We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The place is filthy - look at the front door mat, look at the carpet, and then go to room 242 and look at the tiles behind the toilet, and the brown stain on the OUTSIDE of the bath. Everything in the room runs off one 13 amp socket, but that's okay because there was no control for the TV any way. And the light didn't work. Still, no problem cause round the switches was so gruby you wouldn't want to have gone there in any case. The lift - OMG! OMG!!!!!! And why there was a sheet on the roof outside the window we never did work out. Nor did we understand why the fire alarm kept going off and nobody moved!
The reception staff were seriously overworked, (three weddings and only two staff) which might explain their rudeness, but after queuing for 15 minutes it might have been nice to have been greeted with "Hello"????? Never again! NEVER again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    654
    515
    387
    720
See reviews for
543
1,003
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I went with my wife and a 3 month old baby, they put us in a room above the night club. Once the music started I went to the desk to ask if they would move us to an other room because of the baby. The answer was " Sir if you don't like it you have can do one of two things, stay were you are or leave". Because of the baby we could not leave and as a result had to put up with the noise till 2 in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I have stayed in various hotels in various parts of the world and this one is very easily the worst of the lot. The only good thing about the place was the fact that the rooms and bathrooms were clean. Apart from that everything else was very poor. The food was terrible. The bar was very poorly stocked (We stayed there for two weeks). The menue had very few options. The public areas were dirty. The property was run down. Dial-up internet access cost a pound for six minutes! No broadband. And even then the two machines were always out of order. There were no irons/ironing boards in the rooms. The rooms were microscopic......... I'm going to stop now as I'm not doing my blood pressure any good remembering all this; suffice to say I recommend no one touches this place with ten barge poles.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewOne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Check in was very long with no welcome from the staff at all.
We only required a snack and the layout of the restaurant for this makes one feel like second class citizens. service very slow.
The room was of good size, but we were directly over the reception area and coaches stand outside with engines running for long periods as well as passengers being very noisy throughout the night.
There was thick dust behind the bedside cabinets. The bathroom was very dated with mould and limescale marks on the bath.
During the second night there was a wedding reception that went on into the early hours and again the noise levels were very high.
We only had breakfast one morning which was enough. The food was very greasy, we were pointed to a table and no-one came to ask if we wanted tea or coffee. Couldn't even get the attention of waiters until we got up to walk out, then they were quick off the mark to take our money.
Not a pleasant stay and not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed for 1 night before a flight from Manchester airport and parked the car there for the week. A large but cluttered car park greeted us and the anticipated realisation that 'Country House' hotel is stretching it a bit!. Check in was OK - certainly not as horrendous as others' experiences and we booked our spot on the shuttle bus for in the morning. The hotel was heaving with football fans as Inter Milan were playing Man Utd. Our room desperately needed a makeover in terms of decor and the bed was way too soft. The bathroom was OK - we even had a jacuzzi bath although I wasn't tempted to try it as it all just looked a bit shabby. AT 7pm we decided to get something to eat and went to the restaurant - somewhat hesitantly we agreed to the £13.95 carvery 3 course meal and ordered a drink to go with it. Starter was a selection from the salad bar - nothing looked appetising and when inspecting this offering we got to see the carvery in all its glory (well the brown and grey sludge that it was) It had obviously been cooked to death, the red cabbage was actually grey cabbage and viewing the plates of other diners it just looked appalling!! We decided to run for it without trying anything and just paid for our drinks. Instead we asked the guy at reception for a recommendation and ended up at an Indian restaurant about a mile down the road - poppadoms, main dish, side order and dessert all for £9.99. A lucky escape!! Back at the hotel we were awoken at about 1am by the firealarm being set off but we did get up and use the shuttle bus effectively both to and from the airport, and our car was ok too. I would not choose to stay at this hotel again or to fly from Manchester as the airport was pretty unimpressive too!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Myself and a friend arrived at this hotel to check in for our one night stay in August. The room was booked 5 weeks in advance and we had telephoned the previous day to ensure that the hotel had a 24 hour reception which would allow us to book in fairly late on the Saturday night. This was confirmed by the member of staff on reception.
When we came to check in, the member of staff informed us that the hotel had overbooked and they didn't have a room for us. This was not only true for my friend and I, but a whole crowd of other people including families whose small children were asleep on the floor of the hotel reception. The member of staff on reception was very unhelpful. He then told us that the sister hotel which was quite close by was also fully booked. The reception staff made no effort to find alternative accommodation for anyone. We were then offered a function room in the hotel, in which all of the families who had no accommodation could share and sleep together on the floor! We were told that this would be free - how generous... We were told that we either had to take this option or leave the hotel and search for another! Since we couldn't find any other hotels in Manchester with free rooms we had to get a taxi to my parents house costing 45.00. We were offered no refund for the room at the time and told that we had to write to the manager to claim it back!
I cannot review the room etc for this hotel, but certainly the customer service was extremely poor with very unhelpful staff. I am still to hear from Britannia regarding my refund.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cha02lkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This has to be the worst hotel ever ever! We booked this htoel and a one night stopover through Superbreaks as we were going to Mexico early the following morning. The description on the Superbreaks site stated the Hotel is close to Manchester airport (not true - it is at least 8 miles away 25 mins away) and Superbreaks site stated that there is a Hotel Shuttle Bus to take you from the airport and at a cost of £10 return for a family of 4, this is untrue. We had to pay £16 by taxi as the hotel bus only takes you from the Hotel to Manchester Airport and then return to the Hotel again and not the other way round if you have arrived at the Airport as you can only pay for your return ticket at the Hotel (this makes no sense to me), this cost £10 one way for us as a family of 4. We paid £48 to Superbreaks for the night stay room only. The total cost for this stopover inc travel ended up being £74. We would have been better staying at Bewleys or Premier Inn at the airport as they supply a free shuttle bus.

The Britania was horrible the rooms were drab, they had very old rickity furniture and an old portable TV with very limited channels, no Freeview. The bunk beds that my children slept on were terrible as some of the slats were broken. Our double bed was so hard I could feel each spring. The corridors were so noisy and we got limted amount of sleep, and the fire alarm woke us up twice during the night, someone was obviously smoking in their room somewhere.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in the Premier Inn hotel on our return from holiday in Mexico and this was a brilliant hotel, great value for money, comfy beds, pillows and Freeview TV.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Suzymac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#48 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#54 of 118 in Manchester
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,297 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing