We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 22, 2005

We stayed here as a family of 5 in August without any choice as our flight had a long delay and this is the hotel they put us up in. Every review here resembles our experience.....we would never stay there by choice and were upset as this should have been our first night in 5 star luxuary on holiday!!! Despite being made to pay for 2 rooms on holiday to accommodate our family (therefore doubling our costs) the hotel put us into one room with a double bed (for 5 of us!!!!). When we complained we were given another room with a double bed and a bunk....again 4 beds for 5 but we gave up at this point!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lissywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,629 - 2,635 of 2,703 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, UK
12
Reviewed October 20, 2005

Attended a two day conference there but did not actually stay. I did however have dinner in the restaurant. The waitress was dribblibg gravy from an overloaded large serving tray of roast pork. As I went to alert the diner next to me she suddenly lurched forward and poured about half a pint of gravy over my left leg - fortunately the gravy was rather below the normal serving temperature, and even more fortunately it ran over my knee and missed both my wallet and my left testicle. Strangest of all was the way she just stood there stunned, repeating over and over again "I've just poured gravy over this gentleman" and none of the staff did anything. Everyone at the table donated their paper serviettes, and I swapped chairs with a dry one from the next table. It washed out easily - so I rather doubt that it was real gravy :-)

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2005

After some problems locating the hotel in the dark as it doesnt appear well signed from the main road we found the reception staff efficient if not particularly friendly.
Our family room was very spacious, the bathroom clean and well equiped with everything needed for an overnight stay.OK it had signs of wear but to be expected with the daily turnover of clients.
Transfers to and from the airport were punctual and efficient with helpful drivers.
I wouldnt choose the hotel for a weeks holiday but it was more than adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ofus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We stayed here on a Tuesday night before flying to Egypt on the Wednesday morning. After reading the reviews I did actually try to cancel our booking with our travel agent but couldn't get booked in anywhere else. On arrival we found a parking space at the hotel no problem which meant we didn't have to move the car in the morning. The staff were friendly at reception although some of them didn't seem to be able to speak much English! We'd booked an Executive Room. It was ok - nothing flash but seemed to be pretty clean. We also had a jacuzzi bath which was a nice surprise. We did spend a bit of time in the pool (£2.50 each entrance fee). Watch out for the jacuzzi - it was like sitting in boiling water! We had a few drinks in the bar which is pretty dark but the prices are reasonable and the food in the pizzeria was quite nice. The bar had the football on in the evening and it seemed to get really busy but we didn't hear any noise from our room. The only major problem we experienced was with the bus to the airport in the morning. We had been told there was a bus at 6.00am but when it turned up it was almost full (it had picked up at the other Britannia Hotel before us). We couldn't all get on the bus and no taxis were available so we did start to panic a little. The hotel did evetually find a mini bus for the rest of us but it was a squeeze with all our luggage. We were booked in to stay when we returned to Manchester from Egypt but decided to just drive back home during the night. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless rooms weren't available in some of the other hotels nearer the airport, but it's not bad for a place to crash before your holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon123CoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Doncaster
1
Reviewed September 29, 2005

Was a bit worried after reading past reviews and almost cancelled. The staff were very helpful, booking us on to airport bus for the morning and giving us the return timetable. Rooms were clean and a good size (family rooms). Had room service, quite expensive and not that good, but couldn't really fault anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

Awful place! I booked a night in this hotel with my husband at short notice, with the hotel, but was not warned of the horror to follow. It took over half an hour to check in because of inadequate staffing levels. We went out for the evening, and arrived back to find the hotel in full swing. Our room - a double- was very cramped with the bed in the corner, so access only from one side. The DJ from the disco continued till 01.30 and was very noisy in our room - with window shut. When the party ended, the next hour was spent with very loud, drunk people returning to their rooms, slamming doors, laughing, screaming etc. Next door room occupant was vomiting - yes, clearly audible through the walls! Worse still, was the attitude of the front of house staff the next morning, when I suggested they might like to throw in breakfast by way of compensation for out lack of sleep! It was not going to happen! Neither did breakfast. A dreadful hotel & will never go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennyh975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
28
Reviewed September 3, 2005

Horrible hotel, a zoo would be cleaner and more organised.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#40 of 120 in Manchester
151 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 120 in Manchester
1,379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#58 of 120 in Manchester
256 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $50 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing