn't suggest this. There just appeared to be no procedure in place as to what to do to help customers if this happens. I was tearful so my mother spoke to police for me and agreed they would come out the next day. I would of wanted staff to at least sit you down, perhaps offer you a drink, fully explain when found etc, help you contact police. Thank god my brother lives in Manchester so we ended up getting a taxi and stopping at his, if i had known he was so close to the hotel i would of left the car at his house! It was like the staff just expected us to jump in the car and drive home (3 hours trip) with no window and glass everywhere. They didnt even offer to help clear glass up or give us anything for us to clean it up with!

The next day on return to hotel where police checked it for prints etc i was informed that lots of cars had been broken into and that it had a reputation for this. The website doesn't advertise this! So if it is a regular occurrence you would think more staff would be trained to deal appropriately with this. Not even a note on car to say 'As you can see your car has been broken into please come talk to us at reception'' but nothing!!

Again went into reception where another member of staff was now behind the desk. Explained situation and that did they have a dust pan and brush so we could sweep the glass out etc. '''er no we havent'' my mum replied ''so your telling me a hotel of this size does not have a dust pan and brush?'!!!'' I couldn't believe it!! Another staff members ears then perked up and stated'' oh erm we may be able to hoover it out .....bring your car around the back'' AT LAST .......someone to help!!! We hoovered it out and drove home with no window. NEVER WILL I STOP AT A BRITANNIA HOTEL EVER AGAIN!!!!!!! AND I ADVISE NO ONE TO LEAVE THERE CAR AT THE BRITANNIA COUNTY HOUSE HOTEL!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bex1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#77 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing